We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (680)
Filter reviews
680 results
Traveler rating
310
210
90
30
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
210
90
30
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvenisonmeat and fishmain buildingroman ruinson displayone way systemmusselssunday lunchcrevettesmain coursetwo coursesbooked a tablecar parkstaff were attentivelovely atmospherethe blue roomwine list
Filter
Updating list...
545 - 550 of 680 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you like history, comfort and good food, this is the place. Our room had lovely views,peace and free wi-fi ! The bar and restaurant was very busy at night, and as it was so noisy, we were a little anxious as our room was directly above, but once there, we heard nothing and slept very well. No late meals on offer, but there are a few takeaways nearby.Staff very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: We have stayed in their basic rooms before, but this time chose the delux overlooking the garden, fields and river , and what a difference. You get what you pay for. No complaints at all.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tegboatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

I often have meals here with clients and friends and have never had a bad meal, always a pleasure every time! The food is great and the whole mood of the restraunt is brilliant! Rooms are also very good, have everything that you need and more!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicolasParsons-Young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great dining choosing from the colourful fresh food counter. Set in lovely quiet surrounds although some rooms from onto the small high street so your mileage may vary..
Caerleon is an interesting historic Roman settlement town with remains of Amphitheatre Legion Barracks and two free museums all in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were drawn to this hotel for its history, character and location which didn't let it down, dating back to the 1100's in a lovely quiet location on the banks of the River Usk gave it a peaceful charm. The dining experience was first class down to the wonderful oak panelling and stained glass windows in the restaurant, the service was excellent as was the choice of food which is displayed for you to choose from in large chiller cabinets, all types of fresh fish, steaks, chicken, venison etc., we both had fillet steaks which were superb. It was also a nice change to have a freshly cooked breakfast in the morning. The only down side for us was booking a basic double room, tatty seen better days furniture not very cosy, glad we had only booked one night would definately recommend booking a deluxe room.

Room Tip: Book the best room that you can
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeybhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

On entry to reception/bar area it was very dark. Lovely furniture and decor (when my eyes adjusted to the gloom). Comfortable chairs. More real ale choice would be really good-they were busy so I guess the ale would move quickly. Would like it if the barman kept his hands much lower on the glass too (perhaps needs a bit of training?)
Very pleasant waiter led us to our table.
Not impressed with having to jump back up and troop to the counter to order meals. However we were asked if we wanted more drinks
Meal was ok, nothing to complain about-portions were small but price was cheap. Would have liked bread with moules

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 444westie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews