We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel, beautiful views.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Stella Orselina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Hotel Stella is a wonderful little hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Rene, one of the owners, was exceptionally helpful and spoke English very well.
We had two rooms on the 4th floor. The rooms are modern, clean, well appointed, air conditioned and have absolutely fantastic views. The rooms are not large but adequate for two people. The buffet style breakfast has several choices and is well done. The pool is lovely, again with beautiful views of Locarno and Lake Maggiore. There is a guest washer and dryer by the pool, which is a great convenience.
The hotel is only a 5-10 minute walk from the Funicular which goes down to Locarno. The gondola up to Cardada is the same distance away. One can enjoy hiking up there. We don't recommend hiking down from Cardada to Orselina. Very steep, and not well marked.
We thoroughly enjoyed our 6 nights at Hotel Stella and would absolutely return.

Room Tip: Top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marmotg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 57 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

Hotel Stella lies about 150 meter above Locarno in Orselina. It is a 1,5 km walk to Locarno, but you can use the funicolare too. The hotel sells retourtickets for €3. The hotel is a family type hotel. The crew is very friendly and provides good service.
We had a design room at de top floor. At €250/night (breakfast included) not cheap, but very worth the money. Good beds, good bathroom. Very nice balcony with a view over Locarno, Minusio, Ascona and a large part of Lago Maggiore. Drawback is the strange instruction not to shower between 10 am and 7 pm. The hot-watercapacity is very limited: the temperature of the shower changes between hot and cold depending on people using hot water elsewhere.
The restaurant in the hotel offers good quality at a good price.
After 4 nights it was a pity to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blauwbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel is located in Orselina, far above Locarno city center. Still it was just 5 minutes walk from the cable car that goes down to the city or up to the mountain. This location also allowed wonderful views of the lake (definitely opt for lake-view garden rooms). The garden room (number 1) was large and comfortable, with a modern feel and brand new bathrooms. The balcony had lovely views of Lago Maggiore below. Breakfast was good and quite generous. Staff was friendly and helpful. All in all a very good experience, and definitely great value for money.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are new/renovated, with excellent views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talli_b98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Gorgeous boutique hotel above Locarno in the small town of Orselina. A 10 minute walk to the Feniculare, and cable car. Restaurant on location which serves a typical Swiss breakfast, and service is attentive. Stunning view of Lake Maggiore, and a bit cooler than being situated in downtown Locarno. We enjoyed the calm and tranquility of the location.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simplyvelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We spent two nights in this hotel and have booked the "casa giardino" accomodation, which is very similar to a studio flat, well-furnished, with a fully-equiped kitchen and a nice bathroom. The only inconvenient was with the shower, there was no possibility to close it and the ground of the bathroom was at the same level. So that every time we had a shower, the whole bathroom was flooded (to prevent it, we later tried to create a dam with our towels). Our room had a balcony with a garden, two deck chairs and a stunning view over the lake (lago maggiore). It was a very relaxing place. On top of that, the hotel has its own restaurant and the food is not only excellent but prices were also reasonable. The location is beautiful but access is difficult. When you decide to arrive with public transportation, be aware that the frequency of buses can be poor.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaDupertuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Maja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Tu Anh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orselina
0.2 mi away
Villa Orselina
Villa Orselina
#1 of 2 in Orselina
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Barca Blu
La Barca Blu
#2 of 2 in Orselina
54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#1 of 27 in Locarno
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms
1.0 mi away
Boutique-Hotel Remorino
2.2 mi away
Art Hotel Riposo
Art Hotel Riposo
#2 of 32 in Ascona
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stella Orselina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella Orselina

Address: via al Parco 14, Orselina 6644, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Orselina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Orselina
Price Range: $150 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stella Orselina 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the edge of Locarno, Hotel Stella provides panoramic views of Lake Maggiore and comes with a restaurant serving Swiss and international cuisine. You can sunbathe on the hotel's terrace or refresh yourself in the on-site swimming pool. All of the modern rooms come with satellite TV, air conditioner, Free Wi-Fi, a seating area and a bathroom with a hairdryer, free toiletries, and a shower or a bathtub. Some rooms come with a terrace or a balcony and lake views. The family-run Stella hotel has a playground and a lounge with a TV. During summer, you can dine on the terrace. Bicycles can be borrowed on site and the hotel uses solar panels to heat water. Private parking is available in front of the hotel and against a surcharge. The city centre is an 8-minute drive away and Ascona can be reached within 12 minutes by car. Orselina is a great choice for travelers interested in Hiking, Relaxation and Food ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Stella Orselina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing