We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class Pub Grub”
Review of The Old Inn

The Old Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Malborough
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“First Class Pub Grub”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Although this pub is not much to look at from the outside, we were rewarded by venturing inside to find an extremely warm welcome. Our table for two would be available 15 minutes after we arrived, so we decided to have a quick game of darts. A chap at the bar came over with his iPad which had an app to work out our scores for us!

After ordering at the bar, and enjoying a lovely pint of "Jail Ale", we were shown to our table. Fish and chips for me, and rump of lamb for my wife. Two better meals we could not have had. It was fantastic - possibly the best battered haddock I have ever had. Light batter, meaty tasty fish - superb! We heard diners at an adjacent table raving about the dessert they had just eaten. Unfortunately we were so full, we did not have room for a pud.

The quality of the food was also matched by the service we received. Friendly, courteous, swift and attentive. And at less than £15 a head an absolute bargain too.

We enjoyed it so much, we are going back in a couple of days, and this time will try to leave space for a pudding!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stagman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    21
    7
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LEIGHTON BUZZARD
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“very good food”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

had evening meal here which was excellent. they were booked but as some guests were late arriving fitted us in there & then. very reasonable as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mickleightonbuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service! Great for families!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We recently went on holiday and stayed in Marlborough. We have 2 young children (aged 1yr and 3yrs) We visited the Old Inn twice and on both occassions, the staff couldnt have been more helpful or freindly - even putting CBeebies on for our tired two! We really appreciated it as dining out with small children is often a dreaded prospect. The food was also lovely! Thanks very much to you all. We look forward to returning! Perfect Village pub atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rjdarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food and drink”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The food and drinks served in this pub are very good, we ate here twice on a unseasonably cold week long break in Malborough at the end of March. The bar and restaurant areas are distinct but well integrated, giving for a good all round atmosphere and a warm friendly welcome. The service was prompt and attentive. Our favourite beer was Jail Ale from Dartmoor which was very well kept.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dit99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WATERSIDEVIEWS, Owner at The Old Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to review The Old Inn. It always gives us a boost when we receive such great comments. My daughter is solely responsible for the great quality of the beer, so I will pass on your remarks. Regards Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
187 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Friendly Staff, great food :) close to petrol station where you can do your groceries. About 2 miles to a lovely sea side spot with big car park.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shabtique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Old Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing