We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caerleon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Priory Restaurant u have to see to believe the fresh fish and salads laid out is quite amazing
we were going round the Roman ruins and we called in the Priory for a welcome drink and decided to eat there The waiter was a little ignorant but maybe because he was not British that we felt the torn of his voice was excusable The food was very nice but the drinks we thought was a bit over priced Would return for the food again but I think the staff need a bit of training in how to welcome people

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonzo186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 567 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

Nice hotel with charm in the countryside. Have been to eat here several times over the years and the food and service have always been top notch, with a view to staying at the adjoining hotel given the opportunity. Well the opportunity presented itself during the July heatwave. We always complain about the weather in Canada, because of the extremes and this was no different. It was an unusually hot day (week) and this country hotel has no AC. The did have fans for their guest which was good news. The pigeons woke me up at about 05:00 AM. Was that a bad experience? No, it only added to the charm and character of the visit.

Room Tip: On a hot July day - try and get a room with two windows so that you can take advantage of the breeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heinzter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I went to the priory today with the intention of catching up with many fiends. Amongst us was mummy's and 6 children. After sitting in the garden, which is a beautiful setting, we went to the bar to order some drinks. I was met at the the bar to what can only be described as the most ignorant, unhelpful excuse for a barman, I believe his name was Juan. I cannot believe that this man is employed in a hotel / bar that prides itself on high quality service. I would not employ this man to tend to animals!

Eventually we got our drinks, and gave the inexcusable barman a massive by ball. We then asked to look at the food menu, to which, unbelievably, I was told I would have to get of my backside and go inside to look at the menu that was nailed to the wall. Incredible! Being that there was over 10 people at our table we all ordered food at different time, to which the waiters we extremely rude about as it didn't suit what they wanted (there was probably 15 people in the whole restaurant). It really was incredible!

There is not enough room to complete my review, so to sum up, we had a horrendous experience at this hotel!
I am happy to reply to an comments, please PM me.
kind regards, a very dissatisfied customer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Tommy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and myself were given a voucher to have a meal here as a present, so we deceided to go the whole hog and booked a room as well. We had been here before a few years ago but never stayed the night. It was beautiful then, festooned in flowers but this time when we drove in there wasn't a flower in sight no hanging baskets or patio tubs nothing, so that was the first disappointment. Then when we went for our meal, they didin't have a few things that were on the menu (disappointment number 2) so I decided to have the chicken which was called Chicken Barbados, they described it to me as chicken in a curry like sauce with chips £14.95. When I asked for side salad I was informed that would be an extra £2.45 and any vegetables were £3.95 (disappointment number 3). I don't mind paying but hate being ripped off so I refused the extras which just left me with a chicken in curry sauce and chips that cost £15 all because they had poshed it up and called it "Chicken Barbados", and likewise my husband had the steak with just chips. I really don't think it is asking too much for a bit of side salad or just peas to go with the meal. When we retired to our room which was very clean,there was disappointment number 4, the bed was so uncomfortable, the mattress was hard and made so much noise it was like an organ playing each time we turned over. On a much better note, the breakfast was really nice I couldn't fault it and all the staff were very helpful. But the reason we came, to have a meal and stay the night, well it's nil points I'm afraid, wouldn't recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't bother going
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Firstly Caerleon is build on an a roman legionary fortress, lots to see ... The Priory is in the middle of town and its a hidden spanish retreat. Its a well run hotel and resturant, clean and tidy and a good 3 star. Food is generally good, welcoming staff, spanish music playing and my favourate barman (no names but older chap with glasses, does late shift, likes his golf !). Rooms are tidy and always clean and staff always helpful ... my third visit to play golf in the area. Plenty of parking and good value, i will be back.

Room Tip: if there is a group of 4-5 wanting rooms together ask for the priory cottage, 100 yds from the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here for only one night but we will be coming back to try the food and to book in the honeymoon suite which looks fab.
On arrival we were greeted by very friendly receptionist who gave us keys for room 1 which was a deluxe suite which has a huge bed with stylish en-suite, Fab view of gardens all for under seventy quid!!inc breakfast!!!
We were asked if we were staying for evening meal as the restaurant gets very busy on weekends but unfortunate for us we had already booked else where.
The grounds of the hotel are kept well and staff very polite and attentive, On the whole if you want a great room book a deluxe room or The blue romm which does,nt cost the earth.
Also Caerleon town has great history.

Room Tip: The Blue room or Deluxe room ie room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzanne1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Visited the restaurant on 19th. June for a family reunion. So impressed with the building and garden and the interior even more so. The selection and variety of dishes on display was mouth watering and choosing was difficult. We settled for the lobster which was perfect. The only complaint was the mixed vegetables. At £7 pound a dish we expected more than carrots and peas!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Bajohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caerleon
3.1 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
1.4 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 18 in Newport
608 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Manor House at Celtic Manor
6.8 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel & Restaurant

Address: High Street, Caerleon, Newport NP18 1AG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport > Caerleon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caerleon
Price Range: $85 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Priory is nestled within the historic town of Caerleon on the River Usk. Dating back to 1180 and starting life as a Cistercian Monastery, it later became a Nunnery, private residence and since 1996, this beautiful building and its secluded grounds have been home to the Priory Hotel and Restaurant. We want your stay with us to be relaxing, enjoyable and focused on fantastic food. The Priory is the perfect setting to unwind, enjoy the best of locally sourced cuisine, and have a truly memorable stay in the historic town of Caerleon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Priory Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Priory Hotel And Restaurant
Priory Hotel Newport
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant Caerleon, UK - Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing