We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Britannia @ The Beach
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Beesands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $64
Cuisines: Seafood, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Britannia @ The Beach home of fantastically fresh local seafood - affectionately known as 'The Shack'. Here at The Shack we offer a combination of a traditional fishmonger, village stores and a unique rustic cafe.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

On a warm summers evening in July what could possibly be better than sitting looking out over the bay with a glass or two of wine, good company and great food? Answer is simply nothing! I've been meaning to try out this local treasure for some time and have to say I wasn't disappointed. Everything about the evening lived up to expectation, the food was great and the service also excellent. There is an extensive menu with several daily specials all of which were cooked to the standard we were led to expect. Forget all the reviewers who are only worried about toilet facilities, they're obviously missing the point of this gem of a place!! Everyone should eat here one.
One final note to the owners, please don't change a thing it's fabulous as it is!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    102
    12
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love it so much we keep going back”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We found this place open last year when we went to stay in a cottage in Beesands, and after having a few meals in The Cricket Inn where we were served average food by pretentious waiters and waitresses we decided we'd rather spend our money where we were made welcome.

Last year we ate there pretty much every night and the food was worth every penny and the warm welcome that we and our two dogs Hugo and Honey were given by Rhiannon and Dave was second to none. Imagine our disappointment this holiday when we found that the place has now become so popular that we only managed to get in twice - We will know for next time and book before we arrive.

We bought fresh scallops and prawns to cook ourselves and also took advantage of the Takeaway - excellent quality. We have no issues with taking our own wine or beer and we've been in much worse toilets than those public ones in Beesands.

We love this place, we will be back - in June next year! :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HoogsNBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Simply fabulous!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Visited Britannia twice - the first time we purchased fresh fish to cook ourselves (and it was stunning). The second time we stopped by for freshly cooked fish and chips. We planned to take away as there were no seats inside the beach shack - however Britannia is no ordinary restaurant!

This is truly romantic stuff, especially as we had hot sunshine, so whilst we waited for our food to be cooked we sat at one of the tables over the road by the sea. To our surprise the chef reached his head out of the window and asked would we like our food on a plate if we were sitting there. Yes we would! Around us were several 'diners' all ordering from the menu, bring your own wine and they'll open it for you too.

So sitting in surroundings that wouldn't be out of place on a hot holiday island somewhere we then ate fabulous fish and chips - cod for me and my partner had scampi.

Can't recommend this place enough - a dream way to end our holiday!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoF-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Maybe I expected too much.”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stopped here for a light lunch, just because we saw the good reviews on here. The setting is lovely, but we were a bit dissapointed with the food. We only had a pre-packed crab sandwich that cost £5.95, fish and chips and cheesy chips. I think I was most gutted that the chips were just your usual frozen ones. Lovely place though and if you go, if they have tea and home-made cakes in the church next door...don't miss it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A real surprise”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a fabulous surprise!! From the outside you wouldn't expect to get the quality of food and service that you get. As a non seafood eater you could be forgiven for thinking this place isn't for you - but you'd be mistaken. Dave's knowledge, enthusiasm and cooking skills changed my view. The location is unique; even if there are no available tables in the restaurant they will provide the same service at the picnic tables by the sea wall. By being a BYO means a great meal is affordable at any time. We visited 3 times in our 2 week holiday and could happily have gone more. No doubt assisted by great weather we had some memorable meals courtesy of the Britannia!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JDYork1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Britannia @ The Beach also viewed

 

Been to Britannia @ The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing