We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly pub within easy reach of Salcombe”
Review of The Old Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Malborough B&B and Inns
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very friendly pub within easy reach of Salcombe”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights in the village at a local wedding . The staff were lovely so helpful had a cosy dinner (mussels followed the next morning by a hearty breakfast and more pre wedding drinks . Thanks so much for looking after us we ll be back !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jontyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    8
    5
    0
    5
See reviews for
13
22
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This place was fantastic in every respect. The staff and the locals were very friendly and hospitable. Food there is delicious and of a very high standard. I would highly recommend this place and it is central to all the beaches, Salcombe, Torcross and Bantam and Kingsbridge to name a few. Brilliant long weekend away.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaveenP39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WATERSIDEVIEWS, Owner at The Old Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks for such a positive review, it makes all our hard work worth while. Both Sophie, & myself look forward to seeing you again in July.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Just one night stay as attending wedding reception in Salcombe. The ladies who looked after us were very nice and friendly, our room was lovely, we had a shared bathroom but I think we were the only ones to stay there that night so we had the bathroom to ourselves. We were unfortunate to be woken up early morning by workmen doing some demolition work downstairs (didn't help our stinking hangovers) but we were offered free breakfast as compensation and it was really lovely. We were given direction to a lovely seaside spot, about 2 miles from the Inn and we had a lovely afternoon there. Overall, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shabtique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Old Inn. The landlady was very warm and welcoming. The en-suite room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable and had everything you could ask for. We did not eat at the inn in the evening as we had other plans but we did have a few drinks at the bar later. I was bit worried that it would be noisy staying above a pub but I hardly heard a thing from downstairs. Breakfast on a Sunday is not served until 9.30am which was actually fine by me as it meant I had lie-in but if I had the kids with me we might have had to eat elsewhere. The breakfast menu is massive and well worth the £5 charge. I asked for an extra slice of toast and was presented with a whole plate full of toast and preserves, very friendly service above and beyond expectations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gail_h_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, Derbyshire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We went whilst on holiday. There were 4 Adults & 3 Kids. The Staff were very friendly, food was excellent. The atmosphere was great. (There was one chap with a fantastic laugh.) We would highly recommend it. The pool table was fun to.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank StephenToplis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The Old Inn is conveniently placed on the main road from Salcombe to Kingsbridge, and if you don't have a car the bus stop is literally on your doorstep. This is very a useful way of getting into the pretty seaside village of Salcombe, where parking is impossible and overpriced.

There is a small supermarket nearby if you need to get anything. The owner and her staff are all very friendly, nice people, the breakfast is hearty and the rooms are clean and tidy. They also serve a nice pint of real ale.

I would not give it 5/5 though for two reasons:

Noise. As a working pub, it was quite noisy after 10.30pm. I guess I should have expected this, but having the jukebox playing rock music with only 2-3 people in there seemed a little unusual. It may well keep some travellers awake.

Timings. The breakfast also starts at 9.30am, which is very late if you want to get up and go walking early in the lovely countryside nearby. Even 8.30am-10.30am would at least allow hikers to be 'out the door' by 9am. Check-in time is also 4.30pm, which again, seems a little late on paper. The landlady reminded me of this time on our arrival when we turned up at 1.30pm. I had no idea it was 4.30pm and we had been on the road since 5am involving family lifts, trains and a flight from Belfast. The landlady let us put our bags in the room early, but as first impressions go, I could not help feeling that it was not exactly a warm welcome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCraftyLeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

When we stayed at the Old Inn, for us it was very much just a bed for the night, as we had plans with family in the evening. We had a very friendly welcome when we checked in, and Rob showed us how to get in, should we get back after the pub had closed.
We both had a very comfortable night's sleep - I slept under the softest duvet I've probably ever encountered, it was wonderful! A good hot shower in the morning and a cup of coffee from the in-room facilities meant I was ready for the day. We went downstairs to the bar to check out, and the landlady Jo offered us a cup of tea or coffee, which we gladly accepted. We had already decided not to have the full English breakfast, but she then offered us a bacon sandwich each, which we couldn't resist. 5 minutes later, 2 sandwiches appeared, piled high with fantastic tasty bacon.
After our breakfast, we settled up and checked out. I was very impressed with the Old Inn, and will gladly go back there again for the next family get-together!

Room Tip: There are three rooms, only one is en-suite - this is the one we stayed in. The other two have priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malborough
2.0 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
763 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
838 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
409 reviews
2.8 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Inn

Property: The Old Inn
Address: Higher Town, Malborough, Salcombe TQ7 3RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Malborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Malborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Old Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing