We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Typical Hampton Inn Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites The Villages
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in The Villages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2011

As a former Hilton Diamond member and current Gold member, I have stayed at all of the Hilton brands including over 40 different Hampton Inn hotels. The Hampton Inn at The Villages in Florida was the worst experience I have encountered and very different from the other TripAdvisor reviews.

Problems:
(1) There were trucks making deliveries at the front entrance which blocked access for arriving guests.
(2) There were no employees at the front desk when we arrived. After a ten minute wait, I roamed the corridors and found an employee who was able to track down the front desk help so we could check in during normal check-in time.
(3) There were major renovations underway in the lobby / breakfast area which was not disclosed in the web site when the hotel was booked.
(4) Housekeeping staff was vacuuming the carpet in the lobby / breakfast area while breakfast was being served.
(5) Housekeeping staff left their carts in the middle of the corridor which had to be personally moved before guests could get by.
(6) The non-smoking room smelled of smoke.
(7) The refrigerator in the room was very loud and not functioning properly.
(8) There was very little water pressure in the bathroom sink.
(9) The clock in the room was set to the incorrect time.

Some of the items above are relatively minor, but there is no excuse for the first five items which indicate a lack of training or poor facility management. On the positive side, the breakfast buffet was very good despite the inconvenience of the renovations and the location of the hotel is very convenient to The Villages.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KMP-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites The Villages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 572 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2011

Had a few problems but overall the hotel is very nice. To start out we got lost but when I called the hotel the clerk who answered the phone was super giving me detailed directions. The lobby is a bit of a mess as they are remodeling. When we arrived at our room we discovered it had not been cleaned. The desk clerk was very apologetic and quickly got us to another room which was in perfect order. Then we discovered that my traveling companion had forgotten part of her outfit for the next day. Again the desk clerk had to give us directions, she is very knowledgeable of the area and guided us to several local stores. The next morning we once again needed directions, this time the kitchen worker was the one who knew the way. She was very pleasant and most willing to help. There is a small gym area and morning breakfast is included. Overall the stay was pleasant and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Animals are allowed at this hotel so keep that in mind if you are allergic.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cawowyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

I stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites for one night in Oct. 2011. Excellent stay. Room was spotless and comfortable. Staff I dealt with were friendly. Breakfast was a good value. Only one small complaint and it's not really the hotel's fault -- a few TV channels were not coming during the evening -- maybe a satellite problem -- as they were back in the morning. I would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend this place to friends. If you are visiting The Villages it is about 10 minutes drive to both Lake Sumter Landng and Spanish Springs Town Centers. One note: golf carts are a very popular mode of transportation in The Villages, and this hotel is not golf cart accessible as it is right off of County Road 466, and there are no homes, residential streets or golf cart trails right around this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stdonatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Great location, nice room, gym. But PAPER THIN WALLS! Did not arrive until after 2 AM. Night clerk was very nice and helpful, but went to breakfast at 9:40AM and was told by kitchen worker that it was twenty to ten and she was not going to reheat anything. I never asked her in the first place. There were a large number of late check ins due to a ball game and provision should have been made for such. Other than that nice place.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kievangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Book this hotel for some friends that were visiting. Spent much time with them at the hotel and it was awesome. Super clean, great wifi and so close to many restaurants. The bed was dreamy and the breakfast was fantastic. I will definately have my friends stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bianca160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I stayed here only 1 night but I enjoyed it. The room was very clean and the front desk clerks were very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I have stayed in Hamptons all over US; this one - remarkably - better than any other I've been in, and the difference was noticeable coming through the door.
Neat. Clean. Orderly.
Staff extremely "present" - approachable, friendly.
Lobby and breakfast area - completely picked up.
Room, bathroom, bed, desk - all in perfect order.
NO dust under the nightstand, when I moved it to plug in a cell charger.
Shower - worked and no wobbly showerhead barely attached to the wall. Iron clean, functioning perfectly.
Business equipment -- PC, monitor, and especially the printer. I needed to get to a Word doc in GMAIL, and print on heavy card stock (mine) on attached printer. Worked. Simple as that. NO problems. Stunning.

Breakfast - hot coffee, fresh food, good fruit. Just seriously nothing to detract from "excellent" experience.

It was so good, I approached the front desk staff, onsite; they got the new GM for the facility and we chatted. Again, remarkably differently better than other hotels I've stayed in. Enough to get me to pipe up.

Room Tip: Stayed on top floor; no complaints.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kevin o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Villages
1.7 mi away
The Waterfront Inn
The Waterfront Inn
#2 of 2 in The Villages
415 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - The Villages
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites The Villages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites The Villages
5.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Lady Lake/The Villages
6.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Wildwood - The Villages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites The Villages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites The Villages

Address: 11727 NE 63rd Dr, The Villages, FL 32162-8620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > The Villages
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in The Villages
Price Range: $94 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites The Villages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Hampton Inn & Suites is nestled in the heart of The Villages in central Florida, just a short drive to many Orlando attractions and Ocala's beautiful horse-country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites The Villages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites The Villages
Hampton Inn & Suites The Villages Hotel The Villages
Hampton Inn Lady Lake
Lady Lake Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing