We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caerleon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Had dinner last night and I thought it was quite expensive. 3 scallops cost £6.95, I had to ask for lemon, you get no bread to mop up the juices and they were overcooked. The main course was ok, but again had to ask for lemon wedges and tartare sauce for my bream and there was no salad or vegetables you had to pay extra for these and considering my fish was £33,00 I thought you may get some thing but no they even charged me for a white wine sauce!!!! In general I think it is a lovely place and would go back but look at your pricing policy

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank srgreenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
There are newer reviews for The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 541 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

The service was absolutely disappointing.

Charmless service (not a smile on any of the staff's faces throughout our dinner)

Conveyor-belt production type production and serving of entrees; our grilled seafood had a bitter taste and lacked flavour (probably due to burnt residue from the grill which does not seem to have been cleaned since it was installed;
Baked potatoes that were burnt baby potatoes like rubber and you have to pay extra for these items
The lobster I had for main well if you could call it a baby lobster not much meat about 3 bits of meat and sauce I seen bigger prawns with more meat on
One off the party had swordfish and well no sauce very dry just a slap of what looked like green gunk on the plate with the swordfish place on top
Then we had pudding well chocolate fondant or dry fondant more like a cup cake With no filling what so ever in sight
The only good point was the company at the table everything else was disappointing

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank madjock72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I have had lunch at the Priory on several occasions now and have never been disappointed. We were there again today but this time it was as a guest at a private pre-Christmas luncheon party hosted by my husband's former employer. The service was excellent as always and the food well prepared, well cooked and well presented, Again, as on previous occasions, we were certainly not disappointed and plan to visit again with friends in the early spring. Excellent venue for individual meals or corporate functions.

Room Tip: We have never stayed overnight at the Priory so are not able to rate the rooms or other facilities e...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My own pub restaurant is just around the corner from here and its the one place I like to visit locally on my day/night off. My favourite meal here is the pan fried salmon fillet with a baked potato and garlic mushrooms cooked in oil. The chips here are also very good. The staff are really friendly and visitors will always receive a warm welcome off Miguel, Jwou, Wan, Steve, Roman and the others. The building itself is also very historic.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelaClaire_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Set in lovely grounds right in the centre of old Caerleon, The Priory offers a good value alternative to some of the more expensive restaurants in the area.
Solid and consistent it doesn't offer the culinary fireworks of other nearby establishments but I can say with total honesty that on the many, many occasions I've eaten here I have never had a bad meal.
The staff are always pleasant and polite, the ingredients are always of good quality and the set menu at lunchtime is incredibly good value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Picturesque hotel. Lovely dining room and restaurant, especially for fish lovers.
Room in the old part had character, not really a business person's room as no proper desk but wi-fi worked well.
Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the street in front.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKTravellerSussexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Superb location and historical building. The fresh fish is a joy and the staff are highly professional and caring. Rooms are clean, comfortable and well furnished. The slight downside is the breakfast- its fine if you like traditional cooked and cereals but not if you like fresh fruit and plain yoghurt.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlinysW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caerleon
3.1 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
1.4 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#9 of 18 in Newport
547 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 18 in Newport
590 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Manor House at Celtic Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel & Restaurant

Address: High Street, Caerleon, Newport NP18 1AG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport > Caerleon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caerleon
Price Range: $82 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Priory is nestled within the historic town of Caerleon on the River Usk. Dating back to 1180 and starting life as a Cistercian Monastery, it later became a Nunnery, private residence and since 1996, this beautiful building and its secluded grounds have been home to the Priory Hotel and Restaurant. We want your stay with us to be relaxing, enjoyable and focused on fantastic food. The Priory is the perfect setting to unwind, enjoy the best of locally sourced cuisine, and have a truly memorable stay in the historic town of Caerleon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Priory Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Priory Hotel And Restaurant
Priory Hotel Newport
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant Caerleon, UK - Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing