We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and good service”
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #66 of 122 Restaurants in The Villages
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I had a big sampler. It had a variety of different meats and BBQ. All of the food was nicely seasoned and cooked to perfection. The service was fast and friendly. The restraint was clean and inviting. My wife had baby back ribs and baked potato. She enjoyed it very much. My only complaint was that the corn on the cob was extremely overcooked. Overall an excellent dining experience that was reasonably priced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Don50alexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Don50alexandria, thank you for the great review. We're glad to hear that you and your wife enjoyed our BBQ. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you and your wife again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 136 of 172 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

I was a little leery since this is a chain, but our baby-back ribs were amazingly tender and flavorful. Meaty and fall-off-the-bone tasty, I was truly impressed. The baked sweet potato was extremely soft, almost like a custard consistency, which I had never experienced. With the cinnamon butter on the side, it was heavenly. The cornbread was also very good, while cole slaw was ok. The service was very friendly and personable. At $9.99 for lunch, this was a real bargain, but ASK for the senior discount specials and the same meal is $7.99! There wasn't any senior discount on the menu, but when we asked the server if there was one, he whipped out a small menu card from his pocket, so it pays to ask if you think you may qualify. I look forward to returning again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Transplant_Texan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Transplant_Texan, thank you for the great 5 star review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our baby back ribs and sides. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

always delicious, fun place, clean, lots of choices - reasonable price, a good choice to go and the pulled chicken is the best anywhere!

Thank PLH32162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

PLH32162, thank you for the great review! We're glad to hear that you're a fan of our pulled chicken. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The manager of the restaurant really made our visit special. How often have I said that?? Never. He seemed like he knew just about ever customer by name, came to the tables to talk & make jokes, he was really hilarious. Food and service also excellent.

Thank rebky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Rebky, thank you for the great 5 star review! We're glad to hear that you enjoy dining with use, specially when our manager provided exceptional service. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Very nice restaurant with good food and service.You can eat outside or inside. We ordered a special. 2 for $18. Enjoyed an appetizer and then a nice dinner. ill stop again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank budv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Budv, thank you for the great review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our BBQ and specials. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

 
The Villages, FL
The Villages, FL
 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing