We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cricket Inn
Nearby Hotels
$393
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Soar Mill Cove Hotel(Malborough)
$231
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$279
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$337
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lantern Lodge(Hope Cove)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveler rating
234
56
12
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
234
56
12
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubseafood pancakesea viewfish and chipsoval roomcoastal walkingsouth west coastal pathwindow seatstart baysuperb locationshort breakgreat showernight breakcomfortable bedfollowing morningstayed for nightssouth hams
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 314 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Took some friends who were blown away. The food was fantastic and couldn't be faulted - the seafood pancake is still being talked about. The service and rapport with the staff was spot on which all added to great beer made for a great evening. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheProperJob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Went for a meal with friends who had been there before. It was the first time we had visited this establishment - but it certainly will NOT be the last!

The welcome was warm and we were quickly shown to our table with a breath-taking view of the sea. We ordered drinks which were quickly delivered. The Ale was extremely well kept and was swiftly dispatched! We ordered Bread & Olives to share which were well presented and delicious. Main course for me, and another party member, had to be their signature 'Seafood Pancake'. Which I have to say, was simply divine! The other two members of our group ordered Steak, which they assured me was equally as tasty. All four meals were well presented, including the side vegetables. For dessert, three of our party had 'Sticky Toffee Pud', and one had the 'Baked Alaska'. Again, all very well cooked and presented.

The location helps somewhat with this establishment, but it certainly does not detract from the excellent food quality, service and atmosphere.

Overall, a 'Simply Fantastic' experience - keep it up The Cricket Inn!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Right on the seafront, we had spectacular views of the sea from our room. All you'de expect from the pub B&B, the rooms were clean and more than spacious enough. The food was outstanding - I'd recommend the seafood pancake and the crab soup. Highly recommend, and right on the coastal path so great for walkers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisfsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at the Cricket Inn for 1 night at the beginning of July as we were attending a wedding close by. Friends booked for us (they stayed too) and having not had good experiences with B&B's in the past, I arrived with trepidation. First of all, the location is lovely (helped by good weather), secondly the room was lovely too, decent sized bed, plenty of storage and 'get ready' area's, the great view was the icing on the cake. Staff were friendly and helpful. I had called the previous day to ask if the room could be ready early or somewhere made available for me to get ready given that we had a 5 hour car journey prior to arriving, nothing was too much trouble, and our room was ready when we arrived (2 hours before check in time). Great little place, would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great pub / restaurant / guesthouse in perhaps the finest village in South Hams.
(I may be biased on the village - have been going there for 30 + yrs..)

We have stayed in the rooms previously - in a very well appointed family room. Excellent showers notably that accommodate those with girth to height disproportionatality (like me) and a homely feel to the place.

The food is great, pleasantly served and the seafood is FOR SURE local caught/sourced and fresh. A lot of the bass caught by rod and line off Start Point, as are the crabs and Lobsters in locally fished pots.

The pub is often lively and all are made to feel welcome. There are locals at the bar and if you sit and watch the local picture presentation on the screens, you will probably recognise some of those sat around the bar in their fishing glory days.

It's a little off the beaten path, down a time warp for sure - but it is well worth a visit.

The beach is about 10 yards from the pub with lots of outdoor seating, making it an ideal family venue.

Room Tip: The rooms are above a lively pub/restaurant - sometimes there are celebrations - if you like to take to your bed double early, this might not be the ideal place :-)
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_UK_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews