We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful long week-end in Sri Lanca”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yattapatha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Singharaja Garden ECO-Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful long week-end in Sri Lanca”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We have stayed in Singharaja Garden lodge in December after 2 weeks retreat in Hambantota. The place is very peaceful, in the middle of beautiful valley that has wonderful views in the morning. The couple that is running the hotel is very nice and helpful; they have walked us through the garden and explained everything about plants they have grown there; you can take a walk in the rainforest or go to the historic town at the seaside; or Edna can make a relaxing massage or help with yoga lesson. The team working in the kitchen cooks authentic sri lanca food - and very yummie!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NataliaChe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
60
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Unfortunately we had booked only two nights in January 2014 at the end of a three week trip through Sri Lanka. Too bad that we were not able to stay longer! We fully share all other reviewer’s assessment of how wonderful an experience it is to stay at this heavenly place with the warm-hearted hosts Alfons and Edna.
The view from the restaurant terrace is fantastic; just sit there in the morning watching the fogs dissipate to reveal the full splendor of yet another beautiful day in the tropics.
The charmingly furnished bungalow with ample outside space is optimally embedded in the natural surrounding; the dip in the fresh water pool a uniquely thrilling experience, especially after a day-long hike through the rainforest.
Meals are just sublime: fresh organic, vegetarian food with the full spectrum of Sri Lankan flavors, colors and textures.
Alfons is a walking dictionary regarding Sri Lanka, in particular its fauna and flora. There is hardly a question on these matters that he cannot answer.
Too bad there was no time for yoga and massage...We’ll be back, for a longer stay!

Room Tip: Only two bungalows and two rooms. Be quick to book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tunewitsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed for five days and had a wonderful experience: surrounded by the colours, smells and sounds of the jungle, every detail in Singharaja Garden Eco Lodge is made with care, love and passion for the place. The nature pool is large, clean, refreshing and amazing, the bungalows and its gardens are beautiful, spacious, and secluded, and the common area is serene and welcoming with an unbeatable view. The food is fresh, varied, healthy and very tasty and everyone is exceptional friendly. Edna and Ali know so much about the country, its people and the jungle and have a great way of giving each guest exactly what they need. Singharaja Garden is the place I escape to in my mind when the stress, grey and cold of urban everyday life takes its toll.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend spent 7 enjoyable nights here in September 2013. The hosts Ally & Edna were extremely welcoming and insightful and really went out of their way to make our stay a pleasurable / memorable one. Our bungalow was perfect and just what we had hoped for with its own private natural pool and peaceful / scenic surroundings. We did yoga / a kayaking trip / visited a beatuful waterfall and a jungle trek during our stay all of which we thoroughly enjoyed. The food was really fresh and tasty and we took back with us a lot of their home grown herbs and spices. This was our first time to Sri Lanka and the first half of our trip is something we will always remember fondly thanks to our stay at the Singhara Garden.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMB1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

As per other peoples comments, this and another Eco Lodge were the highlights of our stay in Sri Lanka, especially when compared to any and all Hotels irrespective of 3* to 5*

The owners were really inspirational, and enthusiatic, and whilst all other guests were German, they went out of their way to include us in activities, and other guests were delightful too.

It is a true hideaway, where you can get a better feeling of local life than most other locations, and Ally and Edna will make sure you have fun and enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: The bungalows have their own plunge pools, and if you are staying in main lodge there's a super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skiffsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Our stay at this property was our most memorable and enjoyable stay in Sri Lanka. This property is very close from Singharaja National forest and it is managed by two lively and lovely German Couple, Alfons and Etna. From arranging our transportation to taking care of our dietary needs they did all.

The best part about our stay was to sit in their garden and enjoy "Nature". We could hear birds chirping and monkeys chattering, the experience was amazing.

They use fresh organic food which is delicious and I would highly recommend this place to all the nature lovers who are planning a trip to Sri Lanka!

Thanks Alfons and Etna for being such wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbhinavGogia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We, a family with 2 children (11 y.o. and 9 y.o.) stayed in Singharaja Garden for 3 nights in July 2012. In order to get acclimatised to the temperature, the time difference, the food, etc. we had looked for a small scale, peaceful place to start our Sri Lanka trip from. It turned out to be the perfect choice!
Run by a very friendly and helpful German couple, Singharaja Garden offered the tranquility we were looking for. Singharaja Garden has two bungalows, and a few rooms in the central house. So... small scale it is!
From the main building (where also the owners live), it is a two minute stroll down the hill, through the gardens, to the two secluded and beautifully designed bungalows. The terraces overlook some rice-fields. The biggest bonus however is the private fresh water pool. Each bungalow has its own!!! Supplied by a creek it offers a lovely refreshing dive. Our children spent hours splashing and playing... until the wooden gong sounded from the main house, indicating that breakfast, lunch or dinner were served. Great food too, prepared by a local cook. He took into account that our children didn't like the sharp food.
As mentioned above, the owners are friendly and helpful. They seem to have a sense for the right approach, when to keep distance, and when to be present.
Once again, thank you for the lovely stay!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yattapatha
11.2 mi away
Boulder Garden Hotel
Boulder Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kalawana
147 reviews
17.8 mi away
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
22.0 mi away
The Rainforest Ecolodge
The Rainforest Ecolodge
#1 of 10 in Deniyaya
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Sinharaja Seyana Eco Lodge
14.7 mi away
Sinharaja Rain Forest View Villas
9.8 mi away
Sinharaja Adventure Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singharaja Garden ECO-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singharaja Garden ECO-Lodge

Property: Singharaja Garden ECO-Lodge
Address: 07th. Mile Post / Yattapatta | Pelawatta, Yattapatha, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Yattapatha
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Yattapatha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Singharaja Garden ECO-Lodge Sri Lanka/Yattapatha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing