We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view over the bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kudat Golf and Marina Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kudat
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Wonderful view over the bay”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, between 6 and 8 June 2012. I took this hotel for its very good position, with a wonderful sea view. I found a spacy nice lobby, a pool and restaurants. My room (335) had a very nice sea-view. There are no balconies, but a large window is opening. The necessary amenities are provided, TV, air conditioning (well the noise form under the window outside can be heard too loud, that's creating some discomfort). Price was reasonable. Breakfast was good, tasty. Eating here for dinner is a bit expensive, but it is ok if you don't want to go out for this. Front desk staff are friendly, check-in was going quick. Drinking water is provided in room, but if you need extra, don't buy from the hotel, as it is very expansive , comparing with local shops. I enjoyed my stay at this Resort and mostly I enjoyed the wonderful sunrises which a sea view room offers. An excellent starting point to discover North Borneo.

Room Tip: take a sea view room to enjoy wonderful sunrises
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose-Gul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    19
    31
    11
    7
See reviews for
22
22
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
328 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because we live on a boat and it was hauled out in the nearby boatyard for painting. We were able to negotiate a good price because of the length of time we were staying there. The staff were friendly and helpful and let us store food in their freezer. The rooms were clean and comfortable if a little spartan. Breakfast was adequate but boring after a while as there was little choice. The evening meals were OK but basic. Pool was pleasant but I suspect cleanliness standards were not all they should be. In the circumstances I would certainly stay there again but I would not recommend Kudat as a holiday destination.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OceanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We've stayed here on several occasions and our rating should be read in the context of it being in Kudat - it is certainly the best accommodation option that we're aware of in the town.

It has certainly improved over the last 12 months and that would appear to be driven by the new manager who seems to be very customer focussed. There was a noticeable shift in the attitude of staff and there have been upgrades to some of the furnishings around the place. There has even been an attempt (albeit a bit garbled and amateurish) at providing tourist information via an in-house 2-page information sheet which we discovered in our room - but a map to go with it would be a help!

It could be a whole lot better - the constant variations in water pressure have been a problem for years; TV selections remain limited; the "fitness centre" is a bit of a joke; the room safe was inoperable again; and WiFi remains unavailable in the rooms. But our room itself (Golf View Suite) was clean and very comfortable, and the breakfast buffet was more than adequate. The pool area is excellent, and there is very good car parking access available.

There are some great eating options available at the Waterfront area which is fairly close to the hotel, and the drive to the Tip of Borneo only takes about 20-30 minutes and is certainly well worth it.

For several years we have been going to Kudat primarily for the pretty golf course, which is in very good condition, is very challenging and has some wonderful scenery. Sadly, the delights of the golf course are not matched by the people of the golf club, and so we've decided to take Kudat off the itinerary for at least a couple of years. But if we needed to stay in Kudat again, we wouldn't hesitate to return to the Golf and Marina Resort and we hope the new manager can continue to make improvements to the place. And, we hope that she helps people around Kudat (and the Golf Club) appreciate the benefits of tourism and the need to identify opportunities for developing new attractions (such as Banggi Island).

So, in summary. Kudat is a long way to drive just to see the Tip of Borneo. And after that, there's not much else to do, and Kudat itself doesn't seem motivated to develop more attractions. If you're into golf, the course is great - but the club and members aren't overly welcoming. But if you're staying in Kudat, the Golf and Marina resort is comfortable and clean, and though it could be better, it remains the best place to stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darwin_Dweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The only big hotel around. Not bad but could be better. Given the occupancy rate there, its hard to maintain such hotel so dont expect to much. Staying there is pleasent.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabahboy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

we stayed here for one night - when we drove from kk to the tip of Borneo. Its a decent enough hotel. I would agree that the furnishings are run down and in need of an upgrade. On the plus side the swimming pool is nice and the staff were really friendly. We had a decent sleep and a nice sea view. A good golf course one of the cheapest in Borneo if your into golf (we are not) Negative - Our bathroom had not been cleaned we found hair in the shower and in the sink. The fitness centre if you can call it that is not very good - just a weights bench and 1 all purpose fixed weight machine. There is not much to do in Kudat and we wished we had stayed on the beach at the tip of Borneo - it has a lovely beach and is quiet and relaxed you can kayak, body board or swim in the sea. Bottom line is I would only stay in Kudat if you have to - and if you have to i would stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Great location. Very near to town. The breakfast buffet is good but not with great varieties. However the hotel is pretty much run down. Door lock to my kids room came loose and i had to call the maintenance guy to fix it. If you switch to hot shower than its not a shower anymore but just running water. The water pressure is low. The only facility that my family love about this resort is the swimming pool. However, no guard on duty made outsiders came in from the side and the resort swimming pool became a public swimming pool.
Nevertheless, the open sea view made this place is worth staying.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aj_tuah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We visited Kudat golf resort in September 2011. The hotel had the appearance of being nice but was somewhat run down, but was sufficient given the price we paid. The one big downfall was to come in the evening when we visited the resturaunt. We walked in, were shown to a table, given menus and had made our choices when the staff then informed us that because of a function the resturaunt was closed for that evening and there was no food availaable at the hotel. Unfortunatley we had already had a drink and were therefore unable to drive into the town.... Peanuts and bananas for dinner then.....

We were given a discount after complaining but surely it would not have been too difficult for the staff to have told us about the function when we checked in that afternoon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZebraDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kudat hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kudat hotels
5.4 mi away
North Borneo Biostation
12.3 mi away
Tommy's Place, Tip of Borneo
3.9 mi away
9 Huts On A Hill
9 Huts On A Hill
#3 of 7 in Kudat
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Serendipity Villa
Serendipity Villa
#4 of 7 in Kudat
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Morning Glory
Hotel Morning Glory
#8 of 11 in Kudat
5 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Valai Hotel
The Valai Hotel
#4 of 11 in Kudat
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kudat Golf and Marina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kudat Golf and Marina Resort

Property: Kudat Golf and Marina Resort
Address: Off Jalan Urus, Kudat 89057, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Kudat
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kudat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kudat Golf and Marina Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kudat Golf and Marina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kudat Golf And Marina Resort Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing