We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inn of good food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Horse Inn

White Horse Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Barton B&B and Inns
Huntingdon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Inn of good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Had the two course dinner on offer here on a Groupon voucher and can only say they were giving it away! The starter was Whitebait with an attractive salad & dip - delicious and very generous portion - hardly needed the main course! I had the steak & usual accompaniments which was well cooked to perfection and quite tender (though I find all steak these days lacks flavour) -When I told the waitress I liked the juices the steak is cooked in, I was delighted to find when she brought the meal there was a little pot of meatjuices on the tray - fantastic service! My husband thoroughly enjoyed his burger meal too, very tasty meat. The meal finished with two liqueur coffees and mints. Even at the full price, this meal would have been good value.
The White Horse Inn also has lots of personality and friendly service. Some background music would have been a welcome addition though but maybe we were a bit early in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardamine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    16
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
14
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The food was great and the place was great. staff very nice and helpful landlord ok type of bloke.
the roasts were great. i had half of roast chicken which was very nice the eating area was big and roomy and the coal fire was welcoming. all in all a nise place to eat sleep and play.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaun04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

This pub has 2 rooms in an annex adjacent to the pub. We stayed one night in the Willow room, which was clean and well appointed. I assume the other room was similar. In the evening we ate in the restaurant. Our stay was on a Saturday and our initial concern when we went in the fairly large restaurant was that there were only two other tables taken. A party of ten came in later but that was it, so lacked some atmosphere. I would describe the menu as 'good pub grub. Full english breakfast included in the price. No problem with the service from the time we arrived 'till the time we left.
Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erslom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at the pub and would welcome you again in the future. As you said that Saturday we were a little empty however, despite this I am pleased that you enjoyed your evening.

Many thanks,

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We enjoyed an evening meal at the White Horse and found the staff extremely courteous and helpful. The menu, although not so extensive, offered good, home-cooked food and the prices were reasonable compared to others in pubs in the Cambridge area. There was also a beer festival at the time we were there offering a range of different kinds of English beer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xam12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Found this online but alas the web pages always looks better. Stayed on night in May, nice quiet location and close to Cambridge but definitely not a 3 star maybe a 2 1/2 star. Room not very clean and pub in need of a little TLC. Owner was pleasant though & tried his best.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ****
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We always strive to ensure that our accommodation is the best it can be and I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. Since your visit and comments we have made efforts to improve the facilities provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

We had a celebration birthday lunch. Two of us ordered a special lamb dish. The meat was very tough and we complained. A replacement dish of salmon , asparagus and new potatoes was provided in exchange. It was not great, but the price was .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We always strive to provide excellent quality and value for money to our customers. I am saddened that on this occasion that you found us lacking. As your server I am disappointed that you did not choose to comment on the replacement salmon provided as maybe we could have offered you additional compensation on this occasion.

I hope to welcome you back to the White Horse in the future.

Kind regards,

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Thank you, Tim, for your excellent service, the very clean room, and the wonderful food. As our two dogs are practically our children, we were especially happy to know they were welcome. This is a lovely wee inn in a lovely wee town, just outside Cambridge. We highly recommend it.
Jenny and Ian (and Gus-Gus and Molly Magoo, too!)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Willow room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton
3.5 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
3.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
2.0 mi away
Anstey Hall
Anstey Hall
#1 of 3 in Trumpington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Inn

Property: White Horse Inn
Address: 118 High Street | Barton, Barton, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Barton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Barton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Horse Inn is a local traditional British coaching inn. With a welcoming bar and large restaurant area we cater for all types of parties. Situated just 5 minutes by car from the City centre we are ideally located for visiting the historic city of Cambridge.Our kitchen is open 7 days per week, serving traditional British cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Booking.com so you can book your White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing