We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Maypole

Maypole
Ranked #7 of 7 Restaurants in Tiptree
Price range: $1 - $1,305
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
colchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great selection although a little confusing, waitress helped us out, and offered the specials of the day, we had all 3 of them! fantastic food! amazing choices! would suggest to anyone!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank gareth j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    22
    6
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Our visit to the Maypole.”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Decided to take my wife out for a special occasion having been to the Maypole before i knew we would be well looked after. The food was delicious and beautifully presented ,the service was second to none and the atmosphere was really friendly. What a lovely couple Ken and Debbie are they even laid on a special Birthday surprise for my wife Carol. The Maypole is a little expensive but for that special occasion and a great dining experience this restaurant should be your first choice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the best of the best. best quality in food and service.”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

the best of the best. best quality in food and service.worth for visit. i am a over sea visitor from malaysia.i am impress to the chef talent. a lot of malaysia and chinese combination .i cannot believe i was in abroad at tiptree uk . hi all brother and sister please worth to go . you wont be disappointed. thank the chef kwan. created such a wonderful evening to me and my family

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank geekuon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiptree, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A gem in Tiptree”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I've eaten here several times. Ken and Debbie are always willing to tailor the menu to suit the occasion. I took a party of italians for their first taste of Chinese cuisine and we got a very nice light lunch which was a good introduction. The last time I went there is was for my regular 'girls night out'. Again a spread was laid on to suit our needs. My friends were very impressed by the quality and tastiness of the food and the friendly atmosphere. There is a really good choice of chinese beer to go with the food. A little pricey compared with the average chinese meal out, but this is far better than average, you get what you pay for!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiptree, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not just a Chinese a whole dining experience- Wonderful!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have been eating at the Maypole for 14 years and it never ceases to impress. The menu is varied and food is always super tasty and looks superb. We have found over the years that the best meals of all in this restaurant are eaten when you ask Ken the owner to surprise you. This we did on Saturday and had amazing scallops in their shells cooked just right with chilli and ginger. We also had a delightful sea bass which was lovely and various other dishes. Just tell Ken your preference and he will get his chef to cook you a delightful meal. We asked for savory rather than sweet and said we liked fish in particular.
The atmosphere in this family run restaurant is great and Ken himself cannot do enough to please. Everyone loves Ken and he is a real character. It is always a real pleasure to eat in the Maypole.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maypole also viewed

 

Been to Maypole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing