We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like wine WITH my meal”
Review of The Millbrook Inn

The Millbrook Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in South Pool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $70
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Millbrook Inn – gloriously situated in the charming village of South Pool, Devon. A place to discover and enjoy great, honest cooking in an atmosphere that celebrates why villages need pubs and pubs need villages. Take a look around and see what makes the Millbrook Inn one of the most popular dining and social destinations in the area.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have eaten several times before and the food is generally good. After an absence of a year the prices have risen. We ordered our wine at the same time as the food we ended up receiving it just as we finished the main course, despite asking for it three times. All very polite and we were not charged for the drinks......but glugging the wine with no food.....can do that in a wine bar. I think my postage stamp of fish was brill, it probably measured 8x6x2cm...at £19 it was a bit steep especially as it was a tad overcooked. The bed of rice was by contrast delicious. The confit duck was fine tho lacked much else. We did not risk staying for the pudding....put off by the potential wait. The 'pub' seems to be a victim of it's own popularity

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martine4822014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

249 - 253 of 391 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

We'd read about the pub in a brochure and thought it sounded nice. It looks and is a very busy pub in the centre of the village, there was an outdoor seating area, and the back of the pub ran alongside a stream, where lots of children were enjoying splashing about. The food was interesting, our first choice had just sold out then, we found out that one of our second choices was unavailable, so a quick re think found me having to have crab. My husband went for the ham hock, whilst eating it he kept asking me if it was a snack or a main course.
Reservations can be made, the table next to us had not only made reservations for a table but also four Sunday roast. They only thing they got was the reserved table. So be aware when reserving, they have no problem giving it to someone else.
Staff were friendly, very overwhelmed but it was busy.

Thank Dipsey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Made special trip to this pub and was not disappointed. High quality no nonsense pub food. We had plates of fresh fish, salad and summer veg. Superb puddings. Lovely glass of cider too. Staff friendly and accommodating. We sat outside in the sun with our dog and the inside of the pub looked great for a cosy evening meal. Prices I'd say we're very fair. We had great food and paid a reasonable price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Rude staff!! Nearly made one of our guest cry! Would suggest if you want good service AVOID this pub! We decided not to eat here limited menu choice and the owner/chef shouting at us he would only make half his turn over if we chose the cheaper menu! Awful service!!

Thank iklepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiggeronoverdrive, Owner at The Millbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

There are obviously two sides to this story. These guests actually chose to sit inside to have the kitchen menu rather than the BBQ. That night we were fully booked with this table taking up pretty much a quarter of our dining space and a waiting list of 14 people, so for them to change their minds and decide that some of them would suddenly like the BBQ outside was frustrating to say the least. We tried to explain why this was upsetting but sometimes people listen and don't hear. They were replaced quickly by a very appreciative family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

This pub/restaurant epitomises the phrase "you get what you pay for".
Great steaks, good wine list, friendly service.
All locally sourced produce.

I heartily recommend this place. Not the cheapest, but if you want cheap 'two for one' grub then find a chain pub.

Long may the Millbrook thrive.

Thank dwebb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Millbrook Inn also viewed

Kingsbridge, Devon
Kingsbridge, Devon

Been to The Millbrook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing