We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for an overnight stay or 2”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Nottingham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilwell
gateshead
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OK for an overnight stay or 2”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed here as I was attending a conference at the East Midlands University and we had a discount at this hotel for that. The reception staff are really helpful and the rooms are clean with TV,tea-coffee making facilities etc. I'm not sure how much a full price room would have been, but Premier Inn's are cheaper and the rooms are just as good, but with more comfy beds! My room was on the far side of the hotel and a long walk from reception, including a small staircase, so not a suitable room if you had bad legs! Not a problem for me, but in case anyone in a wheelchair is reading this, make sure they know when you book! I didn't make use of any of the leisure/beauty facilities as I was at the conference most of the time. The breakfast was comprehensive and the cooked buffet was lovely. I was disturbed on my second night by young children banging about in the room next to me and in the corridors, their parents would come to see them now and then and at one point I went out to ask them to have a bit of consideration for other people, so not sure what was going on there. That isn't the hotel's fault though.

Room Tip: If you have trouble walking, make sure to ask for a room near reception or the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    589
    368
    165
    103
See reviews for
345
659
61
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Lost booking even though we had confirmed with a credit card !! then sent to room that we could not get to as we had a wheelchair and a few steps to navigate ! went back to the reception to be told oh yes lift broke you will have to walk round the back of the hotel to get to your room ( we did advise on booking that we had a disabled person in our party). Not nice we have to walk passed hotel bins mouse traps staff smoking .

After chatting to other guests we were told lift has been broken for months even though reception told us just broken and waiting for a special part . our room was not cleaned had to ask for towels not enough i for 3 guests no bedding for sofa bed On checking out I notice or bill was wrong and told that's extra for cleaning and breakfast . the price offered was for twin even though I booked a family room !!!

This is the first time I have ever felt the need to to write on trip advisor this is not the standard we would expect De Vere Hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellaboo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chilwell hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I was expecting more, having been to a Village Hotel in Cheadle with work. This place was a disappointing.

First off - the good bits: great gym/gym classes (but call in advance to book a spot!); ample free parking.

The not-so-good bits: Amazingly, the room isn't made up/cleaned every up every day, which was a) a surprise and b) really rubbish to come back to after a long day working. There's no in-room breakfast, which is a bit of a pain. The room I was in had a floodlight outside, which the curtains couldn't fully block out. Further to this, the door was letting in absolutely loads of light from the noisy corridor. I've never slept so badly - I can usually sleep through anything! TV channel choice was a bit poor - no BBC Three/Four, just More 4, E4 and sports channels on top of 1-5.

Not sure where this hotel is pitching itself - but it was a disappointing choice for a few days away with work!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ntc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I needed a ROOM for one night close to the Beeston Hockey Club ground where our team was playing in a national final the following day and the location was fantastic being just a couple of miles down the road. That dinner and breakfast were on-site and included in the price was great. Welcome and check-in were smooth and the receptionist booked us a table for dinner. The room was what you would expect from this type of establishment. It was a little tired and I would not go there for a special occasion but it was clean and tidy, especially the bathroom, and met our need. We found enough choice on the dinner menu and enjoyed our meal. Breakfast was a highlight being tasty, varied and plentiful! However, the truly outstanding feature was the service. All the staff were extremely helpful, friendly and cheerful to the guests and each other. They appear to be a highly motivated team. Next time we require this type of accommodation, we will look at the Village website before any others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Over night stay for a hen night. not impressed with the pool area but beauty treatments are very good. Evening well organised and food ok. rooms quite nice, clean and comfortable, although walls very thin. good value overall.

Room Tip: Upper desk rooms looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 45lmkf89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Peak Derbyshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed for two nights in May with my wife. Check I was painfully slow with a large que and long wait at reception. The room was a good size, the bed was large and was 2 mattresses pushed together. The hotel is starting to tire and lacks quality. The bathroom was adequate though lacks any quality. The electric heating in the room was very noisy and kept us awake. Noise from the neighbours and corridor was easily heard. The Verve restaurant food was disappointing though the bar food was good. Breakfast was good though the queue and wait to be seated was frustrating. Free WiFi and parking, reasonably priced food and friendly hardworking staff.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbdiggerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wife and I used Village Hotel at Chilwell because it was local to the Royal Engineers' Depot where we were attending an REA Weekend.

Plus Points: Handy for Chetwynd Barracks. Put the (off)Red Carpet out for us. (Well, it was put out for SOMEBODY... and we walked on it.
Breakfast, rooms are all you would expect in a medium-budget hotel.
Learnt we COULD have taken Dog (£15 extra).

Minus point: Sole person on reception engaged on protracted telephone conversation (around 5 minutes) whilst we waited to book in.

Room Tip: Don't have a bath .... have a shower instead. Bath is far to slow to fill, and also too slow to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portsmouthrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilwell
3.0 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#5 of 49 in Nottingham
1,441 reviews
6.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
5.2 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
609 reviews
5.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 49 in Nottingham
2,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Nottingham

Property: Village Hotel Nottingham
Address: Hotel Nottingham Brailsford Way | Chilwell, Chilwell, Nottingham NG9 6DL, England (Formerly De Vere Village Nottingham)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham > Chilwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Nottingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Nottingham is minutes away from junction 25 of the M1 and just outside the City Centre. The hotel is ideally located for many major attractions including Nottingham Castle, Sherwood Forest, Newstead Abbey, American Adventure and Alton Towers Theme Parks. Nottingham is a vibrant city renowned for its fantastic shops and nightlife. Village Hotel Nottingham has 135 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Nottingham
Village Hotel Leisure Nottingham
Hotel Nottingham Village
Village Hotel Nottingham Chilwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing