We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

Radford House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caerleon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Radford House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Caerleon B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We only stayed overnight, but really enjoyed the experience. The rooms are 'themed' and really spacious. The breakfast was well prepared (my wife still talks about the Jam!) and the owners made us feel really welcome. Would certainly recommend the Radford to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuBenS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 38 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2011

Stayed for one night only. Warm welcome on arrival & shown to the room that we requested.
Very nice room with good quality furnishings with a luxurious bathroom.
Lovely fruit plate, home made biscuits & plenty of tea with fresh milk in the fridge on arrival.
Comfy bed & very quiet at night..
In the morning David served us a lovely breakfast which was beautifully cooked.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

The most delightful hotel I have ever stayed in. David & Barbera could not do enough to make our stay as pleasurable as possible. Their attention to detail was first class. We especially liked the silent refridgerator that contained complimentary fresh milk, fresh fruit, bottled water and chocolates. The room was in excellent condition and was spotlessly clean. Clearly nothing had been skimped in the refurbishment of this wonderful house. All of the fixtures and fittings in the room were of the highest quality, especially the power shower in the bathroom. The television was a high quality panasonic LCD, with excellent picture quality. Despite being in the middle of the small town of Caerleon, things are generally very quiet but within easy walking distance of many pubs and restaurants. David's breakfasts are something else and not to be missed!
We would thouroughly recommend the Radford House to anyone who appreciates quality accomodation with excellent service,

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diesel_Pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radfordhouse, Owner at Radford House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

Many thanks for your kind review and we are both pleased you enjoyed your stay.
David and Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We stayed at Radford House last October. My husband and I were accompanied by my college-aged son and a friend. Our hosts could not have been nicer. We arrived much later than anticipated due to problems leaving London for the weekend. We were still made to feel welcome. The rooms were perfect and the breakfasts were the best we had while touring England/Wales. Our son's friend is vegetarian and breakfast was to her liking too. Sightseeing in Caerleon was wonderful for us as we are interested in Roman history and this was the perfect spot, right across from the Roman museum. It was a wonderful small museum. We would definitely stay at Radford House again anytime. We loved Wales, too

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhhtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

This is a superb B and B. The house is beautiful, the room sumptuous and the bed extremely comfortable. The fixtures and fitting are all top class and the linen is gorgeous - Egyptian cotton sheets and big fluffy bath towels. The breakfast is terrific and the service very friendly and welcoming, and the situation in the centre of Caerleon opposite the museum is perfect. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NathanTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Stayed here for the second time in just over a year.

Place is wonderful as are your hosts.

Breakfast gorgeous - rooms comfy and beautifully appointed - a wonderful place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattizzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

We spent two and a half weeks in the UK at a different B & B or hotel every night. Radford House provided overall the best accommodations, and that includes the 5 Star Caledonian Hilton in Edinbugh!

Radford House has been completely refurbished top to bottom by the present owners. The result was pure comfort and a series of small touches that elevated the experience. The rooms were large, airy, and attractive with ecclectic touches that added interest. The linens were crisp and immaculate, embroidered with the name of the B & B. The bathrooms were large and luxurious, with plenty of up-scale products provided for convenience. In addition, the hosts provided in-room fridges with large bottles of complimentary water, plus chocolate, biscuits, fresh milk, and assorted goodies. Much of this is standard in better B & Bs, but the quality was evident. Moreover, fresh water was preloaded into the kettle and the kettle was plugged in to eliminate the need to spend time trying to find the plug. That one extra step is missed by most establishments. Breakfast was delicious and served at our convenience instead of between set hours. The hosts were charming, attentive, and truly gracious. It would have been a fantastic experience at twice the price!!!! We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boonedoggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radford House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radford House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Radford House Broadway, Caerleon, Newport NP18 1AY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport > Caerleon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Caerleon
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radford House is a beautiful and tastefully renovated Georgian House designed to cater for your comfort. We provide a high degree of cosiness to those who favour the pleasure of a good, luxurious bed and breakfast. Awarded 5 Stars, the highest accreditation awarded by the AA Guest Accommodation Scheme, will ensure a friendly, welcoming reception. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Radford House Bed And Breakfast Caerleon, UK - Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing