We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb as usual!”

Radford House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caerleon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Radford House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Caerleon B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have stayed at Radford House on many occasions and cannot believe we haven't written a review - this is long overdue!
David and Barbara are the ultimate hosts (more like friends really) of this lovingly restored home. The bedrooms are spotless, spacious, individual and luxuriously appointed. The beds are blissfully comfortable! In addition to the usual teas and coffee (with fresh milk) there are biscuits, fresh fruit, bottled water and chocolate bars - most welcome after a long journey, hard day's sight seeing or shopping! All this and an excellent breakfast too.
Our annual trip to Wales is focussed on Cardiff and it would probably be more convenient to stay there. However we enjoy our stay at Radford House so much we do not consider any other accommodation.
Thanks David and Barbara for yet another wonderful stay. See you next year!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SometimesTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 38 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

A very welcoming host, even though we turned up at 6.30, 3 or 4 hours earlier than had been expected. A beautiful house, wonderfully restored and the Roman room that we stayed in was very well appointed with the delightful touch of a fridge with mineral water, fresh milk and I presume because of the roman theme- a plate of grapes, lovely as we had eaten very early that evening. Breakfast was great lots of choice and well cooked, we'd definitely stay again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank zmidwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

From our first contact with David the owner to the last moment before we left it was perfect. I wanted something local to Newport for our training officers and Caerleon is a stunning village just on the outskirts with lovely cafes pubs and restaurants not to mention museums. The house is a stunning Georgian affair tastefully decorated to a high standard but still with a really homely feel. The rooms are large with great on suite facilities and the furnishing is in period or classical in line with the village. The owners taste is just lovely and they are happy to talk about their home and surrounding area. Breakfast is great and even coffee for non resident friends. It's hard to see why anyone would want to stay in a sole less hotel when for the same or less they can stay in this gem of an establishment. Our company will definitely use Radford House in future and are genuinely looking forward to coming back. Thanks to David and his family for being so welcoming I only wish it were my home! Fantastic and highly recommended and you would be mad to stay anywhere else...........

Room Tip: Ask for the Roman Room if available. Stunning classical carved headboard with Views over the lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celtica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We were made to feel most welcome in this friendly, spotless, comfortable and beautifully decorated house. Thoughtful extra touches and room features made what was already a most enjoyable stay in Caerleon, that little bit extra special.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Dave and Barbara certainly know how to make you feel welcome in this excellently well appointed B and B. The Georgian Room was faultless with all the little extras that made the stay one to remember. Large comfortasble double bed and sumptuous bath to match. Not a breakfast for those trying to watch the waist line. Parking could be a problem but Dave had that sorted as well.
Caerleon has much to offer for those with an interest in our Roman History or just use Radford House as a base to explore a suprisingingly fascinating part of the principality.

Room Tip: Dont worry you wont be disappointed with any of the rooms. Although probaly quiter at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

A beautifully restored house right in the middle of Caerleon.
We were playing golf the following day and concerned about leaving our clubs in the car overnight but David arranged for us to park behind locked gates in a secure spot. The room was luxurious (I saw this description on another review and can't think of a better one!!), the bathroom had everything from a roll topped bath to a separate shower and even boasted a Thomas Crapper loo!! Even the toiletries were top of the range.
Breakfast was pre ordered the night before but freshly prepared in the morning and was certainly up to the high standards set for the rest of the house.
We couldn't fault it and would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNSB14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radfordhouse, Owner at Radford House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

Many many thanks for you kind words - we hope to see you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

This truely is a super 5* B&B, We recieved a really warm welcome to this amazing property, There is Just nothing bad you could say about this place from the front door to the breakfast everything is first class,Just like the hosts.

We had an amazing stay here and would highly recomend this property to anyone.

Many thanks for a great evening at the Radford b&b

David and Roger from Fat Bloke on a Moped

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lourogclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caerleon
0.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Newport Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Queens Hotel, Newport
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#8 of 18 in Newport
551 reviews
1.1 mi away
Celtic Manor Resort
Celtic Manor Resort
#4 of 18 in Newport
5,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radford House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radford House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Radford House Broadway, Caerleon, Newport NP18 1AY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport > Caerleon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Caerleon
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radford House is a beautiful and tastefully renovated Georgian House designed to cater for your comfort. We provide a high degree of cosiness to those who favour the pleasure of a good, luxurious bed and breakfast. Awarded 5 Stars, the highest accreditation awarded by the AA Guest Accommodation Scheme, will ensure a friendly, welcoming reception. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Radford House Bed And Breakfast Caerleon, UK - Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing