We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Precisely As Great as the Reviews Predicted”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caerleon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pendragon House B&B
Ranked #1 of 8 Caerleon B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I are celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary by touring great homes and castles in the UK. We decided that South Wales would be a nice stopping point on the way up from the south to Portmeirion, and noting the uniformly superior reviews registered here for Pendragon, we made our reservations for a night.

Usually any B&B, or for that matter ANY site rated at Tripadvisor, has a scattering of negative reviews. Now having spent a night at Pendragon, we can see why it would be almost impossible to rate it as anything less than five out of five.

We did have trouble finding it, the secret amongst the one way roads in Caerleon is to turn right off of High Street into Cross Street, and look carefully for the relatively small sign that hangs out in front of the Pendragon, about three doors down on the right...then, as Cross Street is narrow, get your car onto the left curb, knock on the door at Pendragon, and a very cheerful woman, Kathryn, will enthusiastically help you unload your luggage...after which we found the trick was to then go backwards (watching for oncoming traffic), back onto High Street, drive a few yards, and to the right we parked at the Roman ruins parking lot...Kathryn provides a small placard to stick on the front dashboard to prove you are parking there legitimately!

Of the three rooms, we were in room number three, which had the most amazing bright light in a B&B we have ever encountered, perfect for reading. It was up some stairs, but Kathryn managed to get our bags up to the room for us. The king size bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom had ample shelf space, nice walk in shower with water as hot as one could wish for, adequate power. Cross Street is pretty quiet at night, so we slept with our window open. There are plenty of power outlets for charging electronic toys.

As were there on a Sunday night, with some restaurants closed, she suggested the Hanbury Arms for dinner, a quick two minute walk toward the river...a separate review has been posted, it met our needs perfectly.

Others have favorably commented upon the breakfasts...we opted for orange juice, porridge, fried (wife) and scrambled (me) eggs on toast, nice potent cups of coffee, and soon we were on our way north, quite well sated.

Bottom line, we had a perfect night here, and gladly join the chorus of others who have highly rated Pendragon House as a great B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petergoode2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Pendragon House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 154 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

What an excellent B&B experience! Beautiful and charming room, very clean bathroom, lovely bed and linens, everything we needed. And the breakfast, oh my! What a treat. The town itself is lovely, lots of restaurants in the evening (we had dinner at the Phoenix and enjoyed it). All in all a great experience. We were only able to stay one night and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We had room 3 on the street side but perfectly quiet
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IntlSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had such a great time staying with Peter and Kathy. The room itself was very clean with an extremely comfortable bed. We had plenty of hot water in the very nice bathroom. What made our trip though was the service and friendliness we received from our hosts. Every morning we were greeted with an excellent breakfast and conversation. Tea and cookies in the afternoon. Lastly and overall genuine willingness by Peter and Kathy to make sure everything was perfect.

Definitely a must stay if you are in Newport or Caerleon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tschell23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Excellent B&B and definitely the best I've ever stayed at. Katy couldn't do enough for us and made us feel very welcome. I really appreciated the effort she went to to accommodate my daughter. She loved the selection of books on her own princess bed for the night! Breakfast was wonderful and again my daughter was well looked after. She loved the 'holiday house' and has asked to go back! Rooms are beautiful and comfy. Maybe next time we'd go for a room at the back of the house as there was a bit of noise at closing time from the pub on the corner. I'm a light sleeper so it did disturb me a bit. But not enough to not go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at Kate and Pete's B&B for just one night on our way from North Wales to the New Forest. Pendragon house is a warm and comfortable place to stay and the hosts are most friendly. Our room had an extra (small) princess bed put in for our princess, which meant it couldn't fit the coffee and tea making facilities that are usually there, but it was no trouble at all for the hosts to bring some tea and coffee up to the room when we wanted some!
We didn't have time to look around the village, because of the weather and the short time we were able to stay, but would certainly enjoy looking around on a next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steef28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just returned from another fabulous weekend at Pendragon House. The rooms are lovely with great period features and comfy beds. Kath and Pete are great hosts and know lots about the history of the local area. Breakfast is also very scrummy. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank legaleagle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Caerleon is stacked full of Roman artefects, buidlings and history so well worth a visit.
I had business in Wales so my first port of call was the B and B where I had received such good welcome. Sure enough, nothing had changed and Kath recalled every detail of the first visit and enquired after us and our circumstances.
It makes me realise how much I appreciate personal service, not the robotic form of greeting from someone who doesn't know you from Adam and for whom you are just another face.

The breakfast was as brilliant as ever with porridge that melted in the mouth so to speak.

Part of the reason the Romans chose this place to settle was the extreme tidal surges of the River Usk. It is well worth a watch because the incoming tide is quick and overwhelms the river flowing outwards. Blink and you miss it. Its a bit like the Severn Bore but on a more minor scale.

Room Tip: any room is good.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian-Snellgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caerleon
0.0 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#9 of 18 in Newport
547 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 18 in Newport
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Newport Central
1.0 mi away
Celtic Manor Resort
Celtic Manor Resort
#3 of 18 in Newport
5,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pendragon House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pendragon House B&B

Address: 18 Cross Street, Caerleon, Newport NP18 1AF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport > Caerleon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Caerleon
Price Range: $95 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pendragon House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pendragon House is Georgian Grade II Listed house in the heart of Caerleon village in South Wales. A warm Welsh welcome is assured, whether you are visiting relatives or simply exploring this historic area. Close to all local amenities, golf courses and historic attractions. All our double and twin rooms have en-suite facilities offering elegant and luxurious accommodation for all the family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pendragon House B&B Caerleon, UK - Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing