We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveler rating
311
210
91
30
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
210
91
30
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvenisonmeat and fishmain buildingroman ruinson displayone way systemmusselssunday lunchcrevettesmain coursetwo coursesbooked a tablecar parkstaff were attentivelovely atmospherethe blue roomwine list
Filter
Updating list...
543 - 548 of 682 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Visited the restaurant on 19th. June for a family reunion. So impressed with the building and garden and the interior even more so. The selection and variety of dishes on display was mouth watering and choosing was difficult. We settled for the lobster which was perfect. The only complaint was the mixed vegetables. At £7 pound a dish we expected more than carrots and peas!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Bajohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at the hotel as a stopover for visiting Cardiff the next day . The hotel is in impressive grounds with a spacious seating area overlooking the gardens. The staff were all very polite and efficient and the building itself is full of character. Our room overlooked the gardens and although fairly small it was more than adequate . The only things that we didn't like we're very minor. We couldn't get a drink from the bar in the afternoon , closed until 6.00, and we wasn't entirely sure about having to queue up to order your meal . There were however many alternatives but we did feel rushed to make our choice with other people joining the queue behind us . Breakfast was very good and again all the staff in the restaurant were very attentive and polite. Would recommend the hotel to anyone and is very good value for money.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the gardens
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talbot0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I've stayed at the priory before and had a room overlooking the garden which was pretty and comfortable. On this occasion I booked a room and a table for my partners birthday celebration. It was spectacularly disappointing. The room was awful. Tired shabby decor and bedcovers. We were in room 11 , some sort of annexe and afterthought where the entrance seemed to a dumping ground for everything, piles of chairs, boxes and mirrors. A total mess. The reception staff appeared bored, irritated and complacent. The hotel information booklet , if you can call it that is a cheap pile of plastic handouts held together with elastic ties. More roadside burger van than four star hotel. I was expecting a charming and pleasant stay but this was nothing short of embarrassing. The waiting staff were efficient and the food delicious however the cutlery and table napkins are cheap, tatty and old. It wouldn't take very much to make this hotel good again if only the management and staff could be bothered

Room Tip: Do not stay in annexe or lodge unless your standards are very low
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Priory is one of the most enchanting hotels I have ever stayed in....and I am a world traveller. My bedroom had a view of the beautiful gardens, the bed was heavenly. I can't even start to describe how wonderful the restaurant was. Elegant old works charm, a fabulous selection and attentive friendly service. Wine selection excellent. All in the most beautiful of surroundings!

Room Tip: The rooms situated at the back of the hotel give the lovely view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you like history, comfort and good food, this is the place. Our room had lovely views,peace and free wi-fi ! The bar and restaurant was very busy at night, and as it was so noisy, we were a little anxious as our room was directly above, but once there, we heard nothing and slept very well. No late meals on offer, but there are a few takeaways nearby.Staff very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: We have stayed in their basic rooms before, but this time chose the delux overlooking the garden, fields and river , and what a difference. You get what you pay for. No complaints at all.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tegboatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews