We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Clos du Colombier
Ranked #1 of 3 Pommard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paso Robles
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed here for a week in June as part of our visit to Burgundy. The hotel is lovely, but if you stay in Pommard without a car, it is a long walk to Beaune. We had a car, so we were able to visit Beaune quite easily. Our room overlooked the pool and faces west, so afternoon sun can be very warm. Also if there are people talking on the terrace late into the evening, the noise carries quite easily up to the rooms facing the pool. Perhaps a room facing the other direction would be quieter. Breakfasts were good, but expensive. The only down side is that we had been visiting other wine areas of France and had bought a few bottles along the way. We wanted to open one of the bottles to drink on the terrace, but we were not allowed to. We could drink only the bottles that the hotel had for sale. We could drink our own bottles in our room. We did find a lovely picnic table a short walk from the hotel where we could drink our wine and have a very lovely view of the surrounding vineyards. The hotel is located close to bike and running paths - lovely and no traffic to speak of.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lila O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    41
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
25
88
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were greeted by a charming young lady who spoke perfect English. The proprietors and their family, including their sweet dog make you feel welcome and comfortable. Our room was a delight and our windows looked out on to the vines. Parking is on the premises and accessed through an electric gate. Breakfast is taken in a beautifully decorated room with gorgeously set tables. It is obvious the owners love eye-pleasing things. There is a gift shop with many "I want that" items ranging from wine accessories to baby clothes.

There is a wine bar and an excellent restaurant within walking distance. We left knowing that we would return and it will be even more lovely when the vines have their leaves. You may wish you lived in the town of Pommard yourself after your visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casden8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very nice place and very calm. The localisation in the small village of Pommard close by the vineyards is really very pleasant. The room's decoration is very elegant, the beds are very very confortable.

THe swimming pool is bit cold but very relaxing

We really had a great time there. We also enjoy our dinner at the Chateau de Pommard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Overall we enjoyed our stay at this property. The location is great and the setting is beautiful – right in the vineyards. The room was spacious, nicely decorated and comfortable. We enjoyed being able to relax in the swimming pool after a day of sightseeing and the view from the pool is wonderful.

However, despite the high price of rooms, it seems that the owners are out to make as much money as possible from each guest. Why do we say this? No mini-bar is provided in the room (for this price it really should be) but they do offer drinks to guests on request. However, a can of Coke costs 5 Euros – this is the most expensive Coke I have come across in my life! Bicycle hire at another hotel we stayed at was free of charge but here they charge 25 Euros per bike per day (no guest discounts compared to hiring elsewhere). The icing on the cake was a charge of 20 Euros for our request for “2 single beds if possible” instead of a double (note it was still just 2 guests). At no point before arrival or during check in where we informed that our request would incur an additional charge. They only informed us of this while checking out. I have visited 50 countries and have never come across this practice before. After arguing and being told the charge was because of the additional sheets and work required to make the beds (!) the surly manager backed off but was quite rude about it and we left with a bad taste in our mouth.

In short, I would still recommend this hotel due to the lovely location and pool in summer but it would be nice if the owners were able to satisfy guests without having to charge so much extra for everything like a low cost airline.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Le Clos du Colombier is a fantastic hide-away in the middle of the vineyards of Burgundy. We have stayed for the second time this year and were again amazed by the warm service and the surroundings. Rooms are very well planned and decorated. Good comfortable beds and bathrooms. The shop has nice local things you can buy and the family even helps you to get very special wines... Have dinner at Hotel Du Centre in Meursault. We will definitely go back for the 3rd time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Excellent place, tucked away in the vineyards! Great family ran casual, yet elegant and comfortable place. It is a little more expensive than others, but it is worth it. If you visit, try to have lunch or dinner at the Chateau de Pommard, excellent!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rvancamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Le Clos du Colombier served as a totally delightful home for our three day visit to Burgundy. The mansion has been beautifully restored. The antique tiles covering the hallway floor spoke to me of “Burgundy,” as did the winding staircase with its wrought iron and walnut railing. There is a stylish sitting area off the entry, and an outside sitting area in a small garden.

Our room overlooked the vineyard, the “colombier” and the swimming pool. We were very pleased with the beautiful, quiet décor in this large bedroom with its comfortable bed. Very nice bathroom, towels, and the hotel’s own brand of soap.

Breakfast was delicious and copious.

Veronique was a cordial and helpful hostess who speaks excellent English. She and her husband helped greatly with dinner recommendations and reservations.

The shop off the check-in area offers carefully selected items, from lovely baby things to spa items to wines. It was fun to browse there.

We loved our stay here and hope to return to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne97210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pommard
5.0 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
418 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
818 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel le Clos
Hotel le Clos
#1 of 4 in Montagny-les-Beaune
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
322 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chateau de Citeaux La Cueillette
1.3 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#11 of 62 in Beaune
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos du Colombier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos du Colombier

Property: Le Clos du Colombier
Address: 1 Route d Ivry, 21630 Pommard, Beaune, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune > Pommard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pommard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a world-famous village, this family residence of 1835 recognised by generations for its wines widens its activity with its guestrooms. The completely renovated property, while keeping the natural charm and authenticity of the past, will welcome you in the heart of vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Clos du Colombier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing