We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet retreat with beach on doorstep”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Captains Cottage

Captains Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Captains Cottage
Captains Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Captains Cottage
Captains Cottage
Sea view to Criffel and Dumfriesshire from decking area
Sea veiw from decking area in garden
Our nautical but nice house sign
The roaring wood burner in the lounge area
Bedroom one with Kingsize bed
One of the beds in the third bedroom (it has two single beds)
The other bed in the third bedroom (it has two single beds)
Sunset view from Kitchen/Lounge window
kitchen/lounge window with sea view
walled courtyard next to decking platform with sea view
Captains Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Allonby, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sharon a
2 reviews
“Quiet retreat with beach on doorstep”
Reviewed July 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Captains cottage was fantastic, well equipped wit a lovely log burner for chilling out and having a glass of wine. Anna the owner welcomed Barny our dog too. Great location for travelling to lake Windermere, Coniston and then scenery through Buttermere and Keswick. Would definitely recommend this cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review we really appreciate and value your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry M
2 reviews
“amazing”
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

amazing place would recomend this lovely family place to anyone cod faters chip shop is amazing and staff very friendly, we also went to jacks the pub just few minutes walking lovely and friendly again beach is amazing few rocks about amazing walks. great views of the sunrise and the sea from the kitchen window, our daughter loved the ice cream place on the other side of the road from the chip shop,defo going back already booked our next holiday at this lovely relaxing place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2017
Thankyou so much for your time reviewing our cottage we really appreciate your comments and are delighted to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleMrs...
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful cottage!”
Reviewed June 15, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is a lovely beach side cottage with a nice sea view from the living room. We loved the feel of this place, and all it's quirky little touches. The owners have clearly thought about styling the property and the beach theme is done perfectly. We absolutely loved the artwork in Captains cottage, each piece was stunning! We also really enjoyed the open fire which we used a lot especially after blustery walks along the beach.
The cottage was exceptionaly clean (and I am fussy!!) and they provide all the necessities to make your stay comfortable.
We would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2017
Thank-you so much for taking the time to write your review we really appreciate your lovely comments and would be delighted to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2017
Thankyou so much for taking the time to review our cottage it is much valued and appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChorleySl...
Chorley, Lacashire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely”
Reviewed May 23, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I visited captain's cottage for four nights with my husband, 4 year old twins and two dogs. This is the third cottage we have stayed in within Allonby and is by far the best yet. Great location.

The cottage had everything you would need, was very clean and spacious. The garden was very secure for children and dogs. The view of the sea was relaxing. Booking was easy and communication with Anna was excellent.

We would have loved to stayed longer and will definitely be booking in again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 27, 2017
Thankyou we really appreciate your lovely comments we love to hear such feedback makes our hard work worthwhile
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonbyth...
Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Seaside Cottage”
Reviewed May 14, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The cottage bright and sunny and tastefully decorated. It was ideally located by the beach and park. The sea views from the window were stunning. Would definitely stay there again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2017
Thankyou so much for your kind review we really appreciate it, we will be delighted to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawnloyne...
Wetherby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely perfect break.”
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A fantastic holiday cottage, home from home. So peaceful with an ideal garden and decking for lazy days. Fabulous views and virtually on the beach. Great walks from the doorstep. Our 3 dogs were welcomed by Anna and Ian and had a fab time on the beach. (In fact they are sulking now they are home) . It is a beautiful coastline. We wanted a relaxing break and we definitely had one and didn't move the car the full 4 nights. We will definitely be returning. Thank you Anna and Ian.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2017
Thank you so very much for your lovely comments they are much appreciated we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing