We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family room for alton towers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Nottingham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilwell
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“family room for alton towers”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Very good hotel providing a family room as a base to go and hit Alton Towers the next day, the cost of the tickets is included in the price of the room and provides terrific value for money and is only a 45 minute drive to Alton towers.

Food was very very good, both in terms of value but also in terms of quality, we were all pleasantly surprised by how good the food was.

The staff were also very attentive and helpful and full of jealousy that we were going Alton Towers

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    618
    385
    168
    106
See reviews for
356
701
66
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I had to visit Nottingham on business for 2 nights only. Unfortunately not knowing the city it took me quite q while to find this hotel as it is sort of hidden behind a small shopping centre. On the first night I had a bar meal of fish and chips which was really terrible. The breakfast buffet is ALL self service except for hot beverage, it was acceptable but I like hot food and with this type of buffet by the time one has plated your items and made your own toast on one of these roller toasters the plated food is quite cold. I cannot comment on the hotel restaurant for dinner because on the second night I ate elsewhere, although I thought the restaurant is quite dingy. It is definitely a business hotel and obviously very popular. It is fairly reasonably priced, that is probably why it is busy. I must say on top of all that, the staff were very pleasant and helpful

Room Tip: My room was average but a long walk to the reception No. 410
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiccardoEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My partner and I decided to book to go to the Village hotel for a Take That Tribute night, our King Size room cost £60 and then we were to pay £30 each for the tribute ticket, however the tribute act much to our disappointment was cancelled.

We decided to still go and have a night away from the madness of life - and how glad are we that we did! We were upgraded to the Upper Deck room because we had of course only booked for the event, the room was magnificent, we were issued the movies package, ipod docking station which made me very happy because I could listen to music as I got ready and complementary teas and coffees. The only down side was the heat in the room but this was quickly sorted by staff who issued us with a fan.

We had an amazing meal in the Verve grill in which we were waited on by lovely staff members who were really efficient and polite ensuring that we were happy and of course that we both had a drink in our hands.

We then decided to go for a drink in the bar area which was lovely and relaxed! Not cheap to drink in but we felt a million miles away from home so didn't mind spending the money.

A comfy nights sleep in the bed and a great shower to wake me up in the morning which was extremely powerful managed a lovely bath before going out for the meal the night before, the water was scorching and also helped to relax)

All in all, a really great experience and we are looking already into when we can next book and go again!

Fantastic Village, you should be extremely proud of your amazing staff!

Will be visiting again really soon!

Room Tip: Would recommend the extra payment for the Upper Deck room especially if staying for a few nights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ragdoll1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel was full when we checked in and our room was not ready. The reception staff were apologetic and kept us informed. In spite of working flat out they remained calm and professional with a good sense of humour. We found all the staff in the hotel to be approachable and friendly. The swimming pool is lovely for a relaxing swim and jacuzzi. Even though this hotel is away from the centre of Nottingham there is a good bus service that runs frequently and is 24 hours. There are pubs within walking distance and a retail park. I would definitely stay again, as they say in the village V Happy!

Room Tip: The hotel is a bit of a maze ask for a plan of the layout at reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaxgloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

just stayed for four nights on business. room very comfortable with sofa and sky sports in the base price, free wifi and parking too. so for £75 B&B = great value. choice of bar food or the restaurant - which was very quiet - bar normally fairly busy - draw your own conclusions. pool v good.
for business/ full working week stays at £75 a night - can it be beaten - I doubt it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I've stayed in a standard village room before, and the upper deck is a definite step up - a really nice hotel experience. A robe would have been the final touch though. The staff were all lovely (and I'm guessing very well-trained). Special thanks to Emma who dealt with a couple of issues quickly, efficiently and courteously. One small issue for me - I don't eat wheat, and it would have been good to see some porridge available for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mags28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a party booking for evening meal which was a bit patchy, mostly undercooked, but they were busy. Bottles of Pinot Grigio were charged out at £24.95 per bottle. Wouldn't have minded £15 or £18 but £25 means we ate elsewhere on the Sunday. We didn't ask the wine price as we expected to pay over the odds but didn't expect fine wine prices for run of the mill wine. Staff were very friendly and the place was clean but the food was not good and the wine was a ripoff, which takes the edge of the occasion. We shall try elsewhere on our next group outing.

Room Tip: Rooms in the extension are a long way from the facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilwell
3.0 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#6 of 49 in Nottingham
1,469 reviews
6.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
5.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 49 in Nottingham
2,277 reviews
5.2 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Nottingham

Property: Village Hotel Nottingham
Address: Hotel Nottingham Brailsford Way | Chilwell, Chilwell, Nottingham NG9 6DL, England (Formerly De Vere Village Nottingham)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham > Chilwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Nottingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Nottingham is minutes away from junction 25 of the M1 and just outside the City Centre. The hotel is ideally located for many major attractions including Nottingham Castle, Sherwood Forest, Newstead Abbey, American Adventure and Alton Towers Theme Parks. Nottingham is a vibrant city renowned for its fantastic shops and nightlife. Village Hotel Nottingham has 135 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Nottingham
Village Hotel Leisure Nottingham
Hotel Nottingham Village
Village Hotel Nottingham Chilwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing