We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Par For The Brand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Nottingham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilwell
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Par For The Brand”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Needed a location for a trip to Nottingham for University Open Day, plumped for the Village over the on-Campus Orchards Venue on the basis of price & facilities. Having stayed at the Warrington version of the chain I knew what to expect & the hotel doesn't disappoint.

A change of plan meant we weren't able to make the use of all the facilities, the 25m pool also had a bearing on the choice over the Orchards.

On arrival friendly greeting by the chap on reception - v helpful on directions, timings etc. for the drive to campus.
Bed comfort is always a problem & after a 3 1/2 hour drive and the knowledge of a 5-6 hour walk round the University the following day I was hoping for a decent mattress. Thankfully no issues despite the drive & a less than comfortable bed at a conference centre 4 nights previously. Big thumbs up!

Room (210) was enormous - best estimate would be 25 x 15 feet, one double, 2 single beds with plenty of space, with the sofa bed in theory the room can accommodate 6 - but this would probably be a squeeze.

Yes the decor is a bit tired & the grouting around the bath could do with a quick steam clean but the bath itself was perfectly fine.

Breakfast is buffet style - no grumbles from me - all the usual cooked breakfast favourites - kept me going until late afternoon.

Offspring was impressed with the University & commented on how green the City felt. She will undoubtedly be applying & assuming successful I would be more than happy to stay at the Village again & give the facilities the once over I was expecting to give them this time around.

The Average rating feels a bit unfair but a very good rating is too generous. Unfortunately there is no Good rating in between hence the "rounding down"

Room Tip: Room 210 - sleeps 4 in "proper" beds with a further 2 possible on a sofa bed - great for f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldmanjez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    589
    368
    166
    103
See reviews for
345
660
61
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burton in Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Can't argue the price. Got an excellent deal. Food in the restaurant was ok and probably better than expected. This is a budget hotel on the lines of Holiday Inn. They do have some minor problems on the service front....but hey......!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This was a trip for our anniversary so treated ourselves to an 'upper deck' room. Lovely comfortable large bed. Not overly large room but nicely decorated and clean. Reception staff helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was very nice. Lovely leisure facilities, large pool and sauna. The negatives: room overlooking roof which had some form of generator so same humming as others described, very cheap nasty feeling toilet roll(!) and lastly couldn't work out how to use the kettle and related bits. Tray with kettle and things on nowhere near the plug socket, so after walked kettle over to a found socket we found the lead of kettle was so short and awkward we gave up in the end trying to use! Overall apart from a few niggles would recommend. They are all things that could be improved, please note de vere village!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hElly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streetly United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stopped at this location whilst visiting my Daughter at Nottingham University.It is very clean and tidy with helpful staff. The bars and food are of good quality , and the rooms nicely laid out and equiped.I would definately use this again when staying in the area

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed at the hotel, when attending an anniversary party. Travelling alone, I treated myself to an 'Upper Deck' room - the 'Posturepedic bed' & 'Bespoke Starbucks Hot Drinks Package' swung it for me. Plenty of free parking & an easy check-in. Was surprised to hear that my room was on the first floor - silly me thought that 'Upper Deck' meant it would be higher up in the building and maybe a bit quieter.

Room wasn't as big as I'd imagined it would be and was a long walk away from the lift/stairs. Decor was pleasant enough, but the carpet could have done with a good hoovering. Had a bit of trouble getting the TV to work. There were instructions, but they weren't very clear. I called reception and a member of staff said she'd come and sort it out for me. Just as she arrived, I finally managed to figure it out. Bathroom adequate, but not much shelf space and the shower was a little temperamental.

The bed was sensational! Good quality, clean, fresh linen and a fantastic mattress. I often find it hard to get comfortable in hotel beds, but this was an exceptional one. On arrival, I noticed that the room window was slightly open, which was fine, on a warm & sunny afternoon. However, at bedtime, I was reminded that it was still open by a low pitched buzzing sound emanating from outside - like an electricity generator or some kind of refrigeration system. It wasn't loud, but it was annoying and so, I decided to shut the window ..... only to discover that I couldn't!! There was some kind of lock on it, which refused to be manoeuvred.

Hard to fault the breakfast buffet or the staff, who were excellent. Special mention to the charming young gentleman behind the bar, on the evening of the anniversary party - he was very helpful and engaged all his customers in conversation.

Now, most people will consider this to be a triviality but I'm a pedant and the thing that annoyed me most was this hotel's perception of a 'Bespoke Starbucks Hot Drinks Package'. I'd noticed that there was a Starbucks Coffee Shop in the hotel reception and wondered how a 'bespoke' service in the room would work (bearing in mind that the definition of 'bespoke' is 'made to order'). In my room, there were 2 sachets of Starbucks Italian Roast Dark & 2 sachets of the same in a decaf version; a selection of tea bags (English breakfast, Earl Grey & green tea) plus a couple of packets of biscotti. How exactly is that 'bespoke'?? Those were not my beverages of choice! On visiting a fellow guests room (which wasn't 'Upper Deck'), I discovered that although their selection of hot drinks wasn't of the Starbucks brand, it was actually more plentiful than mine! Most disappointing for someone who was looking forward to waking up to a nice cappuccino in bed.

Overall, I'm not sure if I would stay here again. Yes, the bed was lovely but, for the £99 I paid, I expected much more luxury than I experienced ...... and a better cup of coffee!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NinjaArkRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We paid £85 for 2 adults and 1 child which did include a nice breakfast. (I started with the positive). But the room was outdated and had mould in the bathroom. My daughter had to sleep on a camp bed squashed into a corner which could not really hold another bed. This is the best bit. We requested a king sized bed to discover for the 2 singles to be pushed together with the side light attached to the headboard above my head while I sleeped, so I couldn't move all night incase I banged my head. But the biggest problem is that people at allowed to sit outside all night and smoke, which is fine except they were screaming, shouting and laughing until about 3am, with no one offering to reduce their volume. I would not recommend this hotel. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Another hotel where you are guaranteed a good nights sleep, sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FBrewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chilwell hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night when attending a local family wedding. There was plenty of parking and the presentation of the hotel reception, bar etc. was excellent. Our room was clean and spacious - the bathroom was a bit outdated but had a decent shower. No air conditioning unfortunately, making the room uncomfortably warm on a hot summers day and night. Managed to fit in a visit to use the pool, sauna, steam room, which was great, considering we only paid £65 B&B. The breakfast was good, self-service but they kept replenishing the food regularly. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Only downside about the stay was that it said you could check in from 3pm - we got there just after 3 but had to wait until 3.30 as they were still cleaning the rooms. But overall, a great hotel, would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badgers_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilwell
3.0 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#5 of 49 in Nottingham
1,442 reviews
6.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
5.2 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
610 reviews
5.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 49 in Nottingham
2,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Nottingham

Property: Village Hotel Nottingham
Address: Hotel Nottingham Brailsford Way | Chilwell, Chilwell, Nottingham NG9 6DL, England (Formerly De Vere Village Nottingham)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham > Chilwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Nottingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Nottingham is minutes away from junction 25 of the M1 and just outside the City Centre. The hotel is ideally located for many major attractions including Nottingham Castle, Sherwood Forest, Newstead Abbey, American Adventure and Alton Towers Theme Parks. Nottingham is a vibrant city renowned for its fantastic shops and nightlife. Village Hotel Nottingham has 135 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Nottingham
Village Hotel Leisure Nottingham
Hotel Nottingham Village
Village Hotel Nottingham Chilwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing