We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drezzo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cascina Rodiani - Green Hospitality
Ranked #1 of 1 Drezzo B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Cascina Rodiani is a truly special place to stay - high up in the hills above Como in a lovely, peaceful location. The house has undergone several years of renovation and is stunning. The rooms are large and spacious and spotlessly clean, furnished with antiques and reclaimed materials to wonderful effect. We had the family suite - the master had a beautiful view over the valley - first thing in the morning it was often shrouded in mist but every day it had cleared by the time we'd had breakfast. The beds were the most comfortable we can remember sleeping in away from home and it was so quiet and peaceful. Breakfast was delicious featuring home-grown and local produce and whatever is in season - freshly pressed juice, breads, eggs, cold meats and cheese and sublime fruity pancakes for a treat! We ate in the dining room by a roaring fire on all but one morning (well it was November so we did well to eat out on even one morning!) Samuel and Mimma are the most gracious hosts - they could not be more welcoming or helpful. We had a delicious home-cooked meal at the Cascina on one evening and they recommended and reserved places for us the other evenings. We will long remember the Chocolate tasting menu - a truly different way to spend Hallowe'en! In terms of location we loved it - the lakes are beautiful but busy even at this time of year so it was lovely to be away from all of that and yet within a short drive of Como and Lugano and all they have to offer. Only an hour form the airport too so a very accessible short break from the UK. Highly recommended and looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CascinaRodiani, Direttore at Cascina Rodiani - Green Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for your great review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our Cascina and we are pleased that we were able to make your stay special. We are especially proud of being able to offer our guests our own products and the best of locally produced organic foods and were delighted to see that you enjoyed them. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon. Regards, Samuel and Mimma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 74 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

Cascia Rodiana is a perfect place for people who enjoy peace, hiking, good food and have appreciation for old houses, interest in renovating one and respect for environment and ecological attitude. The owners make your stay excellent, they are full of knowledge and true fans of the ecological lifestyle. The rooms are great and mine had a huge fireplace area which was perfect for reading. Como is 3 hours walk away and you can get there by walking through a huge park. There are great restaurants around (ask the owners for reocmmendations) and a visit to the nearby sanctuary is a must. But of nothing else, just sit outside, drink local wine and eat local cheese and admire the view of the villages below and the snow-capped mountains in the distance. This was one of the best short-holidays I have had.

Room Tip: They are all different so it is hard to give any recommendations. I liked my room in the oldest part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CascinaRodiani, Direttore at Cascina Rodiani - Green Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

We are delighted that you had such a good short break with us at Cascina Rodiani. The room that you stayed in with the huge fireplace is the oldest part of the Cascina and was originally the kitchen. We also think it's the perfect place to sit and read, think or dream!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We looked for a unique and authentic northern Italy and I'm so glad we found this place on a recommendation, it is an ancient mansion last conservation and green revolution is within minutes from the border of Switzerland Italy soaking in a breathtaking green.
Very nice room with a wooden ceiling and wooden windows, parquet floor in very meticulous and spacious shower-equipped, high quality linens, plenty of towels and organic soaps.
Breakfast is very basic yet homely with quality ingredients.
Samuel Our host was so kind and nice and helped us later in the trip planning with helpful tips and was very welcoming and accommodating for all of our names.
I find it a unique and beautiful place for those looking for some peace and unique experience..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eyal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CascinaRodiani, Direttore at Cascina Rodiani - Green Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for your kind review and we are glad you found Cascina Rodiani to your liking. We hope to see you again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in early May. Samuel is a fantastic host, full of local information. It is a stone's throw from Como yet you are away from the hussle and bustle of the city. The bed is really comfortable and rooms have been beautifully restored with great attention to detail. Excellent restaurants a short drive away. Breakfast is served on the terrace and is delicious. It is a perfect base for Como, Lugano and the mountains inbetween. Highly recommended and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HedonisticHiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CascinaRodiani, Direttore at Cascina Rodiani - Green Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted that you had such a good stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future and be able to share new local treats with you. Best, Samuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

beautifully, sensitively restored building perched above local town with spectacular views - charming, peaceful, friendly owner. the perfect B&B.

we only stayed one night but would recommend staying for a few peaceful days

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CascinaRodiani, Direttore at Cascina Rodiani - Green Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you for your praise of our B&B. Tonight, after a windy and cluody day, a full moon appeared in anticipation of the summer which is not yet arrived.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed for 5 days travelling with our one year old son. As mentioned in previous reviews, Cascina Rodiani is truly a treat. We enjoyed every minutes. The location is great, close to Lugano and Como. The hosts are extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are romantic, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is fresh and delicious. On the first day, we asked the host if he could prepare a simple dinner for us. It turned out to be one of the best homemade dinner we had in the trip. The tomato from their gardens was simply the best I had for a long time. The dinner was served at the terrace in front of our room, candlelight, superb views, it's just perfect! We're so glad we found this place, and only wish we could go back there soon!

Room Tip: We had the family suite, which is upstairs on the first floor. It is the nicest room over all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank You_Ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CascinaRodiani, Direttore at Cascina Rodiani - Green Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

We are very happy to offer our guests - expecially the ones coming from very far - local and home made appetizers, cheese, cold meats, salad, bread & wine, the ingredients depending on the season and on what we have in the kitchen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst we were visiting our son at the university in Mendrisio. The house itself is beautiful. Tastefully restored with wonderful attention to detail. The location is fantastic too - far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the nearby towns but with very easy access to Mendrisio, Como and Lugano.
Breakfast was a delight. Eaten on the terrace overlooking the countryside that surrounds the house. Almost everything we ate was homemade and delicious!
It was a pleasure to stay in such a lovely place and given that our son will be in the area for a while, we will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kimhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CascinaRodiani, Direttore at Cascina Rodiani - Green Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

We enjoy having our guests back for a further visit. Their comments allways inspire us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cascina Rodiani - Green Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascina Rodiani - Green Hospitality

Address: Via Parco Solare 251 | Colverde, fraz. Drezzo, 22041 Drezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Como > Drezzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Drezzo
Price Range: $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cascina Rodiani is a colonial house of the late 1600's, situated on the hills of Parco Spina Verde of Como. The building has been recently renovated to provide five rooms, a dining room in the old stable and a multipurpose room in the old barn. All the activities at the Cascina follow the principles of sustainable tourism and have a low impact on the environment. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing