We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems like a Winner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of SonRise Cafe

SonRise Cafe
Ranked #29 of 117 Restaurants in The Villages
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Phone 352 750 1719. Amazing from scratch breakfast & lunch cafe. Open Mon-Sat 6:30am - 2pm & Sun 8am - 1pm.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
1,205 reviews
887 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 731 helpful votes
“Seems like a Winner”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

First time here. Breakfast choices pretty varied. Rachel was spot-on, friendly, helpful, kept the very enjoyable coffee coming. Food was good. Prices are moderate. The lunch menu looks intriguing with a "Whistle Stop--fried green tomato sandwich and an assortment of salads and other sandwiches . We intend to explore this intrigue.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnfjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    36
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
620 reviews
447 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“What's So Special?”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Went there just for the change of venue. Since it wasn't yet the snowbird season, there were no lines. Enjoyed sitting outside and had a soup and half a sandwich. Inexpensive and decent food but don't think I'd line up to eat here. Didn't find anything special. Might be missing something. Probably should try breakfast and compare with others.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yori O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice food, nice price”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

You can tell there is a golf course nearby! This must be the unofficial 19th hole :) The Spinach Benedict was delicious with perfectly poached eggs. My husband said the sausage gravy was very good, but the biscuit needs work (I think Rae Rae's spoiled him). I can see how there would be long waits fall through spring, since the place was full at 10:00 a.m. in July. The staff is very efficient and works unflustered even when at full capacity. I'm keeping SonRise Cafe on my list of go-to breakfast places in The Villages.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheWaywardTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Long waits during season on Sunday, but the food is stellar”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I'm going to try off season to see if the service and waits improve. However, the breakfast served was excellent, the location is convenient and the atmosphere is pleasant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
311 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“The Best Breakfasts!!!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We love this cafe!! We are always welcomed warmly, even when they are busy and there is a waiting line to get in. They do a wonderful job cooking home-cooked breakfasts. We have had yummy omelets there. For this visit, friends of ours got blueberry pancakes. My husband got cherry French toast. I ordered the basic breakfast with eggs over easy, bacon, sourdough toast, and homefries. Everything was delicious. Portions were generous. Our server was very attentive, kind and personable. The prices are so reasonable. Atmosphere is very casual and clean. It is a great way to start your day. Plus this cafe is golf cart accessible.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AttitudeofGratitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SonRise Cafe also viewed

 
Lady Lake, Lake County
The Villages, FL
 

Been to SonRise Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing