We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa di Maio”
Review of Casa di Maio

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agliano Terme
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa di Maio
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“Casa di Maio”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We recently stayed for one night at this wonderful B&B. The house, the decor, the rooms, the shower, the breakfast, the view and the host were all fantastic. The only let down was the weather! It probably sounds too good to be true, but this is a little gem, which we hope to be visiting again very soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
55
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This. Place. Is. Amazing.

Where should I start?

The view- vineyards, vineyards, everywhere. The property is on top of a little hill so the view from either side is amazing. When we woke up in the morning the area in front of the breakfast room was covered in some morning mist. Literally took my breath away.

The inn keeper- One of the best inn proprietors we've ever come across. We had a heck of a time getting to the inn (our own fault, be careful of those narrow Italian roads with ditches!) so when we got there we were ready to just turn in. Instead the inn keeper offered to drive us into town to a local restaurant and left her number for us to summon her later for a ride back. Definitely above and beyond! She was so friendly!

The room- Our room was immaculately finished. Bathroom was HUGE with a walk-in shower with a rain shower head. A large vanity and chic finishes. I loved the juxtaposition of modern furniture and finishes in the old villa. The room had a ton of storage for clothes if you are going for a longer stay.

The breakfast- AMAZING! I dream about this breakfast on an almost weekly basis. We had ricotta and jam stuffed french toast, fruit, granola, and sausage. All 100% perfect. Of course there was also OJ, milk, and coffee. The coffee was also delicious- as you'd hope in Italy.

Location- This is a countryside property but only a 10 minute drive from the nearest village. There appeared to be several restaurants in the village so there are options to eat. You can also buy groceries and use the inn's kitchen (the other guests staying the night we were there did this).

Overall, if I could take another vacation in Italy I think I would stay the entire time in this inn. I sincerely hope I get to go back one day because it was that perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CtekMurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Az
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

This Bed and Breakfast was the gem of our month long trip in Italy. First off is the owner, Doreen. She is unbelievable--from the beginning of our 3 night stay until the end. When we arrived she had us sit out on the covered patio and gave us wine with fresh Italian cold cuts and cheese with jellies and honey. The room was beautiful, large, all done in black and white, and the bathroom ultra modern with the shower being one of the best ever! The bed was so comfortable with a beautiful comforter. We had a little balcony that overlooked the rolling hills and grape vines. It was so beautiful and romantic. The grounds are beautiful with a small rod iron table and chairs to sit and drink wine or relax as well as 2 very well cushioned chairs positioned to look over the fields of grape vines and read or just enjoy the scenery. while you sip on a glass of wine. And finally, Doreen goes out of her way to help you plan your days and evenings. The location is perfect for short day trips to Asti, Alba, Barbaresco, Barolo, and many many other little towns to visit. She had us go to see the Banco del Vino in Pollenzo which we had not read about and was one of the highlights of our Piemonte visits. Her restaurant recommendations with printed directions are great as are her recommendations of what little towns or wineries you should visit. She has good relationships with the winery owners and can get you in for private tours. We never left without her offering us a couple bottles of water to take with us and on our final day she prepared a small basket of fruit, cookies and water for our ride to our next destination. We will stay there for 5-7 days next time we go back.

Room Tip: Room with terrace..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tornajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed here just abt 2 weeks ago.. Where do I even begin? View of the valley from the rooms, the house and the garden is stunning! The rooms are so tastefully furnished, well-kept and bathrooms are ultra modern. Its obvious alot of thought has gone into furnishing, designing & maintaining this place, from the 3 bedrooms to the kitchen to the home-cooked breakfast (absolutely delicious & presented - im still dreaming of my french toast stuffed with cheese & berries!) and the things that just makes you smile - greeted with glasses of bubblies, bottled water before we head out each day, directions for the restaurants that Doreen helped us reserve, printed and ready in the morning.. our party of 6 had the best time staying here and would highly recommend this place. Doreen is truly the hostest with the mostest! One of our friends had to leave early to catch an early morning flight from Turin and she drove her there, for a v reasonable fee. This place is a total gem and we wld love to return one day! =)

Some things we did in Alba:-
- definitely go on a white truffle hunt with a truffle hunter & his dog. We were here for the truffle festival & really enjoyed the fair as well as the hunt. Eye opening!
- visit Tartufi Morra shop in Alba (King of Truffles!)
- eat lots of white truffles with eggs sunny side up!
- visit the smaller vineyards. We had the best time wine tasting @ Piero Benevelli. Lovely winemaking family and v v good borolos. They even obliged us when we asked to see how they labeled & capped their bottles!
- loved Le Ciau del Tornavento (ask to see the cellar, esp the vault - boxes of Petrus, Romanee Conti, Chateau d'yquem.. a sight to behold!)
- in the centre of Alba itself, La Libera & La Bottega Del Vicolleto were great places to have lunch (must book ahead).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeadyEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I have never imagined that you can have such treatment as my fiance and I had at Doreens' casa! Glass of prosecco as welcome (and as for goodbye! :)), really special breakfast, beautiful rooms and amazing view to vineyards! Atmosthere is so special there, that you just dont want to leave! What can you say more: wonderful host - wonderful casa! Doreen, WE WILL COME BACK!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JurgitaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Doreen is a wonder. A friend and I stayed for 4 nights and I can't imagine how a stay could be better. The setting is gorgeous, the house is decorated in a very simple and beautiful manner, the bathrooms would be considered a treat in any country and the breakfasts are amazing! My only hesitation in giving such a great review is that Casa di Maio will no longer be a secret gem but Doreen deserves the praise.

Secret tip: If you enjoy driving the countryside (perhaps to do some fabulous wine tasting), you can ask Doreen to pack you a picnic lunch for a very small fee. We had a great lunch while overlooking the entire Barolo valley for less than it would've cost in a restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KmOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

My partner and I had a truly amazing 3 nights at this boutique B&B. A great stay started with the warm welcome from Doreen which included champagne and anti-pasti in her delightful outside dining area. The attention that has been put into the rooms is first class; our room had a small balcony so we could enjoy the wonderful view over the countryside. Breakfasts set you up for the whole day and were absolutely delicious; beautiful cooking and preparation. Doreen is so helpful with ideas on places to go, and booking restaurants and wine tours, and providing directions.
We had a super low cost dinner in nearby Agliano Terme, and also enjoyed some red wine tasting in that village too. Ask Doreen for the recommendations. We also had a more expensive, but first class dinner at i Bologna in a village about 30min drive away - again ask Doreen for details; watch the pasta you eat made before your eyes.
Casa is a great base for some spectacular scenery, great villages and fab wine tasting. And when you get home in the late afternoon, just sit in Doreen's garden and enjoy the peace and the views.
First class!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canary10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agliano Terme hotels
1.0 mi away
Villa Fontana Relais Suite & Spa
1.1 mi away
Naturalmente Wine Resort
Naturalmente Wine Resort
#2 of 7 in Agliano Terme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
Locanda La Ghersa
#5 of 7 in Agliano Terme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Agriturismo Cascina Dani
Agriturismo Cascina Dani
#1 of 3 in Agliano Terme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Locanda San Giacomo
Hotel Locanda San Giacomo
#3 of 7 in Agliano Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa di Maio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa di Maio

Property: Casa di Maio
Address: Regione Brusasacco 15 | Asti, 14041 Agliano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Asti > Agliano Terme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Agliano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa di Maio is set in the heart of Piedmont's wine region between Asti and Alba, and a short distance from the towns of Barbesco and Barolo. The Casa is set among vineyards overlooking the scenic town of Agliano Terme. It offers rooms with modern ensuite baths, gracious common areas, a panoramic courtyard, and a dining portico. Wine tastings, gastronomic delights, outdoor and antique markets, and town festivals are a few of the attractions of the region. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing