We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (698)
Filter reviews
698 results
Traveler rating
318
217
93
30
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
318
217
93
30
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews venison meat and fish main building roman ruins on display one way system mussels sunday lunch crevettes main course two courses booked a table car park staff were attentive lovely atmosphere the blue room wine list
Filter
Updating list...
566 - 571 of 698 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were drawn to this hotel for its history, character and location which didn't let it down, dating back to the 1100's in a lovely quiet location on the banks of the River Usk gave it a peaceful charm. The dining experience was first class down to the wonderful oak panelling and stained glass windows in the restaurant, the service was excellent as was the choice of food which is displayed for you to choose from in large chiller cabinets, all types of fresh fish, steaks, chicken, venison etc., we both had fillet steaks which were superb. It was also a nice change to have a freshly cooked breakfast in the morning. The only down side for us was booking a basic double room, tatty seen better days furniture not very cosy, glad we had only booked one night would definately recommend booking a deluxe room.

Room Tip: Book the best room that you can
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeybhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

On entry to reception/bar area it was very dark. Lovely furniture and decor (when my eyes adjusted to the gloom). Comfortable chairs. More real ale choice would be really good-they were busy so I guess the ale would move quickly. Would like it if the barman kept his hands much lower on the glass too (perhaps needs a bit of training?)
Very pleasant waiter led us to our table.
Not impressed with having to jump back up and troop to the counter to order meals. However we were asked if we wanted more drinks
Meal was ok, nothing to complain about-portions were small but price was cheap. Would have liked bread with moules

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 444westie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have been to this restaurant a few times over the years and usually end up disappointed.
Tried it again on Saturday and once again it disappointed..

The service was really bad. Uncooperative staff. No one asked if everything alright with our meals.
The food was very average and overpriced (always is).
When we gave money for the bill, the waiter never came back with our £3 change and assumed it was a tip.

When we mentioned all this to the hotel manager she just said that the waiter is a bit 'hit and miss'.!!!!

The place always has a lovely atmosphere, but that's where it ends. I will only be having drinks in future and will eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed 3 nights with dinner each evening. Staff most welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. Room small but more than adequate and well appointed.
After discovering food ordering system we found service very attentive and didn't have to wait for our courses. The fish we had was superb - very fresh and expertly cooked. Excellent choice of wines - a second real ale would have been a bonus.
This is an oasis in a town which seems to have had better days. We would stay again. One drawback - which does become annoying if you stay longer than one night - is the repetitive piped music - over and over again with songs from Mediterranean counties included but little local to Wales & UK

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms available
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LionJohnWitney_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My fiance and I decided to stay locally and dine at the Priory on Saturday 13th April 2013. On arrival the Priory was buzzing as it always is but not overly crowded. We were summoned to our seat with a 'wave' and proceeded to be led to the counter area where one small table had been placed. Itimate...NOT! when we asked if there was another seat, a rather Obnoxious waiter ushered us away from the table and did not offer us an alternative. On returning to the main counter the receptioinst was very flippant also and showed very little concern. I got the idea that because we were just a party of two we were insignificant in the scheme of things on a Saturday night.
Eventually we waited for another table. Service was prompt, food good. I just feel the Priory is far too over rated. There are many other local resturants in the area with a warmer and more welcoming atmosphere. The Priory- you need to rethink your treatment of smaller parties...very disappointing evening, more so as we had decided to stay local and have our engagement meal together at this establishment.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews