We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Entertaining” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amelia's

Amelia's
Ranked #70 of 116 Restaurants in The Villages
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Entertaining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Eating in a hotel like this is different. There's often singing/dancing in the small bar area. Buffet was disappointing but ordering off menu is always good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    15
    11
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Food was excellent as was service. Very nice views and fairly intimate dining room. Nice for a "classy" dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Terrible service worse food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Because it was convenient we stopped in for breakfast. Not having explored the grounds since we had just checked in late the night before we asked the man at front desk where on the grounds it was located. He rolled his eyes and said in a very condescending manner "it's right around the corner". That attitude should have warned us off. We found the entrance where an older woman was standing at a podium. She was working on some paper work and did not even look up to acknowledge us for a full two minutes. We were the only ones waiting and only two business men were seated. Again warning bells should have gone off. Once we were seated we waited almost 10 minutes for our waitress only to find out our only choice was the breakfast Buffett. The Buffett was extremely bad. The restaurant had only been open an hour so there is no excuse for what we found. All the breads were stale. The biscuits were hard, the grits were runny, the eggs were a rubbery glob. The steamers everything was in were impossible to open and serve without two people(the lids do not stay up). Now on to the breakfast show we were treated to......a young man in a white chef's coat came storming in complaining to the older hostess and the waitress that he just found he had to serve 20 people in the lobby and he went a long, loud, public, unprofessional rant. Needless to say we won't be back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NiteOwl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
329 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good Try”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Would think the restaraunt would be better, it is ok, but just does not have a good vibe. The bar is in the lobby and looks vacant most of the time, the food area is in a small area with no apeal, and the food is just ok.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Never Again!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We made reservations a week ahead of time for 8 at 6:30p, adjusting our time to account for there being a large party there at 4:30. We were told that would give them plenty of time to reset tables, etc. We arrived on time but were not seated until 30 minutes past our reservation. The large party was still there and there were only two tables available, one of which was occupied by a couple they had seated earlier, in spite of needing it for our reservation. The couple lingered and lingered and the management could (or would) do nothing about it. When we were finally seated, the server brought 7 glasses of water for 8 of us. We had to ask if we could have some bread, which was provided, but no plates to put it on. Again we had to ask for those. There was another long delay before the server returned to take our order. Another long delay before our food was served. Mine, the steak salad, ordered medium-rare, was the last to be brought (delayed by about 10 minutes from everyone else being served), and the steak arrived well-done. By that time (after 8:00p), however, I wasn't about to send it back and wait another half-hour for a re-do. Everyone else's food was acceptable, but nothing of note. The manager did apologize for our delay in being seated and comp'd the round of drinks some of us had ordered. About half of us only had water, so not much compensation there.

The restaurant has no ambiance to speak of. The decor resembles any nondescript hotel breakfast room.While the evening entertainment in the lobby/bar area is always good, I would not go back to this restaurant if it were the only one in the entire Villages!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie32159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amelia's also viewed

The Villages, FL
The Villages, FL
 
The Villages, FL
 

Been to Amelia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing