We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comlongon Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2009

My husband and I got married at Comlongon Castle on 18th July 2009. It was a simply amazing day and the staff could not do enough for us. Nothing was too much trouble and they were able to deal quickly and appropriately with any requests from myself and the other guests. All the arrangements ran very smoothly and we had the perfect day. Even though the castle deal with many weddings each year I still felt like a princess and that all the staff were interested in making our day one to remember. None of our guests have had a bad word to say about the whole day. The rooms are gorgeous and the food is fabulous. I would not hesitate in recommending the castle to a friend and am hoping that we can go back next year for our anniversary!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jambo_bibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comlongon, Owner at Comlongon Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to place a review about our hotel, staff and facilities. Although we specialise in wedding celebrations we are determined to make sure every client is treated as an individual.
For the past three decades we have organised celebrations for numerous clients from around the world; every comment from a client that we have got it right is a welcome reward.
We specialise in hosting only one group a day who take over the entire building allowing guests to experience exclusive use for a fraction of the price of other venues. Our bar, rooms and restaurant are private, which means only one group generally has access to these facilities.
We are now developing upgraded facilities in the form of secluded honeymoon lodges allowing couples to return on anniversaries, details of which are posted on our website.
Phillip Ptolomey
Owner
Comlongon Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 535 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2009

Me and my husband were married at Comlongon Castle on the 3rd of July 2009 and had an amazing day; it was the best day of my life and truly felt like a princess in my own castle. The staff was fantastic and took care of everything; I did not have a single worry. We first saw the castle on the internet but after our first visit fell in love with the place. The grounds and castle are breath taking, a truly romantic place. We had 30 guests in total and all commented on the beauty of the castle and how well everything went. I honestly cannot put in to words how brilliant my wedding day was, I would do it again tomorrow if my husband would let me.
All aspects of the castle staff, food, rooms and grounds etc were everything we could have wished for, even our guests were made to feel special. If you want a truly magical, stress free out of this world venue then look no further than Comlongon Castle.
I would highly recommend using S&T Bonnar for your photos; they did an amazing job, and were a pleasure to have around on our special day. Tom added some great humour, which made for fantastic photos- just brilliant.
We had a religious ceremony which was lovely; Sandy Jamieson (minister) was fantastic and added very special touches to the ceremony.
I would also recommend Blooms for flowers, and Balloons for all for chair cover hire.
We had a truly memorable day, thanks to all involved. We are now looking forward to exploring Scotland.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DazKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comlongon, Owner at Comlongon Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2010

Thank you for your review.
Once you have a product in place that is right and staff that are fully trained it is easy to be complacent in what is provided.
Comments from guests who take the time and trouble, often after returning from a honeymoon, are a reminder why we are in this industry.
We operate a principle at the castle that every pound made is reinvested to improve facilities. When clients recognise this it makes our efforts all the more rewarding.
Not only do we take the time and effort to offer the best the region can offer we also bolster this with providing an improved facility upon a return.
From all the staff, thank you.

Phillip Ptolomey
Owner
Comlongon Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Wedding Nov 2008
Booked Comlongon for a weekend and invited lots of family and friends
Gardens, Food and Accommodation absolutely out of this world however the staff were second to none. They could not do enough for any member of our very large party and made everybody feel extremely special. It was a complete wedding to remember with a huge family party thrown in.
I will never be able to Thank Comlongon enough for their time, effort and professionalism - I would thoroughly recommend it for the most important day of your life

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comlongon, Owner at Comlongon Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2010

Thank you for your kind review,

Comlongon is, without a doubt, a unique venue. We specialise in providing wedding ceremonies and receptions that often go far beyond clients expectations. To take the time and trouble of leaving a review after leaving our home is a reminder that we are providing an extremely important event in a couples lives.

Thank you

Phillip Ptolomey
Owner
Comlongon Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

I would like to take this oppertunity to let people know what Comlongon castle is like, i had my wedding there 11/07/09 and staff were fantastic, food tremendous, grounds spectacular,worthy of every penny. guests still speaking about it 3 weeks later.

Linda & Barry

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindamacs1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comlongon, Owner at Comlongon Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2010

Everyone at Comlongon appreciates your kind review.
Organising the most important day of someones life, often via e-mail could be a difficult, if not disasterous venture.
We specialise in providing weddings and the associated celebrations through a very well trained team and a support network of sub-contractors.
Every guest that has the opportunity of celebrating with us reinforces our goal; to deliver exceptional service, at a price that is exceptionally competative and with an assurance that there is no-one that can compete with us.

Phillip Ptolomey
Owner
Comlongon Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

From the moment we set foot in the door of this beautiful castle the staff made us totally relaxed, and took care of our every need. The suites are absolutely stunning, and immaculate. Our day ran like clockwork, which then went onto the evening banquet, which was amazing. We don't have one negative to say. The surroundings first class, the staff were first class. We have put our experience at the castle at number one on our list of truly memorable days. We hope we have the chance to re-visit this lovely castle.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosaldoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comlongon, Owner at Comlongon Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2010

Dear reviewer
Many thanks for your comments. Organising weddings each and every day is a task that our staff are expert at. It is always rewarding when clients take the time and trouble to post their comments on our efforts and products.
Since you celebrated with us we have invested a significant amount in improving the rooms, facilities and gardens. We are pleased to announce the completion of our new Honeymoon lodge which will help those who would like to return for anniversaries and also can now supply Wedding Stones for those who would like to organise a special renewal of vows occasion.
Phillip
Owner
Comlongon Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

The castle was everything we could have wished for & more. NO STRESS & NO WORRY.Food fantastic,staff very helpfull & proffessional,grounds & views awesome.We would highley recomend the castle to anyone wishing for a dream wedding.Fond memories for all for many years. Mr&Mrs B & K.Ross

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimbolegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comlongon, Owner at Comlongon Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2010

Thank you for your review,
At Comlongon we rely upon clients to either recommend our services to others or to post reviews that allow future couples to determine if we are the venue of choice. Anyone that takes the time and trouble to leave their independant critique is most welcome. I am very pleased that our staff, once again delivered in what we promise and advertise. We constantly look at what we provide in an effort to better our training, products and services.
I know all members of staff read tripadvisor as a matter of course and will be delighted by your review.

Phillip
Owner
Comlongon Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

We have just arrived back home in East Yorkshire from our wedding on 2nd July 2009, at Comlongon Castle. My wife and I visited many venues on the west side of Scotland for a castle to hold our wedding, Comlongon was highly recommended to us by friends who got married there last year. As soon as we arrived at the castle we were warmly welcomed and straight away felt this was the venue for us.

We all had such a fantastic day, the whole experience from the booking to the actual wedding was stress free, well organised and the staff were superb (especially Dan and Alex). The food was excellent and the service was first class. The wedding co-ordinators were very professional and went that extra mile to ensure everything ran smoothly. We were fortunate enough to get married outside in the beautiful gardens as the weather was exceptionally hot for Scotland, but the great hall in the castle itself is unique with the dungeon, pit and fireplace.

If your looking for a wedding venue in Scotland we would highly recommend Comlongon Castle, whatever your needs, for a day to remember. Once again thanks to all the staff for giving us a day to remember. Dave and Lyn.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GolferEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comlongon, owner at Comlongon Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2010

Thank you for your review,
We organise weddings for couples from all over the world each and every day. This often means that most book without visiting us in person. Clients rely upon either personal recommendations or review sites. Every comment from past clients is looked at to see if we can in some way improve what we deliver.
We deliver a very careful blend of family atmosphere with professional attitude. Being able to do this each and every day is testament to our staff.
Thank you for your comments.

Phillip
Owner
Comlongon castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarencefield
9.6 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
15.0 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
159 reviews
13.8 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
677 reviews
7.9 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
14.9 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comlongon Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comlongon Castle Hotel

Address: | Dumfries, Clarencefield DG1 4NA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Clarencefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Clarencefield
Price Range: $111 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Comlongon Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored 15th-century castle and adjoining 15 roomed Baronial hotel set in over 120 acres of private grounds. Comlongon specialises in weddings, receptions, celebrations and private functions on a daily basis. The Hotel offers a unique blend of luxury, history and privacy with displays of armour and oak paneling. Award winning chefs specialise in fresh local produce. Comlongon is a privately owned and run family business where service and value for money are paramount. Private guided tours conducted by the owner Phillip Ptolomey can be arranged each evening if prebooked ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comlongon Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comlongon Castle Dumfries
Comlongon Castle Hotel Dumfries
Comlongon Castle Hotel Scotland/Clarencefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing