We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch”
Review of The Falcon House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in How Caple
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Falcon House
Ranked #1 of 2 How Caple B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here with our labrador for one night and it was superb.

We prefer B&Bs to hotels so feel we have good experience to judge our stay and this was comfortably the best B&B experience we've ever stayed in.

The host met us at our car and carried our bags to the room. Room was spot on, very clean with excellent and extensive facilities and a huge super king bed. The grounds were very well kept and the smallholding puts this B&B in a beautiful setting.

After an excellent nights sleep, we had a superb breakfast which was hosted superbly by the family.

No downsides, a wonderful B&B which tops our list by a country mile. Thanks guys!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saintcountryboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
20
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Just had a fantastic 3 days at The Falcon House. The accomodation was spotless, the hosts were fantastic - couldn't do enough, and the breakfasts were wonderful. Set in a beautiful location with a wealth of animals and wildlife on the doorstep. The owls were an absolute wonder. Perfect for us and and our 12 year old son - who didn't want to leave! - We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great weekend stay at this fabulous B&B while we attended a wedding in the area.

Delicious breakfast; tidy and modern rooms; and brilliant friendly service from all the hosts. Loved meeting the owls (thanks Nathan!) and the other barnyard animals. Also very much appreciated Peter giving us a lift back to where we had left our car the night before - at the wedding venue - to save us the taxi fare.

Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Campbell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I have just stay at the falcon for five night and had a very enjoyable stay. The rooms were smart and very clean, the breakfast was of the highest standard. The owners were a joy to speak to. Anyone who stays here will be very pleased with there choice they made. The Prices were brilliant value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 891carolep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just the best. Barbara, Peter and Nathan welcomed us with open arms. The place has everything from beautiful rooms to contemporary stain glass, to chickens, owls and dogs, to a great breakfast. The location is great for walking the Wye Valley, and exploring the delights of Herefordshire. If your in need of a B&B this is the place to rest your head and expand your mind.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olson40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have just returned from spending two nights at the most wonderful B&B! All the family were very welcoming with nothing being too much trouble for their guests. As we were travelling with a small group it meant that we could see 4 of the 6 rooms available - all were to a high standard of presentation and cleanliness. The new extension (completed earlier in 2013) compliments the original building, with the new dining room proving to be a fabulous addition. Breakfast was very satisfying with a good range of quality food including traditional English Breakfast (using fresh eggs from their own chickens). The outside area also adds to the experience including a range of animals; watching the owls being fed was a real bonus for an already-excellent experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhoenixDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed at the Falcon House for a week while on business nearby. From being met by Nathan until I left the stay was excellent. All there were very friendly and more than happy to stop for a chat. Breakfast was very good and of the highest quality and prepared me for a full day of work. The room was in the new extension and was very comfortable and clean. Outside with the assorted chickens, sheep, owls, dogs and cats made for a lovely atmosphere with beautiful scenery all around. For a relaxing weeks stay in a beautiful area of the world it was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near How Caple
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
5.1 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
7.5 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#1 of 12 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Greenman
The Greenman
#1 of 2 in Fownhope
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bowens Bed and Breakfast
Bowens Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Fownhope
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Bridge House
The Bridge House
#3 of 41 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falcon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falcon House

Property: The Falcon House
Address: The Falcon House B4224 | How Caple, How Caple HR1 4TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > How Caple
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in How Caple
Hotel Class:4 star — The Falcon House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falcon House The Falcon House is an 18th Century, Grade II listed, Georgian Farm House. Our 6 letting rooms are in the converted granary, attached to the rear of the main house. The house is set in 2.5 Acres of the beautiful Wye Valley, an area of outstanding natural beauty. The Malvern Hills, Forest of Dean, Symonds Yat, The Black Mountains and the Welsh Borders are all within easy reach. The market towns of Ross on Wye and Ledbury are only a few miles away and the historic City of Hereford is only 8 miles. The 6 guest rooms have a separate entrance at the rear of the property where there is ample off-road parking. There are 2 ground floor and 4 first floor rooms, all with en-suite shower rooms, TV, Wi-Fi internet access and tea/coffee making facilities. There is a fridge for the use of guests and fresh milk is available for tea and coffee. PLEASE NOTE: Our payment methods are: Cash, Cheque or Bank Transfer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing