We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointing”
Review of White Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Barton B&B and Inns
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Found this online but alas the web pages always looks better. Stayed on night in May, nice quiet location and close to Cambridge but definitely not a 3 star maybe a 2 1/2 star. Room not very clean and pub in need of a little TLC. Owner was pleasant though & tried his best.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ****
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We always strive to ensure that our accommodation is the best it can be and I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. Since your visit and comments we have made efforts to improve the facilities provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    17
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
14
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We had a celebration birthday lunch. Two of us ordered a special lamb dish. The meat was very tough and we complained. A replacement dish of salmon , asparagus and new potatoes was provided in exchange. It was not great, but the price was .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We always strive to provide excellent quality and value for money to our customers. I am saddened that on this occasion that you found us lacking. As your server I am disappointed that you did not choose to comment on the replacement salmon provided as maybe we could have offered you additional compensation on this occasion.

I hope to welcome you back to the White Horse in the future.

Kind regards,

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Thank you, Tim, for your excellent service, the very clean room, and the wonderful food. As our two dogs are practically our children, we were especially happy to know they were welcome. This is a lovely wee inn in a lovely wee town, just outside Cambridge. We highly recommend it.
Jenny and Ian (and Gus-Gus and Molly Magoo, too!)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Willow room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chigwell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed in a twin-room (Willow) which was clean, warm, airy and comfortable, with all the usual amenities (the biscuits were great) The proprietor (Tim) was relaxed, chatty and friendly, nothing was too much trouble for him. He asked what time we wanted breakfast (thinking it was going to be the usual early breakfast, then a quick departure at 10am - like some B&Bs) we were pleasantly surprised at Tim's insistence on a later breakfast and departure which suited us!
We had an evening meal in the pub (good quality, and well priced) the pudding selection was good old fashioned english fare (puddings, that are real PUDDINGS)
Our stay, coincided with the monthly quiz night, which is organised by Tim's parents (great people too!)
If we had booked the following week, we would have strayed into the infamous "Pudding Club" (held on the 1st Friday of the month) - shame, next time perhaps!
The breakfast was a choice between full english or continental. We both opted for full english, which, when presented was a sight to behold, freshly cooked, and generously proportion. (belch!)
All the staff were helpful, friendly and chatty, but not over-powering or pushy.
Tim has a book swap/buy facility, with all money raised going to various charities, and also has KNITTING available for anyone willing to have a go (this sums up the friendly/quirky atmosphere of the place, truly unique)
This is my first time on TripAdvisor, but am more than happy to leave this review, as I think Tim truly deserves all the praise he gets, well done all!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nakered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Have been here three times in the past month, twice with groups of 8+. The menu is varied and interesting, as well as basic, great pub fare. We were greeted warmly and not rushed to our table. We all ordered different items but the stand outs are the fish and chips and the ale pie! Came back for lunch and the chicken and bacon jacket potato was so good I could have come back the next day for lunch again! The plates were hot, all food was prepared fresh and well presented. The prices are not over the top, and a bargain for the quality you get. Will definitely make this one of our regular places

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HBSMDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed here on a cycling trip recently and found the place very welcoming. The rooms were clean and a good size and the landlord was friendly. The food was good quality and the interior of the pub tasteful and homely. One tip might be to improve on the beer selection, since with only one guest ale and limited bottles it was a bit thin. All in all though, great location, friendly staff and a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cyclecyclepubpub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I would recommend this establishment to anyone. Friendly atmosphere and the staff will go out of their way to make sure you have a good experience.

Darren Malthouse

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dazzaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton
3.5 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#24 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
2.0 mi away
Anstey Hall
Anstey Hall
#1 of 3 in Trumpington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ayah Villa
Ayah Villa
#2 of 3 in Trumpington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Inn

Property: White Horse Inn
Address: 118 High Street | Barton, Barton, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Barton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Barton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Horse Inn is a local traditional British coaching inn. With a welcoming bar and large restaurant area we cater for all types of parties. Situated just 5 minutes by car from the City centre we are ideally located for visiting the historic city of Cambridge.Our kitchen is open 7 days per week, serving traditional British cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing