We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant presentation of Malta's History in Story, Song and Dance”

Malta Nights Extravaganza
Ranked #5 of 7 things to do in Siggiewi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An unforgettable experience of a unique Maltese folklore show and dinner, giving eager audiences a glimpse of Malta through the ages, as this tiny but significant Island of ours journeys from the prehistoric to present times… with special emphasis on one of the greatest chapters in Maltese history … the Knights of St. John and the Great Siege, when a small garrison of the famous Knights of St. John together with our heroic Maltese defenders managed to defeat the mighty Ottoman Empire. A talented cast of dancers and entertainers dressed in rich medieval costumes and shining armour together with our magnificent horses, will entertain, excite and amuse you during two hours of non-stop action, song and dance. Witness a colourful fusion of tribal music, folk dancing, carnival, fire dancers, knights on horseback, live battles and much more highlighting Maltese culture, traditions and folk.
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Brilliant presentation of Malta's History in Story, Song and Dance”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Full price, this is somewhat expensive but the offer price, made to us, was far more realistic. The recently constructed venue near the Airport gives a good impression as you arrive and processing your party on entry is swift with the opportunity of a reasonably priced professional photograph with cast members before the show. The presentation takes place in an enclosed arena around which the audience is seated. The food and drink, which was plentiful and good, is served to you while you watch the show. The actors, actresses and dancers were competent and very enthusiastic. The only restriction on photos and videos is at the entry. Photos and video during the performance are encouraged.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steambuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    6
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aland Island, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good entertainment and performance”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

An evening entertainment experience at the newly built Montekristo Estate.
Evening starts with pick up at your hotel 18-19 o'clock and you'll be transported to the Montekristo Estate close to the airport. There you will enjoy a nice dinnershow with music, dancing and acting. Horses take part in the performance as well. For very little children it´s maybe not suitable since there is some shooting with guns and cannons in battle scenes.

The food... quite OK but it takes them some time to serve it so don't expect steaming hot food. First we were served a rice dish which was a bit dry. After that the main course was rosemary chicken and a maltese style meatball (big) and a little potatowedges and other vegetables. The chicken was very tasty and meatball OK. Could have been a bit larger portions. To this you can choose from white or red wine, softdrinks or water... which are served freely. For dessert it was some kind of applepie.

It is quite narrow space between seat and "table" and it's not very comfy if your´re larger in size. It can also be a bit chily in the arena if you visit in vinter (dec - mar).

After the show you will be transported back to your hotel.
All in all a quite nice evening.

Children under 12 are free! :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AlandIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Knighted by the GrandMaster”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a wonderful night of entertainment. The food was fabulous and the wine was mediocre. It was an all inclusive price and that value was very good, our price included transport to and from the venue to our hotel. I attended with other people I had met at the hotel, this made the night a lot more fun. I do recommend this show to anybody who enjoys live theater. The main singer had a very angelic voice, she held the show together seamlessly. Wonderful.
Thanks
Brian A FAgan

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravellingBrianF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My family loved it”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I took my two kids (ages 6 and 11) to the show and we all loved it. The staff were amazing, taking pictures with my kids before the show, as well as interacting with them during the show. We all loved the ambience of the arena, with all the seats looking onto the stage. It was impressive.
I'm not sure why anyone would complain about the price, at 48 euro I thought we got great value. Having a family with two kids, my husband and I have spent a fortune on our holiday and everything adds up.....drinks, transport, entertainment for the kids, etc. etc. We spent more for a mediocre meal at the hotel than we did to have this fabulous night of entertainment. Some people can be so hard to please, but I guess that is their problem to deal with. We, on the other hand, were very pleased with the show and all the work they put into creating this exciting experience. The food was wonderful. There was a dish of baked rice with meat and sauce, which we all loved. Then we had rolls of beef that were stuffed and baked in sauce, then served with potatoes, veg, and bread. Afterwards, there was a big piece of apple crumble cake. Again, this food was better than the food that cost us a fortune at our 4 star hotel!
Afterwards, we didn't need to fuss about transport, because the coach was waiting to take us back to the hotel. I think this show was a highlight of the holiday for my kids, and I loved seeing the smiles on their faces. If you just relax and enjoy the experience, then you will have a great time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved the fire dancer!!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

My family and I visited the show this year and had a wonderful time! Included in the price of the tickets you get: transportation from your hotel, the show, a fabulous meal, and drinks. Being part of a large family, we were relieved to get this fabulous package all in one low price.
When you arrive at the venue, you walk through a huge old-fashioned estate and see a large reception hall. There are costumed actors greeting the guests. The atmosphere is very nice. Then you can have a drink and take photos with the actors before going into the dining hall/theatre...which is set up like a medieval arena. All the decor is themed like in medieval times. You really feel like you took a step back in time!
While we were waiting for all the guests to be seated, the entertainers came out to interact with the guests, and there was an amazing fire dance done by one of the dancers who did an acrobatic performance using balls of fire! It was a great start to the show. The show itself was really entertaining, and you learn about Maltese history in a fun way. There are dramatic battle scenes, funny parts, and also romantic scenes, so there is something to entertain everyone. During the show, they serve the food to you so that you can eat while watching the show. There is plenty of food, with multiple courses, and the food is very good. The night we were there, the menu was full of typical Maltese food: the portions were generous and the dishes were delicious. Then you get dessert, my favorite part! All in all, we had a wonderful time and found the staff at the venue to be amazing. We even saw another family that we had met earlier that week on another excursion, so we had a fun reunion and we all had a wonderful time together. We would definitely recommend this experience to anyone who is visiting Malta (or even the locals would enjoy it!)

Helpful?
2 Thank Islandgirl0000001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malta Nights Extravaganza also viewed

 
Siggiewi, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Malta Nights Extravaganza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing