We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been perfect...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comlongon Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed here with my wife for our 3rd anniversary and stayed in room 5 the Murray Suite. The room was absolutely gorgeous, perfect size, lovely furniture and stunning bathroom with wonderful vews of the castle gardens. The only thing that spoilt the room was the poor cleaning job, the carpet hadn't been hoovered properly, one of the window had several cob webs that had numerous dead flies in them and also some of the furniture had not been dusted.

The castle and its grounds where fantastic, really picturesque and ideal setting for a wedding or romantic get away. The restraunt was equally as good with exceptional food and suprisingly well portioned (LEFT US BOTH FULL AND i AM USUALLY A BIG EATER).

The staff where all extremely helpfull and could not do enough to help us and make our stay excellent. There service was second to none and that is every member of staff we dealt with.

I really would have given a 5* rating but due to the poor cleaning and a 3am fire alarm that had all the guests woken up and waiting for the firebrigade to give the all clear for a 35 minute wait. This was a false alarm but really spoilt our night as it was our anniversary (would have been worse if it was a wedding night).

Overall - a fantastic venue, in a fantastic location ideal for romance and weddings. Could be perfect if more attention was paid to cleaning the rooms and an un-fortunate accident with the fire alarm.

Room Tip: Murray suite room 5 is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillyg5474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comlongon, Owner at Comlongon Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thanks you for your review. I am sorry the only aspect that fell below our usual standards appears to be insects in the room. Unfortunately September is a month when we had far more midges than usual. If windows are left open for any long period once the sun goes down they are attracted to any light in the hotel, which can result in dozens of the little chaps entering the room.
We try and place notices on window ledges advising clients of this in late summer, but if the day is warm there is a strong chance of opening windows.

Phillip Ptolomey
Comlongon Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 533 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

We held our wedding at Comlongon Castle on Friday 31st August 2012. It was perfect and I really can't praise the venue or staff enough. Here are just a few highlights and recommendations:
The Great Hall where you can hold the ceremony is perfect - an authentic, romantic castle room with open fire, candles and flags hanging from the ceiling, winding staircase and unbelievable ambience. The fact your friends and family stand around you rather than sit and watch the ceremony means it is a really emotive place - we had many groqn men crying, including Tony, my new husband!!
The food - we had a Laird's hog roast the night befofre the wedding which was amazing, then a fabulous wedding banquet and evening buffet. The fact guests can choose their meal a few hours before they eat was excellent. Many people commented they had never been to a wedding where this happened before.
The rooms were beautiful - four poster beds and seating areas, champagne and chocolates each night - and the Honeymoon Lodge is equisite. It was lovely having somewhere to 'get away' from it all during the wedding celebrations.
The staff - they were all amazing. Made us feel so at home and relaxed, yet there to help whenever we needed them. A special mention for Alex, the baar manager/master of ceremonies - he helped to make our wedding a hassle free experience so we could really enjoy ourselves.
The grounds and hotel are amazing, highland cattle in the field adjacent to the gardens and plenty of room for people to mingle and children to run around.
We used Rainbow Sugarcraft cakes - amazing!!
Magnolia Brides of Annan to steam press my dress after a long journey - very reliable.
Julie Winspear photographer (Carlisle) - brilliant with us, the guests and hopefully stunning photos - we should receive them this week, but those we have seen so far are brilliant.
Everafter videos - watch ours on their website to give you an idea of just how AMAZING this company is - they're a must have at your wedding.
Atelier de fleur flowers (Newcastle) - absolutely beautiful.
Diane Boa and Barbara - hair and make up - great.
As I said, I really can't say enough about Comlongon. I wanted a perfect, dream wedding - and this place delivered so much more than I could ever have imagined. Many of our guests have commented it was the best wedding they have ever been to.
The owner, Phillip, has an amazing place with amazing staff.
They allowed me to be a princess in a caste for a day - thank you so much!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arwen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comlongon, Owner at Comlongon Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Reviewer. Firstly please accept my apologies for not replying to this sooner.
The Great Hall is the most popular location for ceremonies. But once a client books the Castle you can marry anywhere on the estate-it’s your choice. Either way we do try and promote an atmosphere of your guests being participants to a wedding rather than witnesses. This is why we tend to gather everyone in a circle around the Bride and Groom –the normal procedure for a wedding would dictate that each side of a family would sit on separate sides of a venue. We are under the impression that a wedding should bring two families together, not separate them. We will provide seating for those that cannot stand for the 15 minute ceremony.
The best way to enjoy Comlongon is over 2 days, but this does increase costs obviously, and in this era of austerity this has to be taken on board.
Our Lodge is proving very popular for weddings, especially as it allows several people to change for a wedding at the same time; it has 2 bathrooms.
It’s only when you are here that you realise what we provide, and what staff do.
Phillip Ptolomey
Comlongon Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My son and daughter inlaw were married on 02/09/2012 the only down side was sorting the menu selection and the short time you have to be ready for the wedding ceremony perhaps logging in to the web site to place your dinner choice before you arrive or ring in the orders before arriving at the venue.

We also found it very difficult to get are elderly auntie around the castle in the wheel chair and up the spiral stairs to the wedding ceremony, and to the bedrooms.

Having said the above the venue could not have been bettered for my sons wedding it was more than he could have dreamed of the staff were smashing and did all they could to please every guest including the photographer and the minster for the wedding ceremony made the bride and groom at ease at all time.

The food was spot on the service the breakfast was very good, breakfast very good plenty of choice.
Overall the comlongin castle I would not hesertate to recommend the venue any one looking for venue will consider using for are fortieth wedding anaversary .

The only reason I have given four stars is the wheel chair access and amount of stairs and outside steps for any one with walking problems.

I would like thank all staff and the disco and all involved including cleaners chefs cooks waiters and reception a big thank you for the hard work to make a amazing day.

Thank you,
Mr L Tippey Father of the groom.
.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tippeynewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comlongon, Owner at Comlongon Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Reviewer, thank you for your comments. Circumstances have prevented me from leaving comments for a while.
Your detailed review warrants, at the very least a detailed reply. Firstly we do offer a very unusual menu option, which allows every guest to choose their individual menu option on the day (basically al a carte)-how many receptions have you attended where you choose months in advance from menu option A or B? We feel this gives guests the best we can provide, and yet causes our staff added problems on the day. We are passionate about delivering the best we and the region can provide. I have never yet seen another venue that allows guests to choose their individual menu selections upon arrival. Yes, this does cause a bit of hassle upon check-in, especially the larger the group, but our staff deal with this. Better this than be treated as a number on a date I feel.
We have tried other ways of delivering this option; pre-ordering, website options etc. But all of these give added stress to the Bride and Groom.
The Castle is accessed by a single spiral staircase, which we make every client aware of. This does cause particular problems for those who find difficulty. Staff will aid access in advance of the ceremony in the Great Hall if needed, usually going round in some time in advance. We do offer the lower basement as an alternative, which still presents a few steps for access. One of the problems we face is that we are an original castle built in the early 15th Century which made no allowance for disabled access (Indeed the building was made particularly access unfriendly) -we have done everything we can to make this better, but are constrained by various government restrictions.
These are problems we try our best to overcome. Having said that, I am delighted that everything else was perfect. Staff here does go the extra mile to ensure all clients have the time of their lives. It must be remembered everyone is local, and most have been here for over a decade.
Phillip Ptolomey
Comlongon Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night to attend a friends wedding. The place is fab, a real castle with plenty of charm and tons of character. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. It's about a 15 minute drive from the M6 and Gretna Green (which is worth a visit). We had a lovely room with a big 4 poster bed overlooking the gardens. Massive en suite bathroom with roll top bath which adds to the comfort of the room. Deer and Angus cattle roaming freely in the fields as we had an excellent view from our room. There's lots of history about the place, truely authentic. It is expensive to stay there but the experience and charm of the place is well worth it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Murray Suite which had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scopie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comlongon, Owner at Comlongon Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Reviewer; Thank you. Again it is rewarding that our level of attention has been recognised by others apart from the Bride and Groom. We do offer a variety of rooms at various rates, and since you stayed with us the economic situation has dictated that we are far more flexible over rates. As most who have stayed with us have found, we are open to negotiation-this could be called bespoke or realistic. Either way we have one of the most stunning venues in Scotland to celebrate. One thing that does surprise clients is how affordable we are-we are viewed as a 5 star venue, which should attract a 5 star tariff. Yet we don’t.
Phillip Ptolomey
Comlongon Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed there for a friend's wedding. The hotel is gorgeous and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful! The room was a good size with a lovely bathroom. I would definitely like to return for another stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comlongon, Owner at Comlongon Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Reviewer, thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave this particular comment. It is always rewarding when we get such comments from guests of a wedding who feel they have enjoyed themselves enough to let others know. We try very hard to ensure that every person at an event has the best we can provide. We constantly monitor comments to see how we can improve what we deliver and comments from Trip Advisor, Facebook etc give us direct feedback as to how we are performing.
Phillip Ptolomey
Comlongon Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

we came here for my cousin wedding alothough we did not sleep here or have a room of our own but some family did and when we checked the rooms out i was blown away!! very expensive and the rooms say it all! brilliant expensive taste and utterly divine!

the whole experience of being here was fantastic! and i would highly highly recommend others to go! even if its jus for a nosey, its beautiful!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comlongon, Owner at Comlongon Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Reviewer, thank you for taking the time for this. Although you were not able to stay with us it is rewarding that you took the time to leave this comment. We often provide facilities for up to 200 guests and although we only have 15 rooms this often means that only 36 or so guests can enjoy an overnight stay. Every room is different and unique, and are priced from £120 to £250; something for everyone.
Phillip Ptolomey
Comlongon Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have just returned from a family wedding here. We had a wonderful time. The hotel is beautiful and full of character. The gardens are lovely with lots of features and photo opportunities. The staff were very accommodating and nothing was to much trouble. We married here ourselves 17 years ago and found it to be even better now than it was then.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank axle06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comlongon, Owner at Comlongon Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Reviewer, thank you for this comment. As we do not advertise heavily we rely on comments such as this for others to determine if we are the place for couples to celebrate. We take a great deal of effort in ensuring everything is the best we can provide. Particularly the gardens get comments, which is rewarding as we spend a great deal of time ensuring the whole Comlongon experience is 5 star. Most of our clients are either past guests or recommended by those who have already experienced what we provide. Thank you.
Phillip Ptolomey
Comlongon Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarencefield
9.6 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
7.9 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
13.8 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,074 reviews
8.8 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
318 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comlongon Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comlongon Castle Hotel

Address: | Dumfries, Clarencefield DG1 4NA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Clarencefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Clarencefield
Price Range: $115 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Comlongon Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored 15th-century castle and adjoining 15 roomed Baronial hotel set in over 120 acres of private grounds. Comlongon specialises in weddings, receptions, celebrations and private functions on a daily basis. The Hotel offers a unique blend of luxury, history and privacy with displays of armour and oak paneling. Award winning chefs specialise in fresh local produce. Comlongon is a privately owned and run family business where service and value for money are paramount. Private guided tours conducted by the owner Phillip Ptolomey can be arranged each evening if prebooked ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Comlongon Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comlongon Castle Dumfries
Comlongon Castle Hotel Dumfries
Comlongon Castle Hotel Scotland/Clarencefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing