We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We attend a fine dining experiment at Demshar's”
Review of Demshar's

Demshar's
Ranked #36 of 130 Restaurants in The Villages
Restaurant details
Reviewed September 3, 2017

Last Tuesday my wife and I and another long-time friend couple got a special pass to experience a true fine-dining experience in The Villages on the Spanish Springs main square. The Demshar's were testing the waters to see if a true fine-dining option was viable as a regular option. Well, by golly, I think they're onto something! We were asked to come in at least business casual dress to help to maintain a certain decorum. We entered the restaurant and were very cordially met by Mr. Demshar himself who led us to our table. No sooner had we sat down when we were met by Danny Connelly the executive chef and we started a very pleasant conversation regarding the four main entrees on the Prixe-Fixe ($30) menu for the evening. Danny came to Demshar's from the Mission Inn where he had been executive chef for 17 years. He highly recommended the Seafood Newburg...I think it was his creation as it was different than what I would have had in mind but truly excellent. The ribeye steak was done to perfection and the baked halibut was described as flaky and moist and "to die for"! The fourth entrée was a chicken dish which we did no opt for. For starters, however, we were pleasantly surprised with a green salad wrap...wrapped in thin length-wise slices of cucumber served with an almond raspberry vinaigrette dressing. Dessert was a favorite of mine, rum bread pudding with custard...absolutely delicious...but could have used a bit more custard to smooth out the forkfuls. A decent wine selection rounded out the evening at not exorbitant prices...we had a nice chardonnay for $24 for a bottle. During this whole experience background music was provided by a very talented lady violinist. Hope she's there when they do this again.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 165 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2017

We just wanted Pizza as we weren't very hungry. Was not impressed at all. I know they focus more on dinner than pizza, but you'd think they would make a decent one.
Our waiter Aaron was very nice and attentive (it was Wed. @ 4PM so not busy at all).
The pie is one size medium. About 12-14". When he brought it to us it fell off the stand as he cut it and they had to make another one. It happens no biggie. We managed to get 1 slice each from that one. It was raw, soft bottom. We had them make the next one crispier. It was cooked better but the sauce was horrible. Very spicy and thicker than normal. He and the manager came to chat since it was slow and they were so nice we didn't have the heart to tell them we hated it.
The menu sounds wonderful but it comes with no soup or salad, so a little overpriced.
Won't be back

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DebbieN167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile

4 great dinners for our party of 4!!!!
Seafood Newburg, Steak and Halibut were superb. Wives liked
the "dress-up" night idea in a very nice local TV restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Rolf2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

Went as a second choice since our first choice was unexpectedly closed. We were pleasantly surprised. The food was wonderful & not over priced. The prime rib was very good with great au jus. The waiter was great, he was pleasant and quick. We will definitely return.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank RJVB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017

We ordered the Prime Rib and the Filet Mignon. Both were cooked perfectly although the Prime Rib had a large chunk of fat that I thought could have been trimmed before cooking. But then, they would have lost a few ounces from what the order should have been. Veggies were cooked perfectly; dessert of crème brulee was excellent with such good raspberry sauce swirled on the plate. Our Server Angela was quite delightful and extremely attentive. The atmosphere was quiet & romantic, even though it was raining outside. I can hardly wait to take our friends here!

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Audrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Demshar's also viewed

 
The Villages, FL
 

Been to Demshar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing