We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A chance stop” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Roman Legion Museum

National Roman Legion Museum
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Caerleon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Otago
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A chance stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were looking for an information centre when we walked into the Museum. We were greeted by a very helpful young man who told us where the information centre was. We decided to have a look around the museum and were very glad we did. We learnt such a lot and we really appreciated the young people outside who were playing Roman people for the day. They were so informative in a fun way. We loved the medical person and the cavalry man. The other exhibits taught us more that we knew previously about the Romans in Britain.
Thank you for a great time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lordyclaudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    127
    17
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrenpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very Educational”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This being a first visit to Caerleon I was enlightened to all the detail and information on display.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheCedars3544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Well worth a look around, interesting and enjoyable. Don't miss it, something is bound to catch your attention even if you're not a big history fan.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnabelleCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“very interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Really new museum with interesting displays. Takes about 1/2 hour. They have models of Roman solders, jewels discovered in the baths, a skeleton and coffin. Also close are the amphtheatre and barracks, so a pleasant afternoon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bradziker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really interesting - great for children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We went to the Roman Legion Museum and also the Roman bath museum, unfortunately we only had a few hours to spare and would have seen the Amphitheatre too if we had the time.
Firstly, Caerleon is a beautiful village, well worth the short drive from Newport if you are in the area.
The bath museum was fascinating, with plenty of explanations about the archaeological remains and interactive stuff for kids.
The museum likewise was great, children could dress up as roman legionaries and the were demonstrations of roman soldiers and how the romans cooked and lived domestically.
Admission is free - as it is part of the National Museum of Wales.
We arrived at 10 when the museum opened and had no problem with street parking in the neighbourhood.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan_F49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Roman Legion Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Roman Legion Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing