We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property but owners out to make money off you every step of the way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Clos du Colombier
Ranked #1 of 3 Pommard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Overall we enjoyed our stay at this property. The location is great and the setting is beautiful – right in the vineyards. The room was spacious, nicely decorated and comfortable. We enjoyed being able to relax in the swimming pool after a day of sightseeing and the view from the pool is wonderful.

However, despite the high price of rooms, it seems that the owners are out to make as much money as possible from each guest. Why do we say this? No mini-bar is provided in the room (for this price it really should be) but they do offer drinks to guests on request. However, a can of Coke costs 5 Euros – this is the most expensive Coke I have come across in my life! Bicycle hire at another hotel we stayed at was free of charge but here they charge 25 Euros per bike per day (no guest discounts compared to hiring elsewhere). The icing on the cake was a charge of 20 Euros for our request for “2 single beds if possible” instead of a double (note it was still just 2 guests). At no point before arrival or during check in where we informed that our request would incur an additional charge. They only informed us of this while checking out. I have visited 50 countries and have never come across this practice before. After arguing and being told the charge was because of the additional sheets and work required to make the beds (!) the surly manager backed off but was quite rude about it and we left with a bad taste in our mouth.

In short, I would still recommend this hotel due to the lovely location and pool in summer but it would be nice if the owners were able to satisfy guests without having to charge so much extra for everything like a low cost airline.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 167 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

Le Clos du Colombier is a fantastic hide-away in the middle of the vineyards of Burgundy. We have stayed for the second time this year and were again amazed by the warm service and the surroundings. Rooms are very well planned and decorated. Good comfortable beds and bathrooms. The shop has nice local things you can buy and the family even helps you to get very special wines... Have dinner at Hotel Du Centre in Meursault. We will definitely go back for the 3rd time!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Excellent place, tucked away in the vineyards! Great family ran casual, yet elegant and comfortable place. It is a little more expensive than others, but it is worth it. If you visit, try to have lunch or dinner at the Chateau de Pommard, excellent!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rvancamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Le Clos du Colombier served as a totally delightful home for our three day visit to Burgundy. The mansion has been beautifully restored. The antique tiles covering the hallway floor spoke to me of “Burgundy,” as did the winding staircase with its wrought iron and walnut railing. There is a stylish sitting area off the entry, and an outside sitting area in a small garden.

Our room overlooked the vineyard, the “colombier” and the swimming pool. We were very pleased with the beautiful, quiet décor in this large bedroom with its comfortable bed. Very nice bathroom, towels, and the hotel’s own brand of soap.

Breakfast was delicious and copious.

Veronique was a cordial and helpful hostess who speaks excellent English. She and her husband helped greatly with dinner recommendations and reservations.

The shop off the check-in area offers carefully selected items, from lovely baby things to spa items to wines. It was fun to browse there.

We loved our stay here and hope to return to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne97210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just spent a night there and this hotel/spa is superb. The rooms are well decorated, very comfortable and quite large by the French standard. The service and reception is friendly and the decoration is really beautiful. Furthermore, there is a pool and an on-site spa that is quite nice too. Overall, a perfect getaway for a weekend in the heart of the Burgundy vineyard. Also, there is a locked garage for the cars and the place is perfect for those who are cycling.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBreton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our host, Veronique, was very charming and helpful, particularly after our travel agent let us down. Our room was very comfortable, and the view of the vineyards was spectacular. Delighted to have a healthy breakfast with fruit, yogurt and a yummy range of breads, all beautifully presented.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JenandDavidfromAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The location is very beautiful, just in the middle of wine yards. I imagine it even better in spring and summer.
Overall we've been satisfied but the price paid for the room is definitely too high for what it is and it could at least include the breakfast.
The owners are extremely helpful and welcoming to their guests. What they made out of the villa is absolutely great, a well balanced combination of modern and traditional elements.
As the rooms are in a very old palace the level of noise insulation is obviously not at the top.
We would recommend it for a couple looking for a charming place where to spend a relaxing weekend in bourgogne. If you're there you must go to have w dinner in the nearby restaurant called Apres du clocher!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Federico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pommard
4.9 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
342 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
863 reviews
5.0 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel le Clos
Hotel le Clos
#1 of 4 in Montagny-les-Beaune
329 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chateau de Citeaux La Cueillette
2.0 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#23 of 62 in Beaune
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos du Colombier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos du Colombier

Address: 1 Route d Ivry, 21630 Pommard, Beaune, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune > Pommard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pommard
Price Range: $167 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a world-famous village, this family residence of 1835 recognised by generations for its wines widens its activity with its guestrooms. The completely renovated property, while keeping the natural charm and authenticity of the past, will welcome you in the heart of vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Clos du Colombier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing