We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$106
$78
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$76
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gateway Hotel(Newport)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Parkway Hotel & Spa(Cwmbran)
$84
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Inn Hotel(Newport)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveler rating
29
23
10
14
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
23
10
14
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexotic meatsrugby weekendcar parkrooms are cleanwould stay againsteakcomfortable bedzebrapintwaitress
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 98 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Travelled down to Caerleon, taking my youngest daughter to University, decided to stay overnight so we could settle her in, and fetch shopping etc.
Booked a double room for one night, ended up in a twin. Beds too soft and uncomfortable, no air in the room, couldn't open the window, stuffy and hot. TV wouldn't work, tea and coffee, but no kettle, refused to make a cup of tea using water from the bathroom sink. Tried to have a shower, no pressure, water came out at a trickle, and the shower leaked, water was faster running down the pipe, lost the water for a few minutes, when it restarted, it was alot faster, no cold water though, couldn't get any cold at all. The bathroom floor was dangerous, it sunk by the toilet so badly my husband almost fell, the bathroom door wouldn't close properly so no privacy at all. A boiler kept coming on close to the room, very noisy, and a constant noise of running water all night didn't make for a good night's sleep at all.

On a good note, the food was great, very tasty, the hotel owner ran the bar and did the food orders, his wife did the cooking, quick polite service, but the food was expensive, over priced for what it was, as were the drinks, £8 for a pint of lager shandy and half a cider, pushed the bill up alot from the initial £69 to over a hundred pounds, not including breakfast, as i didn't include it in the booking there wasn't any option to buy any, i was up and downstairs before he was.
He seemed genuinely surprised that there wasn't a kettle in the room, he claimed that guests were pinching them, but to be honest, if they had cleaned the room prior to us checking in, especially as we couldn't check in until 4pm, they would of known the kettle was missing.

All in all, a poor night's sleep, poor facilities, noisy from the boiler and constant running water, the outside was in really bad condition in desperate need of restoration. The bar and restaurant were really nice, the nicest part of the entire hotel, didn't make up for the poor parts though.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, none of the rooms were any good, very noisy creaking floorboards, unsafe in the bathroom
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian a, Owner at The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Mum dad & daughter arrive at reception and are given keys for a double room and an adjoining twin for single occupancy. From reading this review they obviously used the wrong rooms. The twin has since undergone a total refurbishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

A noisey out dated dump. Had the mis pleasure of staying there for one night. Shower didnt work, even if it did i wouldent of fitted under the head and even if i could it was up against a light fitting!!!!!! Room was noisey full of bar noise and music, decided not to risk the breakfast that i paid 9 quid for. Overall a dump, i am sure the romans would of done a better job.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommo_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian a, Owner at The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

This gentlemans grievance is with his boss who, on discovering he had booked a superior room decided to take it himself. His boss also told me they were unable to have breakfast as they had a very early start. When I later spoke with him at the trade show he did not appear to have any grievances, even offering me a drink.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

As a previous reviewer stated. They turn the pumps off at night. Our bath didn't work at all, as what seemed to be air in the pipes instead of water. The bar was dead, even on a Friday night. Room was clean enough and bed was ok, but No water to have shower / bath.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewB89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian a, Owner at The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Water no longer turned off at night, now on 24/7.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Spent one night here on a business trip. Quite an old place, floors creak rather loudly. Clean room and bathroom, not a bad nights sleep. Let down the next morning though, booked a breakfast for 8am, the guy appeared from next door at about 8:30 and started switching lights on. No way was I going to get anything to eat by 9 so had to make do with a quick coffee and arrived at my meeting hungry. when I got home I realised I had still been charged for it. Gotta do better if you want business people and contractors to stay during the week.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralphandbola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian a, Owner at The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Checked our records breakfast booked for 8.45am apologies for any confusion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I had lunch here today, a nice starter of Pate and a main course of roast beef. I dont go for boiled potatoes and the manager brought me some more roasties and gravy. Absolutely delicious, to finish I had the apple tart and fresh cream. A pint of real ale and less than £19. I was on my own and I was made to feel welcome. I was given the choice of having lunch in the restaurant or in the lounge bar where the tv was, I chose the lounge bar as the Grand Prix was on.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathayspete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian a, Owner at The Stuffed Dormouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews