We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great concept, perfectly executed”
Review of Under

Under
Description: A restaurant five and a half meters below the surface in Norway, exposing you to the wonders beneath the sea. We have created one set menu for all our guests visiting our restaurant that plunges into the water. We believe this is the best way for us to showcase each season with its unique produce, and where we are located in this remote corner of the world.
Restaurant details
Description: A restaurant five and a half meters below the surface in Norway, exposing you to the wonders beneath the sea. We have created one set menu for all our guests visiting our restaurant that plunges into the water. We believe this is the best way for us to showcase each season with its unique produce, and where we are located in this remote corner of the world.
Reviewed May 25, 2019

Our family of five had the most wonderful experience at Under Restaurant. I had heard about this crazy, underwater restaurant opening in the spring from the VisitNorway website and in January booked the early seating on May 16th.

If you are worried that the underwater setting, where fish give you the eyeball during your meal, is a gimmick and the food is an afterthought, don't be. While the seating space is elegantly spare, (and, of course, focused on that fabulous window), the main event is the food.

The seventeen course tasting menu presented was highly local, inventive, and included a few traditional Norwegian standards that had been deliciously reimagined such as a taste of fish pudding in a hollowed out roasted onion with cream sauce and burnt onion oil and glazed campfire bread on a stick. Our waiter enhanced the experience by sharing memories of his grandmother's fish pudding and roasting bread in summer. The menu included seafood usually wasted such as one made from the throat meat of ling cod and other dishes were finished with locally foraged beach greens. One memorable dessert was a sugar kelp roll up with a sweet cream filling.

May is a tricky month to serve fresh local ingredients and the meal included preserved items to good effect; some of which had been laid up by the chef three years ago. Wish we lived closer to sample the seasonal changes to the menu.

Being a party of five we were seated in the back which turned out to be wonderful luck as we could see the final prep by the chef and anticipate the dishes from their aroma. The scent of the langoustine being caramelized was heavenly. And the window in the front is tall enough we enjoyed the view over the heads of the front tables. Chef generously presented two of the courses and answered questions. The calmness of the kitchen at this early stage of the restaurant's history was remarkable and surely due to his leadership.

We did not try the wine pairing opting instead for the juice pairing for two of us and a bottle of good Spanish white for the rest; chosen with the help of the engaging sommelier. To totally experience the depth of the restaurant the juice pairing is necessary. The juices are created in-house to complement the food and are spot on. All were unique and used fresh items such as elderflower, spruce tips, and honey as well as tinctures that had been prepared in advance. From food, drink, and evocative presentations to an incredible staff that took such care of us this is a great concept, executed perfectly.

Dinner took 4 1/2 hours and ran 3000 NOK a person with our bottle of wine and two juice pairings. Seatings are staggered and we had the first one at 18:00; allowing us to linger at the big window a bit before being seated. Hire a driver or stay at the hotel across the bay as Under is more than an hour away from Kristiansand, over moose frequented roads, and driving back detracted from the mellow mood we found ourselves in after. The 1000 NOK per person reservation fee was credited to our final bill.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 20 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2019

Restaurant Under is a fantastic venue where nature, architecture, interior details, furniture, lightning, music and last but not least - fantastic food and matching wines are prepaired and served excellent - it is totally magic!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Kjellov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2019

Our party of four came to Under with great expectations. They were only partially met. The architecture and structure itself is awesome, and really well presented. Walking down into the restaurant is an experience in itself, as the water level oustide the windows gets higher and higher.
On the second lowest level, we were offered a glass of champagne, which later turned out to cost us almost 800 NOK. Upon receiving the bill we also realized that still water cost extra, as did the coffe we got with our desserts. At 2250 pr person for food, and 1450 pr person for the wine package, having to pay for water and coffee comes across as very cheap and not at all in keeping with the standard this place tries to establish for itself. While on the subject of money, we also think it would add a measure of class to deal with these issues in the reception area upstairs, not at the table.
We were seated at the back of the room, which gave us a great look at the kitchen area, but a very limited view of the sea outside. It is possible to walk over to the window and have a look at what goes on, but as the four-five tables with a sea view are placed very close to the glass pane, you are really intruding on the personal space of the people seated there. The front tables should be moved further back, and guests should be informed that the sea view (which is one of the reasons for coming here in the first place) is really rather restricted.
We almost lost count of the dishes - 17 in all - but despite the number of dishes the food was not plentiful. Each dish was presented with wonderful creativity, and tasted fabulously. Alas, when you'd had the first teaspoon-full, and sipped to the well-matched wine, and then wanted a second taste, you realized there was nothing left. Without exception, the dishes were just too small. Also, based on previous dining experiences, we expected some kind of build-up towards a finale, but that never happened. Each dish was just a continuation of the previous, and after the fact, we were not able to agree on what was the main event. It was just a long string of pretty good stuff.
The waiters were too busy to provide us with real service. They told us what was on the plate, and then hurried on. One of the waiters came across as a bit too slick, and his attempts at making jokes fell rather flat with the female members of our party. It's okay to make jokes, but don't make them at the guests' expense.
The staff forgot to serve wine with the first dessert dish, but made no attempts at correcting or explaining this when they came with the next dish (it was generally near impossible to get their attention unless they were aleady on their way to your table).
We came to Under expecting something quite extraordinary, and were fully prepared to pay for it. Our party of 4 paid near to 17000 NOK for the meal, and if the experience had been up to the advertised, promised and expected level, we would have considered it a treat. As it turned out, we left feeling a bit ripped off. And a couple of us could've had a bit more to eat.
We certainly hope Under turns out to be the success its creators deserve, but that will take some work. And, please: don't insult your guests by charging extra for still water and coffee. If your margins are that thin, add 100 NOK to the standard price to cover it! And offer a welcome drink on the house!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
8  Thank 438otd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Date of visit: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Under? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing