We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cricket Inn

The Cricket Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Beesands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A village gastropub specialising in fresh, local seafood.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely! ”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch here to celebrate my mum's birthday and it was lovely. There is a good range of dishes including a lot of fish, all beautifully presented and very tasty.The waiting staff were very friendly and welcoming. The pub is much nicer inside than the exterior might suggest, in a pretty little hamlet of old fishermen's cottages overlooking the sea. It's within easy walking distance of Torcross along the coastal path, taking about half an hour but accessed by road if preferred. Would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Countrybumpkin94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    145
    45
    36
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Lunch time by the sea”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Beesands is a unique small fishing village built along the beach, prtoected by a massive seawall. The Inn has been here for over 150 years, and it is now a very good restaurant serving attractive food at reasonable prices. We had the seafood pancake and it was delicious. Very busy at lunhtime even though it was mid November. Staff were attentive too!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davidlowe46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Excellent Food , great atmosphere , good service , perfect in everyway , highly recomended , will visit again .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Cod and Chips for ages.”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great restaurant and pub right on the sea front. Great decor and friendly staff. We were holidaying in the area and loved this place. I had the cod, mushy peas and chips - the fish was huge and so light in its gorgeous batter. The best fish and chips I have had for ages. Others in our group enjoyed the chicken liguinne and the chicken burgers. The desert chocolate fondant was outstanding. A thoroughly good meal. When in the area next we would return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bubble646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and good service”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Really enjoyed a celebratory lunch here. Scallops were really good but pudding was a real joy! Baked Alaska to die for and panna cotta with an amazing strawberry sorbet. Good wine and beautiful views.
Kids cheeseburger was a bit disappointing as not homemade and average at best but perhaps we chose poorly.
Initially best table for us seemed to be reserved (4 month old in a carry cot) but it was made available. Pleasantly surprised to find baby changing facilities too.
Would definitely return and would have no hesitation recommending.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cricket Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Cricket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing