We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful rooms, cosey fires” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hop Pole

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ollerton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hop Pole
Ranked #1 of 2 Ollerton B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful rooms, cosey fires”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

A group of us stayed here after an afternoon in the spa at Center Parcs. The service was great, the rooms beautifully decorated. Throughout the hotel, there were real fires on the go.
Breakfast was good. Lunch was great. Dinner was a bit disappointing.
The rooms didn't have alarm clocks, radio or TV. I thought this was great, but not all of my party did. I couldn't find a hair dryer and there was no information in the room about checkout times etc.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Clare N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    42
    21
    10
    14
See reviews for
37
41
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Had a snack lunch which was quickly prepared and of excellent quality in an old coaching inn of real character. Would recommend for a quick stopover if you're in the vicinity. The inn was formerly on the A1 trunk road which has now bypassed Ollerton, the location of the inn.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dayveedh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Nice quiet village setting, plenty of different room sizes and choices at resonable prices. All rooms are decorated to very high standards and all have en suites which is a bonus. All the staff were very polite and friendly. The bar area was very welcoming and the locals are all very friendly also who use it. All food is box standard pub food, although good portion sizes and freshly cooked and the breakfast was more than expected with plenty of choices and a warm friendly enviroment to eat it in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gismo25nr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Nice quiet location with various sized rooms. They are all decorated to a high standard and have excellent beds. Pleasant staff made the stay enjoyable. Nice cheap bar if you need it and the food was always fresh and hot (although it is standard pub type food) but still enjoyable. Excellant choice at breakfast. Just make sure you bring any toiletries as only the basic handwash is provided. Apart from that, a nice comfortable stay for business use. Thankyou!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul290473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUPAR
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I booked three rooms for a business trip to the area. All rooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean and the beds very comfortable. Food was great and staff very helpful. They even produced breakfast a bit sharp so we could make an early start in the morning. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank RONALD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We did not stay here, just popped in for lunch! There were several good reviews in the visitors book from people who did stay. The outside of the Hotel has just had a face lift & looks very smart. I enjoyed wandering around downstairs, very olde worlde. Would look magical at Christmas with traditional decorations & well placed fairy lights. Menu was good with pub favorites at reasonable prices. Service was very friendly.We were the only people having lunch on a very quiet Thursday. Food arrived piping hot & tasty. Nothing out of the ordinary but we only had a simple meal at around £6 each we could not complain. I will visit again, perhaps for an evening meal at Christmas. There is an outside courtyard, beer garden & childrens play area for the Summer. Very comfortable seating area in the lounge. I did notice the lack of soap in the disabled toilet however!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank staceyjeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed on business,rooms comfortable and clean,staff were helpful and polite..Breakfast was well put together and looked like a one person operation, so hats off to the young lad who seemed to cope very well.Quirky inside as rooms refurnished as looked originally as a hunting lodge with lots of paraphernalia.
The bar is open evenings and serves local cheap beer,which is nice.

Room Tip: Rooms do have wifi,but no tv's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ollerton
1.8 mi away
The Forest Lodge Hotel
The Forest Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edwinstowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
4.5 mi away
Clumber Park Hotel and Spa
Clumber Park Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Clumber Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
8.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
9.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel
17.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hop Pole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hop Pole

Property: The Hop Pole
Address: Main Street, Ollerton NG22 9AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Ollerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ollerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hop-Pole is a newly refurbished Hotel in Ollerton.It has two public bars, restaurant, children's outdoor play area and patio and beer garden area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hop Pole Hotel Ollerton
The Hop Pole Ollerton, Nottinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing