We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it was great”

The Limestone Heritage Park & Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.14*
and up
Maltese Folklore Show and Dinner
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Siggiewi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“it was great”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

we had a lovely time here it was so very intresting and facinating, to see how things had changed over the years regarding stonework, we really enjoyed it and the gardens and all the animals are all very well looked after, after our tour around we had coffee and cake in the lovely cafe. We would highly recomend it and it's for all ages to enjoy. well worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    41
    15
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Malta
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very professionally done presentation and tour”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Informative account of the history of the quarrying and use of limestone in Malta. Location is within an old quarry and there is an excellent professionally developed audio-headset tour. Combine a visit here with one to The Falconry Center which is just around the corner....together a 1/2 day outing. Proper restaurant and giftshop

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank iMacAdamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skewen, UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“History of Limestone Quarrying fully wheelchair accesible”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is a good learning experience of the history of how the limestone building blocks were quarried by hand and up to the present time with mechanized aids. The tour starts with an audiovisual show of this history and then there is a walk around the exhibits which are based in the actual quarry, for this part we had headphones to guide us around the exhibits. I would say that it would have been better to have been able to stop and start the audio to go at our own speed. There is also a garden with some animals and peacocks which would appeal to the children. Part of the walkway is covered to protect against the sun in summer or the rain in winter, so this is a good place to visit when the weather is not very good. There is a small car park so that was great for us with the mobility scooter but beware if you come to this place on a tour as the large coaches have to park on the road and the entrance is down a steep lane, however mini-bus tours are able to go down to the entrance. There is also a small cafe serving drinks and snacks.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Llewsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“LimestoneHeritage”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

A very interesting experience although the directions were a bit lacking; made more difficult as due to a very serious accident our bus had to take an unscheduled route and we were left to find our own way to the centre. Most interesting and well put together exhibits, opening film helped and, as others have commented, we had the place to ourselves until a school party arrived just as we were leaving. Staff very helpful and friendly. Definitely on our list for next Malta visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An interesting learning site”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

The place is nice, attractive & relaxing. Interesting for a family and school outing.
To start with there is an audiovisual show about the history of the maltese stone. Then you take the walk through the site which is interesting to learn about. There is also a petting farm which in my opinion interests a lot children. Part of the site is dedicated to old machinery.
The staff are friendly and welcoming.
There is also a souvenir shop where one can buy handmade items.
Would recommend especially the dinner shows they organize diring the summer period.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MarKar_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Limestone Heritage Park & Gardens also viewed

Siggiewi, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 

Been to The Limestone Heritage Park & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing