We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveler rating
311
210
91
30
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
210
91
30
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvenisonmeat and fishmain buildingroman ruinson displayone way systemmusselssunday lunchcrevettesmain coursetwo coursesbooked a tablecar parkstaff were attentivelovely atmospherethe blue roomwine list
Filter
Updating list...
645 - 650 of 682 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2011

I've stayed here for a night and have eaten here a few times. The rooms in the main building are very old fashioned which is not to everyone's taste. I would prefer to stay in the Celtic Manor but it is more expensive and further out of town.

The restuarant is the biggest disappointment. It's always busy and is popular but I don't really know why. The atmosphere is good though. The service is pretty good, probably overly attentive if anything. There's a good range of fish and meat, but less choice for vegetarians. You have to queue up to order your starters and main courses from a counter with fridges of meat/fish.

We paid £40 per person for three courses and a bottle of wine. I'm afraid that the food quality is no better than standard pub food, which you could probably get for half the price. There are much better places to eat locally.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mb9099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Booked hotel direct, not far from m4, changed room to anex for more modern room, very quaint hotel nice staff and good bar, breakfast was good but only warm. Good values for money little off main drag but worth the diversion

Room Tip: Ask for anex room new and moderm
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoPlaces539653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Have not stayed at the hotel overnight, but have dined at the restaurant many times. Always good atmosphere. Generally good food, very pleasant ambience and nice outdoor areas in fine weather.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequent_flyerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stayed two nights with great expectations, only to find tired hotel, badly in need of modernising. Breakfast order took ages as the one waitress stood talking for much of the time (although she was very pleasant). When it did arrive it was extremely average and unappetising. There was no sense that anybody wanted to make sure that you enjoyed your stay.

On the second night, the fire alarm went off at 3 in the morning, and guests stood in the rain or in the main building waiting for it to be turned off (it was a false alarm) for 30 minutes. The one poor man left to deal with the problems could not deal with this one. He just could not turn the alarm off and although it was sounding outside the building as well, nobody else seemed to know it was happening. How they would cope if there was a fire I shudder to think.

Room Tip: I just wouldn't go there again
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pwc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Spent one night here while attending a conference at a nearby hotel. Booked this hotel due to location and recommendation from a colleague. Looked it up on the internet and saw that it was an old building with charm so booked it. One way system in Caerleon means that if you miss it on the way round you have to go all the way round again. There is a car park on the opposite side of the road so you can park while you check in. When I checked in I asked if my car would be OK in the car park opposite and was told that there was plenty of car parking at the back of the hotel and as I was in Priory Cottage I would be able to park right outside my room. To my huge disappointment Priory Cottage was not a period building but a prefabricated building that looked somewhat like a large static caravan! However, it was spotlessly clean inside and the bathroom looked almost new. The furnishing was fine but a bit dull. My only real complaint was that the door was difficult to lock especially from the inside. Also the light over the basin did not work so putting on makeup was difficult as the lighting otherwise was quite dim. Breakfast was in the main building so as it was a trip across the car park it was a good job that it was a nice day. English breakfast with juice, cereal etc. Would have preferred brown toast but was not offered any choice and got white. Slightly off putting that the cleaner was mopping the floors in reception and the bar area next to the breakfast area with some rather strong smelling bleach. Staff were pleasant and helpful. I ordered a taxi when I arrived to take me back to the conference which arrived on time but the driver seemed to have had a bag of chips recently as the car stank of it!

Room Tip: If you chose this hotel for its period nature, make sure that you are actually in the old bit!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateREBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews