We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Christmas Night Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterfront Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waterfront Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in The Villages
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Christmas Night Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Not many places were open to serve dinner on Christmas night. The buffet was plentiful with lots of selections; Chicken, Seafood, Stuffed Cod, Roast Pork, Prime Rib and Salad and Soup (Lobster Bisque) Desert and coffee were included. Service was excellent. We sat on the patio and had a pleasant view of the lake.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    86
    40
    10
    8
See reviews for
90
109
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

From the exterior, this hotel presents a nice image, and the lobby area is nicely decorated. Instead of a registration desk, you sit at one of two office-style desks.

The lobby is papered in pineapple themed wallpaper, as is every wall surface in the public areas of the hotel. Mercifully, the rooms are not. The pineapple images might have been nice if they were simply small framed rectangles mounted on otherwise blank walls. Unfortunately, the effect quickly morphed from 'nice' to 'overwhelming' to 'get me out of here'.

Our room was smallish, but nicely appointed, and the beds were comfortable. Room service at breakfast was a disaster. It took five phone calls, most of which landed in an answering machine. We left a message and they later claimed to have called back, but they did not.

Sunday evening the lobby bar was crowded with drinkers listening to a series of Karaoke singers proving just how bad country and western music from the tone-deaf school could possibly sound. Perhaps they were too drunk to notice.

This hotel has only one thing going for it: it is just a block or two from Lake Sumter Landing, which is the most interesting of the three town squares in this huge development.

All in all, not a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank john439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiawassee, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed here twice while looking at property in The Villages. The rooms were spacious, pleasant & very comfortable. I found the beds to be "just right" for a good nights sleep. Because I was worn out after a very long day of driving I ordered room service. Although the service was good I was disappointed in the food. The staff is courteous & helpful & the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJTBHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazlet, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This hotel was great! The service was great and very accommodating. We had a full view of the lake and golf course. We rented a golf cart for the day which allowed us to travel all in the villages. Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Top floor, lake front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Finky wallpaper in the hallways. Can't beat the location if you are staying in the villages. Walk to happy hour in the town. They don't include breakfast which most of the surrounding hotels do. Very loud room next door but that may have just been bad luck.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bporourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL / Palm Springs, CA
Level Contributor
217 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

5-Star for The Villages. Granted, it's no Ritz-Carlton, but it is as close as you can get for The Villages. POINTS: Cleanliness, Great Location, beautiful facilities, helpful & cheerful staff. The rest of available hotels cannot compare AT ALL....they are chain motel-hotel types (Holiday Inn, Comfort, etc) and bare-bones.....which are okay, but those are quick-stays for ($tight) visiting relatives etc.....but if you want to stay somewhere special.....somewhere you will truly enjoy the facility itself....a notch or two above the others....then the Waterfront Inn is THE ONLY place to stay. Located on Lake Sumter Landing with shops & restaurants at your convenience.....nightly live music at the Landing....you will probably pay $20-30 more per night than the others but you will have a much more overall enjoyable experience making it worth the extra change. If you're staying a week or more? They will negotiate rates.....don't be shy, If you don't ask you won't get it. Don't stay anywhere else. BTW, It's pretty popular so don't expect to get a room at the last minute.....plan ahead and you'll be happy that you did!

Room Tip: Waterfront View....really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigWhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Villages
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites The Villages
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites The Villages
2.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites The Villages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - The Villages
4.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Lady Lake/The Villages
6.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Wildwood - The Villages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Inn

Property: The Waterfront Inn
Address: 1105 Lakeshore Dr, The Villages, FL 32162-1698
Location: United States > Florida > The Villages
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in The Villages
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your The Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Lady Lake
Waterfront Hotel Lady Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing