We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Beesands, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alice P
1 review
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed June 9, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a wonderful holiday at Lower Widdicombe Farm. The house is beautiful, comfortable and very spacious. Everything works and is good quality and it felt like a real treat. We were a group of fourteen and the weather wasn't great, so there were a lot of kids and dogs inside, but it never felt overcrowded or claustrophobic. The huge kitchen with the wood burning stove was a great place to hang out and the games room was a godsend. The area is really nice - we walked to the beach for fish and chips and a trip to the pub - which was amazing to have right on the doorstep. We will definitely be coming back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2016
Thank you for your feedback. Sounds like you really made the most of Lower Widdicombe Farm and we will most certainly look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexjanze...
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect location for family and friends in Devon”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was a stunning location and a beautiful house for our large family getaway. It has only just been completed and so everything was in immaculate condition. It was perfect for us as a large group and the huge kitchen dining area was ideal for large family meals and the games room was a real hit with the children. We did several walks from the farm itself, just a few minutes on foot to the beach, and it was only a very short trip into Salcombe. We will definitely be going back!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: An exceptional house in an exceptional location
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2016
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hodgkissl...
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautifully restored farmhouse in stunning location - a gem!”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Lucky enough to be one of the first groups to stay at this fabulous newly restored farmhouse. Beautiful rural/coastal location, yet easily found. Large house but felt really comfortable & cosy. Sympathetically modernized with top quality fixtures & fittings (check out the digital shower settings!!). Extra comfy beds. Suppers in very large modern kitchen/dining room, with all mod cons - shame it was too warm to light woodburner. Breakfasted on the terrace overlooking garden. Fab games room but weather too good to stay inside for long! Lovely coastal area, took short walk across fields to pebbly beach at Beesands & the amazing Britannia @ the Beach fish shack (takeaway or eat in) best fish meal ever, but WARNING - the portions are seriously large! Also walked stretch of coastal footpath. All in all, couldn't fault it & wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend to family & friends.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2016
Thank you for your enthusiastic feedback. We are pleased you had such a memorable stay at Lower Widdicombe Farm, your recommendation is the best we could ask for.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh H
1 review
“A must visit in South Devon for a truly unique holiday”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I stayed with my husband, 2 kids and dog plus 2 other families. Easily accommodated all of us with the bedrooms and bathrooms spread over two floors. Beautiful kitchen with dining area and all mod cons. The games room was well used by all the children and a great boot room for dog bowls, wellies, coats and general dumping ground after a day out walking.

Large garden for the children to play in plus the added bonus of being able to walk to the beach.

The owner has clearly spent a lot of time and effort in getting this property just right for larger groups holidaying together.

Can't wait to go back!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2016
Many thanks for your feedback, we are pleased to hear Lower Widdicombe Farm met your families needs so well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneB112...
1 review
“Beautifully furnished farmhouse with a 15-20 minute gentle walk through private lanes and over farmland to the beach.”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Highly recommended! Absolutely loved it!

Everything we could hope for and more for a group of 10 of us. The 2 children loved the games room. State of the art kitchen equipment made the mass catering easy and we all enjoyed a glass or two on the large terrace.

The dogs slept happily in their travel kennels in the utility room and loved the coastal walks.

We all slept like logs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2016
Thank you for your feedback. Sounds like you really made the most of Lower Widdicombe Farm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwicksh...
Warwickshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful House, Great location, Lovely walks.”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My family all booked this beautiful house for a family get together. It was perfect. We all loved the house. It has has obviously been designed with family in mind with the large kitchen and great games room which my children loved. Every detail has been thought of and no expense spared.It was a treat to stay in. We will definitely be back. Good luck with your summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen and games room.
Liked least: On some days, the weather!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2016
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It sounds like Lower Widdicombe Farm suited your families needs. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarahlait...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely stunning inside and out”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We found this fabulous farmhouse that really does cater for all. Loved the old features mixed with new. The furniture was lovingly positioned makes this farmhouse feel homely and inviting, yet it is spacious and light. We had young children and they enjoyed crawling and walking inside and out. The view from the terrace is spectacular, rolling hills of Devon and sea!! Such a treat! We cant wait to return. So many happy memories made here. Plenty of bathrooms too. each one clean and modern. The shower heads have different settings which was great!
We walked through the countryside to the beach...found it all so relaxing. Would highly recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2016
Many thanks for your kind feedback. We are delighted to hear that your stay at Lower Widdicombe Farm was such a special one.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing