We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb place to stay”
Review of Huccombe House

Huccombe House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beesands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Huccombe House
Ranked #2 of 2 Beesands B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Martin and Shirley are superb hosts, food is teriffic, rooms are clean, good size, and the whole place is lovely and quiet - cant get a mobile signal here which makes it even quieter !!.
If your stoppping at the weekend we recommend pre-booking an evening meal at the cricket inn at beesands - good food and reasonably priced, restaurants/pubs in the area can get busy on friday and saturday nights.
Great base to explore the corner of devon and if you park at east portlemouth (free parking) you can get the foot ferry into Salcombe for a days mooching.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, two upstairs and one downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 23 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

Having seen the excellent reviews on here we decided to stay for 4 nights on our recent visit to Devon. As mentioned in the other reviews Shirley and Martin have converted the old school house into a luxury bed and breakfast, which was a pleasure to stay in.
Our room was very spacious (as are the two other rooms), with a good sized TV, tea and coffee facilities, plenty of draw and wardrobe space, a king sized bed which was probably the most comfortable bed we have slept in on holidays and a beautiful en-suite bathroom.
Breakfast, which was cooked to perfection, was excellent. There was a wide range to choose from to cater for all tastes.

Guests have use of the comfortable lounge area where you can gaze across the countryside through the large picture window whilst reading books about the local history of the area.

Beesands, which is approximately a 5 minute drive, is the closest place to eat on an evening. We went to both the Cricket Inn and Britannia @ The Beach (also known as The Shack) both being seafood specialists. The Shack was our favourite of the two as the food was superb.

Huccombe House rightly deserves its 5 star rating and we would love to return if we visit this area again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

What can I say this is Devon's secret of pure luxury, simply the best B&B I have ever stayed in, Martin and Shirley are the perfect hosts and made the stay just perfect. They could show a few 5 star hotels how to run such a business properly..... Danny Summers

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

South Devon and Huccomb House was a jewel find Martin and Shirley were most welcoming and we did not want to leave our room was fabulous the view we had was stunning. Shirley is a very good cook it was a real home from home cant wait to go back next July. Thank you Shirley and Martin see you in July with my father.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzanne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Huccombe House was an excellent find at short notice. Can't fault it. What a peaceful location with lovely views. The converted school is stunning, very well appointed and our bedroom was extremely comfortable, with a spacious en-suite. Shirley and Martin were very welcoming and patient when answering our questions. Shirley cooks an outstanding breakfast - who needs lunch ? We have been very tempted to keep it our secret as we will definately go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikegwb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

After having been refused by at least half a dozen B&B's in the region to get a room for one night only (Saturday), we found Huccombe House on the internet. 'One night only' was not a problem there. We arrived late afternoon and we instantly felt 'home' after the friendly welcome by Shirley and Martin. The interior of the converted old school is simply stunning and very tasteful. The size of the room was very generous and so was the bathroom and common lounge. Everything is of high standard and very clean. The view down a valley over fields with grazing sheep added to the 'country living' experience. Yes, we were kept awake for quite some time during the night because of a big thunderstorm which made us only more aware of how comfortable the beds were...
The host’s passion for their B&B also reflected on the breakfast, where a love for fresh food took the English / Continental breakfast to the next level (unless you prefer tinned fruit of course…). If you fancy a break in comfort and you have a love for the quiet countryside, this is the place to go. I'm sure we will find an excuse in the future to go back to Huccombe House! Great value for money. Thank you very much! Markus & Rebecca

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Beautiful accommodation in a peaceful setting, our ground floor room and en-suite bathroom was lovely. Shirley and Martin have done a brilliant conversion, taking B and B to an exceptional standard. Breakfast was very nice, just the right balance of everything.
Shirley and Martin make you very welcome, a brilliant find would love to keep it secret !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Huccombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huccombe House

Address: Huccombe | Kingsbridge, Beesands TQ7 2EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Beesands
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Beesands
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing