We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good fresh food served in a relaxed atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tip Top Beach Bar and Restaurant

Tip Top Beach Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Kudat
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Malaysian, Seafood, Asian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good fresh food served in a relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is beach dining at its best! You can watch the sun setting as you dine and all the food is yummy. I was here for 8 days and tried most things on the menu - all of it was good!

Also can I add that Howard (the owner) is a wealth of local information and works tirelessly to ensure the happiness of his guests.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StuTho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    37
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“cheese cake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

what more can we say, fresh cheesecake, homemade every day, friendly staff. great menu good value and great atmosphere. well done all of you

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank nottyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zolder, Belgium
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and cold beer for good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Nice peace full place on the beach with lovely people in the north of Kudat , only reacheble by taxi form Kudat for .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jodelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Super food and chilled atmos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

A wonderful place to eat good food (good portions) beer is reasonable, juices are amazzzzzinnnnggg, deserts are yummy and Howard, Loreni and the team are super helpful and informative about the area. You have to chill her for a couple of days. Check out the jungle camp it's awesome!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarijmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thank you Howard and the girls for saving our trip to the Tip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were in Borneo during the rainy season (November 2012), so probably not the busiest time. We'd come to the Tip of Borneo because, according to the internet research we'd done, it seemed to be the best beach on the island's mainland (outside the posh/super-expensive resorts, of course). We'd planned to have six days of quality beach time there (during a three-week stay in Borneo.

We were pretty disappointed with the accommodation we'd booked further up the beach (Tommy's Place), which wasn't awful, but where the staff simply didn't seem interested in making us feel that welcome. Also, the beach up that side wasn't very nice and was littered with a fair amount of rubbish (which we later learned washes up from people further up the coast, who apparently just lob it in the sea, because they don't have rubbish collections). This may have been the time of year, I don't know. Reviews suggest they do keep it clean there during high-season.

Given we'd expected this little slice of paradise, we were quite upset and spent a lot of the first morning contemplating just getting a flight to Lankawi or somewhere. We decided to go and get some lunch and found our way down to Tip Top. We were immediately welcomed by the wonderful Howard, who sat us down, grabbed us both a beer and told us what was on the menu. After enjoying a really nice meal, we went to have a look at the beach just in front of the restaurant/bar and found that stretch was actually clean.

Anyway, to cut to the chase, the welcoming nature of Howard and the girls who work there, his determination to keep the beach near his place nice and clean, the great food (the deserts are a particular treat, especially those cheesecakes!) and the general ambience and atmosphere, convinced us to stay at the Tip of Borneo for the rest of the week as planned. I think we had lunch and dinner there every day, before spending the evening relaxing, drinking and chatting with Howard (who I should say originally comes from the same neck of the woods as me in England) and the other great people we met there.

As anyone who has been to both places will know, Borneo in general has a long way to go to match the sort of young tourist/backpacker-friendly nature of somewhere like Thailand. However, Howard is doing a really good job of capturing that at his bar/restaurant, and the Tampat Do Aman jungle resort lodgings he runs just short distance from the beach (which we also visited). In doing so, though, it is clearly really important to him to retain the essence of Borneo, particularly the local area (where his lovely wife, who also works there is from), which just makes his place even more special.

So, without wanting to be too gushing, thank you Howard and all the staff for rescuing our holiday at the Tip of Borneo. We will be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich_and_Birte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tip Top Beach Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tip Top Beach Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing