We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa di Maio

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agliano Terme
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa di Maio
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

The B&B itself is simple and stylish. Clean, comfortable,spacious and well-equipped. The owners, Doreen, is such a conscientious hostess whom you can't find elsewhere. She is attentive and well-organized . She can anticipate what you need and want. Clear driving directions will be provided for you no matter where you are planning to go. Besides, her recommendations on restaurant were fabulous and her arrangement for wine-tasting was amazing. My husband even said that this was the most comfortable wine-tasting experience that he ever had.A remarkable plus of Casa di Maio was the breakfast: sliced fruit presented in an artistic way, three kinds of cereals, juices, milk, coffee, tea, hot rolls, cold cut and a warm breakfast (different every day). Though the location is a bit distant,there is no problem if you are driving a car.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
55
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

After an exceptional introduction to Italy’s Tuscany Region in 2011, could we possibly achieve similar success in the Piemonte Region in 2013? Beginning this year’s tour at Agliano Terme’s “ Casa di Maio” helped us realize that in Northern Italy, exceptional is the norm! A warm September sun on grape-laden vineyards provided the background and hostess Doreen Lee met our every need by supplying charming accommodations, outstanding breakfasts, excellent suggestions for dining and local visits, and valuable directions-her friendly demeanor always shining through!
When, weeks before our visit, obtaining tickets by e-mail for the renowned “Palio” horse race in Asti became complicated, Doreen drove to Asti to purchase the tickets in person. Subsequently, the day of the event, when it appeared that parking availability would be extremely competitive, Doreen anticipated the problem and went the “extra mile” by driving us to Asti and then returning hours later to pick us up. Unbelievable!
Doreen is sincerely interested in helping visitors achieve their expectations, whether their goal is relaxation, vineyard touring, understanding local history, or capturing the best scenery. A stay at “Casa di Maio” is a delightful experience in comfort, culture, and camaraderie with some fine cuisine to start your day. And the price is right!

Room Tip: Ask Doreen for the room with the balcony. Beautiful place to just sit at sunset and drink a delicio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinhead62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Everything was exceptional.

Champagne and antipasta were provided on arrival.

The breakfasts were out of this world. On the first day we had a large selection of beautifully cut fresh fruit, a choice of three cereals, a choice of three yogurts, several juices, coffee, tea, and the most amazing gourmet French toast. The second day there was a star anise infused citrus fruit salad, and omelette with salad and potatoes as well as the cereal, yoghurt and juices.

Doreen was a very attentive hostess. She provided helpful directions and maps on several occasions. She made dinner reservations for us. She offered to drive the other guests to town for a festival so that they would not need to worry about parking. She provided water bottles when we went out. She gave us a bottle of wine when we left.

The bedroom was beautiful,spotless and lovely. The bed was comfortable. Several pillows of different firmness were provided. There was plenty of wardrobe space. Water, glasses, tissues,earbuds, bath gel, sweets, and shampoo were provided. There was plenty of toilet paper. Hooray.

Our room was cleaned, and the towels replaced each morning.

Amazing view. Amazing location in the hills near Asti.

Gorgeous bathroom with a great shower.

The stay was very reasonably priced. In fact, is was very cheap for what we got.

Would definitely recommend.

A car is required to explore the area. But driving in this region is not for the faint hearted.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasSmith876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We picked up this exquisite gem on special places to stay website, and from the outset it exceeded our every honeymoon expectation. Nestled amid the hills of Asti, the warm peach tones of the building reflect the warm welcome from Doreen. We loved the room, the bubbly on arrival and our host was brilliant. Outside the door roll hills of fat purple grapes ready for harvesting, so it's like sitting in your own personal vineyard.....with lots to wine nearby. We will absolutely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maurica_lavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamata, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Casa di Maio is a lovely country house surrounded by vineyards and overlooking a green valley .In the garden you can relax and enjoy the stunning view drinking your espresso or aperitif offered once you arrive there .Our bedroom was beautifully decorated (simple and stylish) and quite spacious with a small balcony .The bathroom was new and modern, very clean with all the necessary toiletries and a window.
However, the big plus in this B&B is its owner, Doreen. Friendly ,willing to inform you about everything (what is worth seeing and visiting), very well-organised (she provides you with maps, detailed routes, even water for you trips), helpful (she came to pick us up as we got lost),really hospitable (she even offered us a bottle of local wine) and an excellent chef! We only tasted the breakfast which was served in such a tasteful way and was simply mouthwatering!
All in all, our stay at “Casa di Maio” will be unforgettable and we already miss it, even if we only stayed there for one day.
Anna & George (GREECE)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giorgos_Kalamata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I have to say that Casa di Maio was one of the best B & B's we have ever been to. Absolutely fantastic service and wonderful attention to detail. Doreen was so attentive and kind and went beyond the call of duty to ensure our stay at Casa di Maio was an unforgettable and enjoyable experience. The setting of this B & B is breathtaking. Up high and surrounded by vineyards and the rolling hills of the Piedmonte region. The surrounding towns and areas are well worth visiting, especially Asti and Alba.
Our bedroom was beautifully decorated and the bed extremely comfortable. The bathroom, very modern and clean. Our balcony had the most fabulous view.
Doreen's breakfasts were mouthwateringly good and so generous. Upon our arrival, we were even given a fantastic plate of anti-pasta, plus a sparkling glass of Prossecco.
Thank-you Doreen for a wonderful stay at Casa di Maio...keep up the good work..this is how it should be done!

Room Tip: We had the room with the balcony, but I have no doubt that all the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederiksen205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We wanted to find a B&B or small inn in the ASTI area and this place appealed to us on paper.

WOW, from the minute we drove up the country lane, surrounded by grape vines, to the moment we met Doreen, our hostess, we KNEW we were for sure in the most perfect place.

Perched on top of a hill, overlooking an agricultural valley, this perfectly renovated Italian farmhouse is anything but a farmhouse. It's traditional exterior does not give a hint of its very modern interior with all the comforts of any 4 star place.

But, a four star place does not have Doreen. She is Canadian so her English is perfect. She greets you in a most welcoming way and immediately makes you feel totally at home. We were welcomed with a cold drink (s) of bubbly ASTI and a warm conversation about the place and the surroundings.

Our room on the 2nd floor was more than comfortable and the modern bathroom was fabulous.

When asked for directions or suggestions, Doreen was eager to assist and in fact gave written details and directions to locations. She made all of our dinner reservations as well.

She will assist in wine tours of the area and will host tastings if you wish.

Now the breakfasts: simply dazzling. Whether it was stuffed French toast accompanied by the best ever fresh fruit cup or her frittata , they simply set you up for the day. On the plate they are all a piece of art. She sculpts each plate herself in her large modern kitchen, just next to the comfortable dining room.

Wi-Fi enabled.

Her rear garden area is very pleasing with a comfortable covered patio and a large open area with plantings and grape vines nipping at its edges. There is comfortable seating overlooking the valley and grape vines. She eagerly serves you pre-breakfast coffee, afternoon teas/coffees and wine drinks in this or any area you might please.

Did we like the place?? Hell yes, in fact it ties another B&B in South Africa as the best B&B's we have ever been privileged to stay in.

sleep quality= 110%
bathroom= 120%
breakfasts= 200%
innkeeper= 201% all based on 100%

If you don't stay here you have missed something!!!...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agliano Terme hotels
1.1 mi away
Naturalmente Wine Resort
Naturalmente Wine Resort
#2 of 7 in Agliano Terme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Fontana Relais Suite & Spa
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
Locanda La Ghersa
#5 of 7 in Agliano Terme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Agriturismo Cascina Dani
Agriturismo Cascina Dani
#1 of 3 in Agliano Terme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Locanda San Giacomo
Hotel Locanda San Giacomo
#3 of 7 in Agliano Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa di Maio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa di Maio

Property: Casa di Maio
Address: Regione Brusasacco 15 | Asti, 14041 Agliano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Asti > Agliano Terme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Agliano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa di Maio is set in the heart of Piedmont's wine region between Asti and Alba, and a short distance from the towns of Barbesco and Barolo. The Casa is set among vineyards overlooking the scenic town of Agliano Terme. It offers rooms with modern ensuite baths, gracious common areas, a panoramic courtyard, and a dining portico. Wine tastings, gastronomic delights, outdoor and antique markets, and town festivals are a few of the attractions of the region. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing