We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, perfect hospitality”
Review of Butterworth Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pozieres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Butterworth Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We are sitting in Butterworth as we write this review.the location is superb for anyone wanting to visit the Somme area. The farm is 3km from Thiepval memoriL, so not far at all. Plus La Boiselle and Delville Wood are just down the road.

In terms of accommodation the b&b is relatively new, a barn conversion and the rooms Are great quality. there is a kitchen area where you can make your own tea and coffee and a living room where you can chill out, watch tv and read or simply chat with your fellow travellers.

Bernard and Mary are great hosts too and make you feel at home.

I cannot recommend the place enough. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmzyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 135 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2011

Bernard and Marie are excellent hosts of a beautiful Gite in Pozieres and their welcome with a 'cuppa and cake' when we arrived made us feel special. The memorabilia displayed lends to its Aussie atmosphere. Marie is an excellent cook and is earnestly learning English to allow better communication with the many Australian and English speaking guests. The breakfast is a special treat - even Vegemite on the table - along with various cheeses and fruit that would satisfy any appetite.

Room Tip: Well appointed rooms with plenty of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavelynBuderim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Bernard & Marie are truly great hosts, your needs are catered for in every way. The accommodation is situated ideally for any visit to the Somme battlefields or just a leisure visit. Marie makes excellent cakes and her home made jam for breakfast is very tasty!!

We stayed for 3 great days and were treated like one of the family. We would recommend Butterworth Farm to all our friends and relatives.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of the same quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveOrmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Had a good stay here while visiting the WW1 battlefields. Clean and fresh, good bed, very fine breakfast with a variety of cheeses and homemade jams, mmm!
Very good location for visiting a lot of the WW1 sites.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariatravels42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

Bernard and Marie were our hosts for 3 nights and were marvellous. Bernard speaks mainly French and Marie is an enthusiastic student of the English language. They both were exceptionally helpful and friendly and above all hospitable. We were there mainly for the Australian connection to Pozieres in WW1 and it was amazing to stay in a house that was literally in the front line for many months in 1916.
The B&B is very clean, new, nice rooms, wifi internet and lovely traditional French breakfasts of cheese and bread.
We will definitely come back again and want to stay longer next time. Bernard and Marie you are always welcome to stay with us Karen and Len when you come to Australia.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeonKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

Butterworth Farm is a tastefully decorated, well-situated Bed and Breakfast with all the amenites of a first class establishment. Marie and Bernard are personable and gracious hosts who did everything to help us, from providing maps and detailed instructions to points of interest in their area to making dinner reservations at a wonderful restaurant we would never have found on our own. Our bedroom was immaculately clean as were the common areas. Breakfast was exactly what we asked for.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty668988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

A wonderful Gite in Pozieres, France. The rooms were all immaculate and spotlessly clean. The Gite can accommodate 14 guests, has a fully equipped kitchen so if you are on a tight budget then go to the supermarket/local market and buy gorgeous food and have a night in!
Its a perfect location for anyone touring the battle fields of the Somme (as we were).
We were greeted by Madam Marie who offered us tea and cake. She told us a little about the area. Butterworth Farm is named after George Butterworth, a composer, who was killed in WW1 not far from the gite.
Breakfast was fabulous - hams, cheeses, criossants, bread, yoghurt, tea, coffee, juice.
Monsier Bernard was on hand for breakfast and had lots of information about the surrounding areas.
We went to Arras town and bought food in the market as we decided to have a night in as the kitchen is amazingly well equipped - better than at home! That evening madam Marie came over with a Tarte aux Sucre (sugar tart) and it was the best thing I'd ever tasted!! Was a nice touch for her to do that - made us feel very special.
The Gite is separate from the family home so we didn't feel as though we were invading their personal space (as one does with normal B&B's). Marie and Bernard made us feel so welcome - they went that bit further than any other B&B we have stayed at.
We plan to go back next year!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charleyandtonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pozieres
3.1 mi away
Ibis Albert
Ibis Albert
#1 of 4 in Albert
514 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel de la Basilique
4.3 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#4 of 4 in Albert
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Royal Picardie
Hotel Royal Picardie
#2 of 4 in Albert
213 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#1 of 1 in Bapaume
117 reviews
5.4 mi away
Le Clos du Clocher
Le Clos du Clocher
#28 of 1,086 in Hauts-de-France
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterworth Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterworth Farm

Address: D73 | Pozieres, 80300 Pozieres, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Pozieres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Pozieres
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing