We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only did the food bit....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caerleon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Took wife for a spot of lunch and decided to try the Priory, as I've heard mixed reviews. Started with being told to order at the counter. Seemed odd standing in front of everyone viewing the menu's on the wall with a waitress waiting. Anyway...Chicken for Joss and Sirloin for me. Starters were Cod goujons and soup. So we went an sat down and waited. Our drinks were taken swiftly and staff were fine. Then the first error.....soup....but no bread. Then we order bread and no butter knife! It was quickly solved and on we go. Starters finished and plates cleared. The next course arrives and I must say, the plate with not a scrap of sides looked a bit bland. However, the chips were lovely and the steak was superb! Joss really enjoyed the chicken and the sauce was lovely. The restaurant was busy and quite noisy but it was a nice atmosphere and didn't spoil the meal. Overall..pretty good and worth the £50. If I was to give a tip, it would be get a decent menu on the tables and sort the silly standing by the deli. Also, bread with soup and butter needs a butter knife, not a steak knife, but overall we were happy!
:-)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshboy2130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
There are newer reviews for The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 541 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Been to the restaurant at this hotel tonight and can say it was one of the worst meals we have had, we complained to the "director " who virtually dismissed us, we are not people who ever complain but on this occasion felt it was justified. If you want a first class meal the Priory is not the place your looking for.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank 231,185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Loved my stay here, the village is amazing and very well placed if you are visiting the Celtic manor down the road. Food is lovely the only downside is how rowdy it gets on the weekend, suppose this isn't their fault but it would be perfect if it was quieter

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Olliee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Staff very friendly and helpful. Speed of service just right. Food mixed. I had the fish soup as a starter which was disappointing and not what I expected or really as described on the menu. Main was lamb shank which was delicious and huge, excellent. Dessert creme brulee which was good. Excllent slection of wine and some good vlaue bin ends. Would I go back yes

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank s30wen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Thank you once again for another fab lunch ! We had a lovely weekend staying with our friend in croesyceiliog, and to finish off the weekend decided to have lunch at the priory. We have been before, and we are never disappointed , the choice of food is just amazing, they have everything !!! We all enjoyed our lunch today, and the desserts were fab ! Hope to see you again soon !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Went with a group of 50 who were at a conference at Celtic Manor. They coped very well with such a large group especially as we were all eating off the main menu. Food very good, I had wild venison which was cooked just how I wanted it, rare. Others were also impressed with the food and service. Decor was a bit dated but it was OK

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was just an overnight stay, the room we had (21) was very quiet, and apart from the (very) lumpy pillows we had a reasonable nights sleep.However when we came to use the shower the following morning - it simply didn't work, it was easy to see that it was extremely clogged - poor housekeeping on that one I'm afraid. So when we checked out the receptionist, didn't offer us a courtesy room to shower in, or even a partial refund - which as half of the room didn't work, would have been reasonable I think. This is why this review has a rating of "poor'".
On the plus side the breakfast was good, and the waitress who served us was very chatty and helpful, and Caerleon itself is worth a visit for the roman remains alone.

Room Tip: Rooms 17 - 21 seemed to be nice and quiet, as it can get a bit rowdy elsewhere.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caerleon
3.1 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
1.4 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#9 of 18 in Newport
547 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 18 in Newport
590 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Manor House at Celtic Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel & Restaurant

Address: High Street, Caerleon, Newport NP18 1AG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport > Caerleon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caerleon
Price Range: $82 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Priory is nestled within the historic town of Caerleon on the River Usk. Dating back to 1180 and starting life as a Cistercian Monastery, it later became a Nunnery, private residence and since 1996, this beautiful building and its secluded grounds have been home to the Priory Hotel and Restaurant. We want your stay with us to be relaxing, enjoyable and focused on fantastic food. The Priory is the perfect setting to unwind, enjoy the best of locally sourced cuisine, and have a truly memorable stay in the historic town of Caerleon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Priory Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Priory Hotel And Restaurant
Priory Hotel Newport
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant Caerleon, UK - Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing